Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sloat (Commodore) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 368 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

69 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Sloat is amazing in so many ways! The Teachers, the Principal, the community, the kids!! Our garden and school yard is so special and I just value our time at this school. My kids love love love their school and thats really what its all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

My daughter has been welcomed into the Commodore community with open arms. She was accepted late August 2013 after school had already started. Immediately the Principal came over and introduced himself and made me and my child feel like we had found a great school. The campus is open and beautiful, the area is safe, the parents are caring and raise a substantial amount of money yearly for additional teachers and activities. The after school program is good too. Engineering, Lego Building and Swimming are some of the classes that your child can sign up for. I am a huge fan of Commodore Sloat!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 21, 2014

I have been teaching at Sloat for more than 15 years now and can still say what I said the year I started here... "this school is fantastic, inclusive, and wonderfully diverse. I'm lucky to be a part of it's community" I decided to bring my daughter here to join the Sloat Family when she was in kindergarten. She is about to graduate and move on to Middle School. The experiences she's had here, and the friends she's made will stay with her and help her grow. I'm very proud to be a part of this team. I have watched hundreds of kids blossom while here; kids with special needs as well as kids without... thanks to the dedication of both the "SpedEd" and "RegEd" teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 17, 2014

My son attended kindergarten at Commodore Sloat. It was a very nurturing environment. His teacher, Ms. Loia, was amazing. She cared so much about all the kids and was a fantastic teacher. I am so happy he had his first big kid school experience with her and the wonderful staff at CS. The extra circular/ enrichment activities were wonderful as well - the art, gardening and music were a great way to introduce the kids to a diverse education. Keep up the great work CS!


Posted February 17, 2014

As I read the reviews, I am struck by the person that writes about our Special Ed Team. I have been a classroom teacher at Sloat for 3 years, prior to that I was the Garden Coordinator, and before that an involved parent. For the past two years I have worked closely with out SPED team, consulting with the two lead inclusion specialists as well as the paraprofessional staff on a daily basis. We have never had a stronger SPED team or a more supportive administrator. I attend many evening professional development workshops, and in talking to fellow educators across the district, our collaboration and whole child approach is remarkable and admired. No school is perfect, but from all the perspectives I have had, and the other schools I have had the opportunity to work at, I am happy to say our pledge every week ."I am proud to be a teacher at Commodore Sloat School, I listen with my ears, my eyes, and my heart, I treat others the way I want to be treated, I am strong and I am caring, I am proud to be a teacher of Commodore Sloat School."


Posted February 16, 2014

This school has many wonderful programs, teachers, PCO , and students. As you can read below, there is a lot of tension regarding the special ed department and the tension seems to stress out many facets of the school. A lot parents have complained about this. It seems like the principal refuses to hold the special ed department accountable for getting help to various needy areas.I have dealt with all the teachers in all the grades. Every teacher of the classes is outstanding.The fundraising is outstanding. The after school program and enrichments are outstanding. The arts programs are outstanding. Our kids are happy, so we are mostly happy. I just think the school would be more peaceful with a different special ed outlook.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2014

Its a good neighborhood school. We are very pleased with the school. Most parents are very involved. And the PCO is strong. Fund raising is strong here, but if it weren't the school wouldn't have the resources it does. The only pressure I feel to give to the school comes from my own sense of obligation. My children are getting a great education, and that takes donations from the parent body. I get it. Test scores are up this year. I do agree, however, with the previous post that there is not enough resources for children who have learning or behavioral issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

This school does not do a good job supporting children with learning or attention issues. The new principal seems well intentioned and hopefully will make the school more inclusive. The posts below seem like an accurate depiction of what life at this school is like for typical kids and their parents. Unfortunately, if your kid has behavior or learning issues you will have a much different experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

Happy with our neighborhood school. Involved parent community - new principal this year. So far, things are going well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Amazing neighborhood school - teachers are all wonderful. Academics are super strong; as is the enrichment - gardening, choral, library, poetry (3-5), p/e -- well rounded school. Community is wonderful - everyone does their part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This school is fantastic. We feel so fortunate to have our first grade son here. The teachers are dynamic, inspiring, and partner with the diverse community of involved parents. We feel truly blessed to be apart of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Commodore Sloat is a fantastic school with incredible teachers, passionate parents and a well rounded curriculum. We have two children at Sloat and couldn't be happier with the community we have joined. Great education, many project based learning activities, a focus on the arts and ensuring balance across health and wellness makes this school unique in our eyes. It's a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Commodore Sloat is a total gem of a school. My family and i looked at a number of schools in the area, and this one really hit home with us on so many levels. The grounds are beautiful, the layout of the school (pods with courtyards) was inviting and non intimidating, and the amount of fresh air and outdoor space avaialble to all the students was very attractive. Our son is in his second year there and thriving. He wakes every morning excited to go to school. The school is small enough that my son knows everyone in his grade and manages to have friends outside of his assigned class, as all the classes in each grade come together for a number of activities through out the day. It is a community that fosters cooperation on both a student level, and teacher and parent level. it has been a lovely experience so far and i coudnl't be happier with our placement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I am a parent of a 1st & 3rd grader at Commodore Sloat. It's a safe and academically solid school and the parent community is very strong and involved. We have new leadership this year - but I'm highly optimistic. We are happy at Sloat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

