Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
639 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Archbishop Riordan High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
It did for me. Students Learn why respect is important. However, the only thing I did not like about this school is these habits are not enforced during freshman year.

Archbishop Riordan High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
It really depends on the person himself. If you do not think your son did not "develop compassion, caring, and enthalpy", then it has to do with his character.


Archbishop Riordan High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted October 09, 2015
- a student
The students foster the development of the school. The teachers can only do so much. As students, we create the environmental (academic, social, etc.) around the school. Fortunately for me, I thrived in an environment that was both competitive (at least a good portion of the students) and relaxed (everyone was "chill" with each other).

Archbishop Riordan High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 08, 2015
- a student
They teach us the stuff, we go home to review the stuff. Simple as that. They push us to not be average

Archbishop Riordan High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 08, 2015
- a student
The teachers challenge for critical thinking. However, some do not realiE that we are not masters at critical thinking, and so students can be burnt out from 3-4 hours per night


Archbishop Riordan High School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a student
If you make it hard, then you have to be gritty. More students are taking AP Classes, and a competitive vibe can be felt throughout the school (Class of 2016 probably will take over 300 AP Classes out of 179 students, a lot of kids in that class are taking 6 APs)

Archbishop Riordan High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a student
The administration tries its best to instill good, ethical habits into the students. Riordan fosters a good amount of good, scholarly character in its students.

Archbishop Riordan High School 4

Posted October 08, 2015
- a student
You have an opprtunity to make your high school years there great (multitude of flexible AP Classes, EC's you can get involved in). It is very challenging if you choose to make it that way; however, the only thing I wish is for the school to set up academic/career oriented clubs (Science clubs, FBLA). If the school can realize there are a lot of students that dream of going to top tier, then Riordan will be a really good school. As of right now, I rate it as "good". Also, no only bullies anyone at Riordan. The social atmosphere is relaxing. Some people complain about the demographics not being too "white" enough; I'm sure there are a lot of minorities that do some really good things as well.


Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a community member
Many nowhere-to-be recycled white folks, old lazy slackers, as long as they went to catholic schools, then they'd get jobs at riordan. Faculties bullies faculties, irresponsible teaching, family members, networks, gossipers. Sports mission with a catholic format, full of riff-raffs, difficult to improve academic performance.

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted September 11, 2015
- a student
I was bullied for four years at Riordan. I started to self harm myself while i was there, i stopped now but i hate this school so much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Riordan High School
175 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112
(415) 586-8200
Last modified Archbishop Riordan High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Riordan High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. Top