Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
San Francisco, CA
Students enrolled: 639
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archbishop Riordan High School 2

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
I see Filipino students all over the place. It's almost a Filipino school. The most sarcastic view that almost no Filipino faculty and staff want to link their identity. It's sad to see the long held unhealthy cultural, religious bias dominating a school.

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Riordan is a sports focused drama school. The management lies on their social media. There is no honesty, integrity, hard working and respect environment around school.


Archbishop Riordan High School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
A sports and drama school. No academic performance. English and social science are too fundamental. Math and science are below average standards.

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted April 22, 2015
- a teacher
They don't teach your son to have a heart of appreciation, but hatred, boasting and discrimination. There're too many dishonest students lying and cheating. The school is really disappointing.

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted April 19, 2015
- a community member
Lots of dramas, gossipers, unprepared students. The school is on the bottom line, no academic performance at all.


Archbishop Riordan High School 2

Posted January 10, 2015
- a community member
Not what the grandma said..... Teachers who left did not want to be here. Those guys who are here can not go anywhere.

Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
What you put into a school is what your son will get back. My grandson is very happy at Riordan - I've met with teachers that have a genuine concern for the welfare and education of their students. If a teacher does not meet the criteria they will no longer be there. We all want the best for our children - Not happy - a complaint should be addressed to the Dean of student. Your child education depends on what he puts into the program. A good person can come from any school achieve whatever they want to achieve. If we as parents discourage, belittle the school then your son will have the same attitude as you. I want my grandson to succeed in whatever field he chooses. We can only hope and pray that they take a good path in life that makes up proud. Looking forward to the future!!!!

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
A public school education with a private school price tag! If you are low-income with an athletic son or you are good at making yourself look low-income by crying or pleading with administration to get a discounted rate, chances are you will be able to send your son to this school. Otherwise, you will be paying full price...and you won't be getting what you pay for! Riordan is focused on boosting its sports teams and will handout free rides to anyone who can win sports games for them, regardless of academic ability. Riordan standards have been lowered significantly in recent years and it shows. Take a look at the parking lot after football and basketball games and you will see. The sense of private school exclusivity is long gone. The class of 2018 validates this as it is full of riff-raff. The tuition from international students, dorm students, and professional parents covers the "scholarships" that these students receive. Fancy classes, iPad technology, and what used to be a long tradition of excellence (that is now below standards) is all ARHS can offer nowadays. Some free public schools (Lowell, SOTA, Oceana) are even academically and socially better than Riordan!


Archbishop Riordan High School 5

Posted September 03, 2014
- a student
I love this school beyond comprehension. It is my home, my source of pride, and my greatest motivator.

Archbishop Riordan High School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a teacher
Low academic performance, irresponsible, unskilled faculties, disorganized school management. The enrollment has been declining for almost 10 years. School has kept too many 10+ yrs folks that obviously ruined the 10 years of academic performance. Large number of graduates could not get into any schools .... SURPRISE!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archbishop Riordan High School
175 Phelan Avenue, San Francisco, CA  94112
(415) 586-8200
Last modified Archbishop Riordan High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archbishop Riordan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top