Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
344 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
This is our daughter's second year at Holy Name and it's been a very positive experience. This school is everything we were looking: strong academics, smaller class sizes, safe and nurturing environment, great principal, teachers and staff. On top of that,Holy Name has a very strong sense of a community with very much involved parents. Our daughter likes every moment spent in school and that tells us that we made a right choice.

Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
We moved our daughter to Holy Name from FAIS and it has been wonderful. She never wanted to go to school before and now she is up and ready every morning. We are so thrilled we found this school as it embodies the same values that we do even though we are not Catholic. Not only are we getting a great education for our child they teach the students to be good people and good citizens of their community and their world. The teachers thus far have been great and while we miss the previous principal, our new principal is really great and is going to be wonderful for our school.


Holy Name Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
The children often learn about our diverse community. For Veteran's Day our second grader wrote letter to the V.A. San Francisco. Our son is starting to draw connections to our community.

Holy Name Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Holy Name is continually challenging our children to think, not just about themselves but about the greater community.

Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
Holy Name offers our three children an academic and nuturing environment. They are not just watched they are cared for. The extended care is AMAZING. The team at extended care is loving and constantly working with our children one on one: making seasonal projects, playing sports and helping with homework. Academically our children are exposed to many new approaches to learning. The teachers are top notch and reach our children daily. The community had been a wonderful place: festivals, potlucks and season events. Holy Name is a hidden gem in the Sunset. We love our school!


Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
We love Holy Name! I went here and it has only gotten better with age! My children always come home with smiles on their faces. They LOVE going to extended care where they can hang out with their friends (but only after they finish their homework). There's a real sense of community in the school. The parents are really involved. The staff is friendly and always helpful. The new principal has made some wonderful advances to bring this school into the current technology age. The academics is geared so that everyone can learn at their own pace and still get the same results. Great school!

Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been in Holy Name for 4 years now and we are very happy about our decision to transfer our kids here. The staff, parents, and the children are really a community here - everyone for the most part knows each other, looks out for each other and each other's kids, and the teachers and staff are always willing and able to help in any situation. The academics are well structured and I can see that the Principal and teachers are always finding ways to improve and challenge the kids in new ways.

Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
We transferred our child to Holy Name from a nearby Lutheran school and the decision was a blessing in disguise. The children here are strong in their academics especially in the areas of science and math. I like how this school does not try to inculcate their Catholic beliefs to the children and parents. Within a week, our child made a lot of new friends and the staff and principal were instrumental in helping with this process. If you are looking for a supportive and well-rounded school, your child is at the right place.


Holy Name Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
I feel so blessed to have my child at HNS! The academics are top notch and they have really worked hard to make the school current with a brand new science room, computer room and library. The students are more than ready for high school, and they are good, kind kids! The community of parents are a wonderful support and the Principal is amazing.

Holy Name Elementary School 3

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Typical private school with all the politics that you expect. There is a lot of favoritism between staff parents and if you aren't in the circle than you will not enjoy your time there. I struggle using the word program for the sports program because a program means there is structure and a way of doing things that is cheap and very lazy. If your kids love sports this is NOT the place for you. I gave it 3 stars because my kid likes it there because of the friends he/she has. Okay if you dont get approved for anywhere else. Parents are the ones left to organize and run everything with resistance at every turn when requests are made. The teachers excuse for not being good is to say your kid might need extra help or tutoring that they conveniently have for more $$ of course.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Name Elementary School
1560 40th Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94122
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (415) 731-4077
Last modified Holy Name Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top