This is a gem of a school. The teachers have so much experience and do a great job teaching to each individual child. There is a warm, community feeling within the student and parent body. The principal is a fabulous leader with the energy, passion and knowledge to make the school run, grow and thrive. I could not be happier with the choice we made for educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

Commodore Sloat is a gem of a public school! Dedicated principal, staff and welcoming & highly involved parent community who highly support the student body. A school that offers a well-balanced type of education for your child - strong academics, diverse student population, wonderful in-school programs such as visual art, theatre, musical theatre, poetry, gardening, library, music, and PE! Other highlights include a strong on-site after school program supported by the YMCA and also a well-organized after school enrichment program that offers a variety of interesting and engaging classes! Our school grounds is spacious with 3 wonderful play structures. Our gardening program supports a fantastic learning garden for all grade levels. This is a school that is not to be missed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

We are so happy at Sloat! My daughter's Kindergarten teacher is loving with excellent classroom management skills. We have also been lucky enough to have a student teacher in the classroom every day in addition to the primary teacher (great with 22 kids in the class). PE, gardening, music and art have all been part of the enrichment classes (during school hours) this year. Also, there's a great after-school offering of classes. from Spanish and Tree Frog Treks to Chess and martial arts. The parent community is welcoming, down-to-earth and committed to supporting the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

They do a great job with the kids and they keep parents involved!


Posted May 4, 2010

It is a very good school; it takes care of children, teach them, love them. Children and their parents response the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Commodore Sloat is a great school. My daughter started kindergarten this year and we are thrilled by all the things that she has learnt and is learning in her school.The best part is that she loves being there and doing all the activities there.The school has a great principal,excellent teachers and an excellent after school program.The PTA is very active doing constant fund raisers which are so necessary with our current budget problems.There are many enrichments supported by the PTA (such as chess,tree frog treks,spanish lango).The YMCA provides excellent after care with home work help and enrichments. The school has regular PE,library,big playground,learning garden.We are really glad that we got into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

901

Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

901

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+18

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females90%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state79%

Math

All Students85%
Females82%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females78%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asian61%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state71%

Math

All Students92%
Females85%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner82%
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females72%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian60%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state83%

Math

All Students86%
Females86%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate91%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females72%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females69%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate64%
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students73%
Females56%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 51% 11%
White 22% 27%
Two or more races 12% 3%
Hispanic 8% 51%
Black 7% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Poetry

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40
School end time
  • 2:40
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Greg John
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (415) 759-2843

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Muni

Commodore Sloat Licensed Afterschool and Before School Programs (after school program)

About the program
  • This fee-based program offers daily afterschool care with a flexible schedule (two, three, or five days per week programs). Each day they offer a healthy nutritious snack, an hour of homework help, outside and inside play, and structured group activity time which includes community service projects and field trips. Monthly fees range depending on the number of days per week students attend.Before school care is also offered in which students have the opportunity to play games, do homework, or do artwork in a safe, supervised environment before school. Monthly fees range depending on the number of days per week students attend.SFUSD ExCEL afterschool programs ensure involvement of teachers from students' schools to make sure that afterschool academics are aligned with the school day curriculum. Every school with an ExCEL program partners with a nonprofit community based organization to run activities and build bridges to the neighborhood.
Operated by
  • Stonestown Family YMCA
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 7:00 am
End time
  • 6:30 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • 1-5
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Is financial aid available?
  • Yes
Website

Commodore Stockton Early Education School (after school program)

About the program
  • The Early Education Schools work collaboratively with elementary schools to support children's learning. The afterschool programs offer a homework/tutorial period, outdoor experiences, and learning/enrichment activities. Afterschool programs are offered year-round. Bussing is available between a number of SFUSD elementary schools.
Operated by
  • SFUSD Early Education Department
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
End time
  • 5:45 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • 1-4
Is there a fee for the program?
  • No
Is financial aid available?
  • No
Website
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Poetry
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Aptos Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Darien Way
San Francisco, CA 94127
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 759-2807

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Stephen School
San Francisco, CA



Voice of Pentecost Academy
San Francisco, CA



Stratford School
San Francisco, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT