Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 639

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
A public school education with a private school price tag! If you are low-income with an athletic son or you are good at making yourself look low-income by crying or pleading with administration to get a discounted rate, chances are you will be able to send your son to this school. Otherwise, you will be paying full price...and you won't be getting what you pay for! Riordan is focused on boosting its sports teams and will handout free rides to anyone who can win sports games for them, regardless of academic ability. Riordan standards have been lowered significantly in recent years and it shows. Take a look at the parking lot after football and basketball games and you will see. The sense of private school exclusivity is long gone. The class of 2018 validates this as it is full of riff-raff. The tuition from international students, dorm students, and professional parents covers the "scholarships" that these students receive. Fancy classes, iPad technology, and what used to be a long tradition of excellence (that is now below standards) is all ARHS can offer nowadays. Some free public schools (Lowell, SOTA, Oceana) are even academically and socially better than Riordan!
5 people found this helpful

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a student
I love this school beyond comprehension. It is my home, my source of pride, and my greatest motivator.


Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a teacher
Low academic performance, irresponsible, unskilled faculties, disorganized school management. The enrollment has been declining for almost 10 years. School has kept too many 10+ yrs folks that obviously ruined the 10 years of academic performance. Large number of graduates could not get into any schools .... SURPRISE!
8 people found this helpful

Archbishop Riordan High School 3

Posted October 29, 2011
- a parent
Overall great parent support. The young men are responsible and very respectful. The Dean takes his job too seriously and harasses students for minor infractions (such as a little stuble on their chin). Great academics and teacher support. Very rigorous schedule!

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted December 30, 2010
- a community member
I am an Alumni. Archbishop Riordan High School was not only a Great School for me as student but being an alumni of this great community, continues to be a great force in my life today!


Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted December 11, 2010
- a community member
Both my son and husband went to Archbishop Riordan High School. ARHS is excellent in every aspect. They care about every aspect of your son. The teachers go way beyond what is necessary if your son has a problem. They will go to other teachers if your son isn't succeeding in their class. The principal is very involved with the boys. Every boy who goes here is a special person to each and every teacher. The boys act the same whether they are in public or in the school. They are very courteous and responsible.

Archbishop Riordan High School 4

Posted December 09, 2010
- a teacher
Who knows the email address of the school? I have a stuent want to apply this school, but don't konw the application conditions. Thank you!

Archbishop Riordan High School 0
no rating

Posted February 05, 2010
- a parent
Riordan is an awesome school for boys because it treats boys as whole persons and is tuned into the ways boys develop academically and in all other ways. The result is fine young men who do well after Riordan. I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent academic education at this school and also the 'heart' that accepts the boys and helps them become gentlemen in the true sense of the word -- putting others first. Our son has been accepted at a number of top schools as a senior at Riordan and we plan to send the rest of our boys to this topnotch school.
2 people found this helpful


Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted January 17, 2010
- a student
I'll be honest, the first month of Riordan I hated it. Now I really can't say any more great things about it. Riordan offers grade academics for both those who are struggling and those who want to excel. The teachers really want to see their students succeed and make themselves available after school and during lunch. But it's not just the academics, its the sense of brotherhood. The boys who go there are your friends for life and will always be there for you. Riordan is just a great school. Not that SI and SH are bad but from the way I look at it Riordan prepares their students better morally for the future ahead. This is because the student body is very diverse, you get boys from all different backgrounds. This way everybody respects all different people: rich or poor. Send your boy here and you'll get what I mean.
1 person found this helpful

Archbishop Riordan High School 0
no rating

Posted January 16, 2010
- a parent
We have two sons attending Riordan High School. We made our selection of Riordan after visiting the other regional Catholic High Schools all fine institutions. We were impressed with Riordan s preparedness in educating our sons and this was the school they chose to attend! They participate in AP classes, multiple athletic WCAL teams and band. We were hesitant about the all male enrollment but the academic, social and athletic maturity growth afforded by the lack of distractions is measurable. There are dances and co-ed school activities with Mercy SF. Academics is the core focus but if your son is interested in a fine athletic program, strong band program, theater, media production and many clubs then you should consider Riordan as a strong school.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Riordan High School
175 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112
(415) 586-8200
Last modified Archbishop Riordan High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Riordan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top