Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
441 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
69 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 112 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Children's Day School 1

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
CDS is the model of lip service...you will hear the words said many times but the substance is lacking. They will proudly show off their great new building - but skip the part that the kids have nowhere to eat and no play space...yes, that is right, your kids have no where to play except when they walk to another gym they use for PE. Don't believe the hype.

Children's Day School 5

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
I have two things I'd like to share about my experience at CDS so far. The first is that CDS does an outstanding job preparing students for high school. Kids graduate from 8th grade with a strong sense of who they are and how they learn. The homework they receive is always purposefully planned, and the amount is definitely less than they receive in high school (my oldest son is currently a freshman). My son definitely benefited from the gradual development of his stamina for homework, and honestly, I find a club soccer commitment to be significantly more imposing on family time than the homework commitment from CDS. The second thing I'd like to share about CDS is that the administrators and teachers are some of the most caring human beings you would ever want to have involved in your child's life. Whether your child needs thoughtful guidance, earnest encouragement, or a little bit of both, the adults at this school always approach a child with such strong empathy that the natural result is every child puts their best foot forward. That's always what I'm going to be looking for from my child, and that's what I get from CDS.


Children's Day School 5

Posted November 08, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a First Grader. I work in education not at CDS but I work closely with a number of Indepenent schools across Bay Area. I am fortunate that I get to see how different schools work. Most are great, but when it came time to choose a school for my child, I was very clear that CDS would be the place.Now, after a few years I have a happy child who absolutely loves going to school. Every day I see that spark and light in her eyes as she talks to me about how she absolutely loves her teachers. I have been asked to invite all her teachers over for dinner soon! She has an open door to go in and say hello to her Lower School head and does so most days. Why am I not talking about curriculum and other buzz words? Because, numbers tell that story. CDS has a tremendous program but what I really care about is that my child is happy, excited and motivated to go to school. Loves learning. Loves her teachers and others who she interacts with at the school everyday. People at CDS care! Plain and simple. They care for your child and sometimes that means them speaking up and advocating for your child. I hope that parents listen because that sound advise comes from a place that wants to see your child thrive. Go visit the school. Make up your own minds.

Children's Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are very effective in Preschool and middle school 5/6th Math and Science and 7th/8th Humanities. For my son, CDS was weak in between Preschool and 5th and failed to bridge the gap, leaving the experience disjointed at best. Certainly not worth the tuition other than in middle school.

Children's Day School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
At least 2 hours per day in 5th through 8th grades! The school tries to push more lessons into each year than is possible to teach in the time available. This forces teachers to add to homework. This gives the students little time for being kids and harms family time.


Children's Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
Students who don't fit the current CDS mold -- meaning they have any learning differences --certainly learn grit and determination though a general lack of support.

Children's Day School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I believe CDS teachers and a few administrators fosters honesty and integrity among the students, but there is pedagogically a "one size fits all" approach so kids with learning differences or who don't "fit the mold" are left out to rely on private tutors, etc.

Children's Day School 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a teacher
CDS is a supportive and caring community with an all encompassing curriculum that addresses the social emotional needs of the students while also providing students with a strong academic and constructivist curriculum. I am a teacher at CDS, and I have worked at other schools in the bay area. I have never worked at such a caring community. The administrators, teachers and families truly care about the entire well being of the students and the community members of the school. Teachers have the freedom to explore curriculum while also receiving support from the Literacy Specialist, the Director of Teaching and Learning, the Learning Specialist and the Assistant Head of School. Teachers are also encouraged and supported to get more professional development. Most importantly the students at CDS are happy and engaged in learning and meaningful relationships.


Children's Day School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
A huge thank you to the preschool teachers and middle school teachers, the assistant director of admission who is instrumental in helping families integrate and find high school placement when they are in 8th grade.

Children's Day School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
I believe the teachers develop compassion and caring, especially in preschool. The great efforts have sometimes been undermined by the Head of School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Children's Day School
333 Dolores Street, San Francisco, CA  94110
(415) 861-5432
Last modified Children's Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Children's Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 112 reviews. Top