Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 639
 

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Riordan High School 2

Posted January 10, 2015
- a community member
Not what the grandma said..... Teachers who left did not want to be here. Those guys who are here can not go anywhere.

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
What you put into a school is what your son will get back. My grandson is very happy at Riordan - I've met with teachers that have a genuine concern for the welfare and education of their students. If a teacher does not meet the criteria they will no longer be there. We all want the best for our children - Not happy - a complaint should be addressed to the Dean of student. Your child education depends on what he puts into the program. A good person can come from any school achieve whatever they want to achieve. If we as parents discourage, belittle the school then your son will have the same attitude as you. I want my grandson to succeed in whatever field he chooses. We can only hope and pray that they take a good path in life that makes up proud. Looking forward to the future!!!!


Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
A public school education with a private school price tag! If you are low-income with an athletic son or you are good at making yourself look low-income by crying or pleading with administration to get a discounted rate, chances are you will be able to send your son to this school. Otherwise, you will be paying full price...and you won't be getting what you pay for! Riordan is focused on boosting its sports teams and will handout free rides to anyone who can win sports games for them, regardless of academic ability. Riordan standards have been lowered significantly in recent years and it shows. Take a look at the parking lot after football and basketball games and you will see. The sense of private school exclusivity is long gone. The class of 2018 validates this as it is full of riff-raff. The tuition from international students, dorm students, and professional parents covers the "scholarships" that these students receive. Fancy classes, iPad technology, and what used to be a long tradition of excellence (that is now below standards) is all ARHS can offer nowadays. Some free public schools (Lowell, SOTA, Oceana) are even academically and socially better than Riordan!
6 people found this helpful

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a student
I love this school beyond comprehension. It is my home, my source of pride, and my greatest motivator.

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a teacher
Low academic performance, irresponsible, unskilled faculties, disorganized school management. The enrollment has been declining for almost 10 years. School has kept too many 10+ yrs folks that obviously ruined the 10 years of academic performance. Large number of graduates could not get into any schools .... SURPRISE!
8 people found this helpful


Archbishop Riordan High School 3

Posted October 29, 2011
- a parent
Overall great parent support. The young men are responsible and very respectful. The Dean takes his job too seriously and harasses students for minor infractions (such as a little stuble on their chin). Great academics and teacher support. Very rigorous schedule!

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted December 30, 2010
- a community member
I am an Alumni. Archbishop Riordan High School was not only a Great School for me as student but being an alumni of this great community, continues to be a great force in my life today!

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted December 11, 2010
- a community member
Both my son and husband went to Archbishop Riordan High School. ARHS is excellent in every aspect. They care about every aspect of your son. The teachers go way beyond what is necessary if your son has a problem. They will go to other teachers if your son isn't succeeding in their class. The principal is very involved with the boys. Every boy who goes here is a special person to each and every teacher. The boys act the same whether they are in public or in the school. They are very courteous and responsible.


Archbishop Riordan High School 4

Posted December 09, 2010
- a teacher
Who knows the email address of the school? I have a stuent want to apply this school, but don't konw the application conditions. Thank you!

Archbishop Riordan High School 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
Riordan is an awesome school for boys because it treats boys as whole persons and is tuned into the ways boys develop academically and in all other ways. The result is fine young men who do well after Riordan. I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent academic education at this school and also the 'heart' that accepts the boys and helps them become gentlemen in the true sense of the word -- putting others first. Our son has been accepted at a number of top schools as a senior at Riordan and we plan to send the rest of our boys to this topnotch school.
2 people found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Riordan High School
175 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112
(415) 586-8200
Last modified Archbishop Riordan High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Riordan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top