Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank McCoppin Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 266 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2013

We personally love this school. For my kids it is their second home. They love everything that happen at McCoppin. The teachers and principal really care about education. PTO is not that strong but we have some people that are always there when there is a need. All we can say is that McCoppin is a safe and fun place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

Hi i am a student in frank mc coppin elementry school it is a very good school they have art,phisycal education,etc. teachers teach things such as math,science,social studies,languge arts, and much more. This year there was to new teachers and i know they are good. I had been in this school scince kindergarthen to 5th. I am going to graduate this year and go off to middle school. Anyway this is a great school! I had aways loved it. All my teachers where very good. Mrs.lee, Mrs noveski, Mrs berryessa, ms dressler ,ms wong, and now i have ms.to. And again this is agreat school and i wish to stay here for ever but i can't i am now going to graduate. And go yo middle school. One more thing this school transphers the kids to rosevelt. Middle school. That is all i hope that if you like this school please rate it because again it is a GRAET SCHOOL!!! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!


Posted October 11, 2012

My son started at McCoppin this year for Kindergarten and he loves it! We toured many schools since we knew from previously going through the lottery process with our oldest to look for the "little known gems". We chose McCoppin as one of out top picks for several reasons. The teachers and staff are very sweet, the classes were clean, organized and the students were engaged, the small size, the location, the true diversity of the general education classes (they also have cantonese classes), it feeds into Roosevelt MS which we love, and the principal. He has made it a point to try and bring all students up to current standards in their education regardless of native language and the scores have steadily gone up under his direction. He is always present seems to know everyone's name!. We know from experience that it only takes a dedicated staff, a good principal, and participation from parents to help a school grow and we are happy to be a part of that again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

i went to this school for 5 years it it was amazing. the teachers were nice and smart,staffs were kind, and the principal was smart and cares a lot about us students. we also go on amazing field trips. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. trust me .im in 8th grade


Posted October 4, 2011

My child started Kindergarten at McCoppin in 2011. Initially we were placed here by the lottery system. There didn't seem to be much information out there about McCoppin and I'll admit we had our reservations! A few months in and I am happy to say that I've been pleasantly surprised. Its a good school. My child's teacher is amazing and has such great energy and is making efforts to reach all the parents. I've found the parents to be a very supportive group helping out the teacher and getting involved. McCoppin doesn't market itself a lot which maybe isn't such a bad thing! You won't hear it on the playground 'chatter' of schools to be at. There seem to be great efforts to increase parent involvement in the PTA. That is your chance to get involved. We love the diversity of the school too. In my opinion, its a great little elementary school for your child to begin their education journey. I would recommend taking a tour and making up your own mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

I am a student who was promoted from this school in 2009. This school, honestly, take this from a former student, this school was not a good place to go. The teachers were unaware and careless of the student's environment and feelings about school. The courses were too easy, no special classes for students like myself who thrive for excellence, i felt like i was held back by less acclaimed students. The principle does not do much, he walks around and acts like a hypocrit to every one of the students . Honestly, i wish my parents sent me to a different school, at the time i was unaware of my rights, so i had to go there. But honestly, it was a horrible experience, bad learning environment, not much chance for students with potential, no freedom of speach, and horrible staff. No, just, just, no. I attended this school from my kindergarden to 5th grade academic years. The worse, six years, of my life, yet, and as so, ever to be. Thank you.


Posted August 23, 2011

my daughter just get in this school.she is happy,she loves the teacher miss chui.and office people and the princepal is nice .they try to help parents.thank you so much!!olny one thing is no one tell me that i need to come to the school on 8/13 saturday.until monday 8/15 i bring my daugher go to school then i know what i need to get ready for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

My daughter graduate last year. Strengths: caring, experienced and dedicated principal. Bilingual Cantonese teaching helps English learners. Many experienced and veteran teachers. Strong physical education enrichment. Great librarian. Improved PTA and better communication btwn teachers and parents. Weaknesses: underfunding [a systemwide issue], not enough parental involvement. School's strengths are not widely known.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

Principal not welcoming, teachers not as communicative as I would like. Parents don't socialize making it hard to feel welcome in school yard, which reflects on the kids behavior. My kid was there for 4 years and was never happy, I just regret not pulling him/her out before.


Posted November 28, 2009

This school is an undiscovered gem. We have found McCoppin a very welcoming, nurturing place with high academic standards. Our child's teacher is energetic, committed, and caring, and the principal is absolutely terrific. The small size of the school is a plus, as is the location in a quiet Richmond district neighborhood. We transferred from another SFUSD school and regret not finding McCoppin sooner. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

***Pluses --- Small student population, energetic principal, strong PTA, hardworking and committed teachers, friendly office staff, excellent and growing library. ****Minuses --- Parent involvement mediocre, disorganized communication between teaching staff and principal, no science curriculum, no cafetorium/auditorium


Posted October 25, 2008

My child is a 3rd grader. We appreciate the principal's hard work, the caring teachers and staff, and are still getting to know parents, many of whom are Chinese and other immigrants. The PTA leadership is wonderful and we just wish more parents would chip in and help us continue to improve our little school. We think the teachers have been great. But we just wish our child could have a lighter backpack load each day. And we are trying to improve our playground and facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I am a new kindergarten parent and find our teacher is great, interesting and I love that she sings to teach the kids different things. my child comes home with a new song every other day. However, The parents and the principle are not very inviting.. The kindergarten parents are great but have not meet any other parents to really have a community. The princple seems to run around alot and not have time for people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My oldest son graduated and my youngest one still attends this charming school. I agree that size is an advantage for the children. I have seen gradual improvements in academics, school site, activities, and equipment. My oldest son has severe chronic illness, and all the staff was extremely caring, helpful, and accommodating. I have volunteered in the classrooms, and I know how much effort the teachers put into their work. This isn't a learning academy, but parents can help make a difference by volunteering and participating in staff meetings instead of complain. I recommend it for all parents who would like a safe, loving environment and happy childhood memories for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

I'm the outgoing PTA president at McCoppin, where it has been a pleasure to work with the students, parents, and staff. Rather than give my personal take on the school, I'd like to share the top 10 things parents here have said they like about McCoppin: * Diverse, well-behaved student body * Enthusiastic, motivated teachers * Commitment to excellence * Effective, accessible principal * Emphasis on the three R's * Bilingual Cantonese program * Small size and sense of community * Active PTA and parental involvement * Computer lab and library * The fun events, especially the Halloween Carnival and Chinese New Year's activities Good luck in your search for the right school for your child. Danny Mangin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

After not receiving any of our 6 kindergarten choices last year, my wife and I toured McCoppin and were impressed with the principal, teachers and PTA. Our daughter absolutely loves her school and teachers (also enrolled in year-round after-school program), and I now think we'd be hard-pressed to find a better learning environment for her at any of the top-ranked schools. The smaller size of the school is also a plus - it has a 'family' atmosphere where everyone is looking out for each other, and the PTA is currently working with administration to make many site and program improvements. McCoppin is a 'diamond in the rough' with potential only limited by concerned and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

I think this school is a very warm and welcoming one. We have been very pleased with the environment created by the teachers and principal. Additionally, the school is always encouraging parental involvment and I have found all the teachers to be very receptive to my spending time in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

My experience at McCoppin has been great. My sons have been attending this school since kindergarten, they are now in 1st and 2nd grade. The teachers care about the students and the principal is the most supportive person I have ever met. The PTA does a great job of bringing new and exciting programs to the school. If you looking for a great neighborhood school, McCoppin is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2003

Kindergarten was a continuation of pre-school..not very challenging possibly due to number of non-English speaking children? Teacher was very experienced and good however.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

839

Change from
2012 to 2013

+34

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

839

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+34

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females67%
Males59%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner70%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students62%
Females60%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner74%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females73%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate33%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%

Math

All Students62%
Females73%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females82%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%

Math

All Students78%
Females82%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females53%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asian53%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%

Math

All Students79%
Females82%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state62%

Science

All Students55%
Females53%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asian53%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 64% 11%
Hispanic 11% 51%
Two or more races 11% 3%
White 9% 27%
Black 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Bennett E. Lee
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 750-8474

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • MUNI
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Roosevelt Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

651 Sixth Ave.
San Francisco, CA 94118
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 750-8475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Zion Lutheran School
San Francisco, CA


Star of the Sea School
San Francisco, CA


The Laurel School
San Francisco, CA


Lisa Kampner Hebrew Academy
San Francisco, CA



Sutro Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT