Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Warren-Walker School

Private | PK-8 | 465 students

Our students are highly academic learners with integrity!
 
 

 
 

Living in San Diego

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $468,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Warren-Walker School is an incredible community from students to the teachers to the parents. When you visit the school and see happy students who are well mannered, well spoken and curious and eager to learn you know something amazing is happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

I knew that I was sending my kids to a great school but... I attended eighth grade graduation last year, just to see. The graduates were composed, eloquent, talented, and their bond to their teachers and appreciation for their education was very evident. After seeing the final "product", I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

My son has attended Warren Walker since pre-k. After 8 years in this school, both I as a parent, and my son as a student have truly felt blessed. The teachers truly care about the kids and their future. Their focus is not only with achievement but with effort. My son stands out in a crowd and is very comfortable in conversation, even with adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

Multiple kids in private school means I really appreciate that tuition is 60-70% of what I would pay at the comparable private school where I attended. Love the ocean view driving to school every morning! Can't beat the teachers- top to bottom. Very caring and they know how to find the angle that works for my kid's various learning styles and how to keep it fun and interesting. I'm lucky to have above-average kids, who can handle the cutting edge curriculum, project-based style, and workload. Spanish, art, music, P.E., technology... worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

My daughters have been attending Warren Walker for many years. I love this small private school- the class size is small, and the teachers are the best! I reccomend this school to anyone who is looking for a great school experience for their kids. Mike Haas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

Great school! Great teachers...lots of love and care. Accelerated program and arts, music, p.e.,computers and drama. Spanish taught every day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Although times are tough and yes they had to shorten some of the staff and teachers because of it, I still find Warren-Walker to be an incredible school. My son has flourished beyond our expections. At first he struggled a bit with the continuing workload and pace Kindergarder through 3rd, but now is not only keeping up but bringing home A's. This school is very challenging but the teachers and staff really care about making sure the kids are successful! If you want your child to learn incredible work habits and be competitive against any other child in other private schools, this is the place to be. I find it is expensive, but not as much as LCD and Francis, and equally as good. Also very down to earth feel and the parents are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

We were part of this school for 7 years and I have to say that in the past 4-5 years, we''ve seen a decline in the teacher quality and ablility to retain qualified teachers. There are a few truly dynamic teachers if your child is lucky enough to get them. The accelerated curriculum begins to get ridiculous in 4th grade (3rd is a real adjustment because of workload). They've continued to cut staff salaries and give the teachers more responsibilities. Wear and tear of the staff is apparent. Great school if your child loves 'drill and kill' approach to math and a lot of parent produced work at home. The arts are terrific but again those teachers are stretched. Many students have tutors (even in first grade). Good also for self-motivated students. Stressful environment. Ever-growing tuition increases (w/o improvements). We wish we felt better exiting the school, but we don't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Great school! We are happy with the caring faculty and staff. Our son is excelling in this challengine environment. A wonderful environment where a young man can expand his horizons - academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

All schools should be like Warren Walker! School with a home feel. Everybody at school is extremely friendly and they all care a lot about kids and their well being. They all know kids on a first (and last) name basis. Challenging and interesting curriculum. Parents are highly involved. I can not say enough good thinks about the school. The most important, my child loves the school, kids and all the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

My son attended WW and we (parents and him) loved it. All of the other reviews are spot on. Curriculum is comparable to other private schools of comparable nature (Parker, LJ Country Day) but school is more down to earth and more of a community school. Very caring and supportive atmosphere with high academic rigor starts at the top by the Volkers. 5 star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

My child attends kindergarten and loves going to school everyday. The children are working on 1st grade Math and it is easy for them! Excellant specialists programs, Spanish and PE daily along with Music, Library, Computer Technology and Drama at varies times during the week. The core curriculum is fast paced but my child loves it and yearns for more... In addition to the core curriculum, so far the children have learned about England, France (along with the impressionists) and Italy - who knows what the rest of the year will bring. I highly recommend the school! Lots of fun activities at school for the kids along with family participation! Lots of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2007

I have a third grader and preschooler at Warren Walker. It's a fantastic school. Lots of enrichment. Be prepared for a very fast paced academics. Excellent parent involvement and administration seems to know every student on a first name basis..awesome. Student body is very well behaved. Hard on the pocketbook but worth the money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

Our son attends Kindergarten at Warren Walker, I strongly recommend this school to anyone. Warren Walker has a good 'feel' that other Private schools lack. The class sizes are small. The Staff is more than efficient, they are caring and involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

We are very impressed by the quality of education that the school provides. The mutual respect between the parents, students, and the staff. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

Our son attends kindergarten at Warren-Walker lower school and is having a very positive experience. The teachers are enthusiatic and nurturing and he looks forward to class each day. We are very pleased with the decision we made to send him to Warren-Walker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Very caring faculty and staff. Warren Walker emphasizes developing good citizens as well as good students. This is a school for average to above average students with good behavior, they are expected to work at an accelerated pace and the school does not tolerate extreme misbehavior.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 27, 2005

Our son attended this small, lovely school from k-7th. The k-5th location is in a beautiful coastal part of San Diego, Pt. Loma. The curriculums enriching, the classes never more than 12-15 students, and the attention from teachers terrific. My son participated in music, art, drama and sports all 7 years, with a particularly strong music and drama emphasis. Academically the school challenged him (he is extremely bright) and where he excelled, they were able to challenge him. I think parents who are looking for high involvement, a safe and secure environment and small classes with storng academics would love this school. Warren-Walker is not particularly ethnically diverse in its student population, but they are actively seeking to change that profile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

Warren-Walker is a gem. Private School education with a community - not classist - feel. Our daughter is receiving a strong foundation that will serve her well for the rest of her life. Warren-Walker is head and shoulders above the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 26%
Hispanic 10% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 11%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 1st Place in Legoland Robotics competition for technical design (2010)
  • 12th in Nation with American Heart Assoc. Fundraising- Jump Rope for Heart Campaign (2009)
  • 1st Place in State Science Fair- Applied Mathematics and Structures (2008)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • LEAD Rotary Conference (2013)
  • INCOSE STEM Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Marching band
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Raymond J. Volker
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (619) 223-5567

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Urban Hiking, Yoga, Surfing
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Surfing
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Urban Hiking, Yoga, Surfing
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Marching band
  • Robotics club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Our expectations for academics and behavior are high, but attainable, in a school environment that is positive, supportive, and child-centered. Our faculty are experienced teachers who work closely with students and parents to make school a fun and exciting place to be each day.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Fleur de Lis, Westminister, Merry Go Round, Montessori
College Park, Foothills PS, Kiddie Hall, Kids on Broadway
Mission Bay Mont., Christ Church, Hearst, Sunset View, Silvergate, Dana Middle School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$12000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Francis Parker, Canyon Crest, Steele Canyon, La Jolla Country Day, Cathedral Catholi
The Bishop's School, Point Loma High School, Valhalla, Helix, High Tech High
St. Augustine High School/ Our Lady of Peace
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4605 Point Loma Avenue
San Diego, CA 92107
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 223-3663

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Pioneer Day School
San Diego, CA


Wildwood Academy
San Diego, CA


Dana
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT