Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a community member
Both my children attend this school. One in kindergarten and one in 1st grade. They are coming home happy and talk non stop about their day. They are enjoying PE and ART class and reading. The pick up and drop off system is great for the students and the neighborhood. The teachers are caring and very hands on with each individual student. I enjoy this school very much.

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
It's the end of a great school year! First and foremost, the principal Mr. Lee is great! He is so open to new ideas from parents, friendly, understanding and honest. My child's teacher was amazing! In fact all the teachers are top notch educators! They are all so friendly and caring that you can tell that they love your child and wants what's best for them. Their new literacy program (reading and writers workshop) was what set them from all the other schools around apart! The school also participates in Imagine Learning program at school and MyOn reading programs at home. I forgot to mention that they started a GREAT pickup routine on 7th Ave! After school, the kids will sit on the sidewalk and wait for you to drive up to the curb. They open the door for you so you don't have to get out of the car! How perfect is that?! No more finding or double parking for pick up. I cannot stop saying enough good things about McCoppin! I highly recommend this school if you are still debating about it. I'll leave it with this phrase ( very fitting to this school ): It's not what's on the outside, what matters is on the inside.


Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff here are very caring and understanding towards all the families at their school.

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
The school has honest and caring teachers. They work very hard to accommodate every child in the school to make sure they are save.

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
As the parent of a McCoppin student, I am 100% behind this transition the school has made. The classrooms look better than ever and the students are actually reading critically and finally doing meaningful writing. No more worksheets during reading is wonderful. This new approach has truly inspired my child and she is now excited about reading and writing. I am so glad this school was approached by Kellogg and that the teachers and principal decided to be a part of this grant. It has really transformed this school. I applaud those teachers that have embraced this and are truly making a difference. I also attended a PTO meeting and it was exciting to see people getting involved. Great things are happening at this school.


Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been in Kindergarten ever since, and now she is in the 5th grade at Frank McCoppin. Frank McCoppin Elementary School is a wonderful school where the principal, secretary, and teachers, are all kind and caring. The principal has a great sense of humor, nice, and most of all dedicated his life to this school. I am very happy that this school has a wonderful literacy program where my child go on the "MYON" to read a variety of books that she can choose from fiction books, historical, real life situations, etc. One parent told me that the "MYON" has help his child in the first grade learn to read from listening to the words in highlight and read along. Ms. Read teaching literacy approach, assists and coaches teachers to do many variety of work that involves literacy. For example, the "MYON", Literacy Night, etc. Thank You Principal, Mr. Lee; Ms. Read, teachers, and secretary for all your hard work!

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
McCoppin Elementary has gone down the drain. After looking like a dump for years (non-functioning computer lab, dilipidated student furniture, etc.) improvements were suddenly made because of a new literacy program. but the program is just a bandage masking deeper issues, such as bad decision-making. The program itself wasn't even approved by teachers even though all the extra work and hours needed is required on their behalf. The school is very poorly managed. Many parents pull their kids out of McCoppin as soon as they get of the waiting list elsewhere. Bullying is a problem - not much in the way of students, but in terms of workplace. Many good teachers disappear with no plausible explanation. Poor leadership here has had a very negative impact.

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2015
- a parent
I am disgusted by how McCoppin has grown worse and worse over the years with constant low student enrollment and very high teacher turnover. Things just don't seem to get done around here. This is one big issue (of many) for example: a small group of about 10 preschool kids occupies the entire cafeteria as a classroom even though they only use a part of the room. So the rest of the school all K-5 students cannot use the cafeteria for meals or for any other reason; they all eat outide for lunch even when it is very cold. There are empty classrooms available because of low student enrollment that could easily hose the preschool. So one big question is why doesn't the principal Bennett Lee roll up his shirtsleeves and do the work needed to move the preschool into one of the empty classrooms? Because of the lack of a cafeteria there are also no school assemblies or student performances - the typically normal stuff you would expect to see at any school. I dont like having my child to eat outside and I know a lot of other parents don't like this either. And as I said before this is just one of many problems about this school.


Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 1

Posted December 23, 2014
- a community member
Mccoppin Elementary is an okay school because of the teachers. But the principal Bennett Lee is bad and doesn't do his job.he is absent all the time and is not fair about many things.Kids have to eat outside because the cafeteria is used for preschoolers. We didnt have compbuters to use for a long time because the computer lab was closed.

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
We personally love this school. For my kids it is their second home. They love everything that happen at McCoppin. The teachers and principal really care about education. PTO is not that strong but we have some people that are always there when there is a need. All we can say is that McCoppin is a safe and fun place to be!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School
651 Sixth Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94118-3804
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (415) 750-8475
Last modified Mccoppin (Frank) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top