Advertisement

St. Mary's School

Private | K-8 | 225 students

Serving the Chinese Community Since 1921
 
 

 
 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $615,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2014

My daughter has been attending St. Mary's School for two years now and the intention is to have her stay through the 8th grade. I've been very happy with the class sizes and student:teacher ratio. This allows the teachers and staff to devote themselves to providing much attention to each student on multiple levels. Credence is paid to developing thoughtful young adults who act with kindness toward others. In addition, my child is in the Chinese after school program and is learning Mandarin; a valuable asset in today's day and age. The STEM program has enriched the student curriculum and I am happy about the use of tablets in the classroom and at home. Overall I couldn't ask for a better education and preparation in today's competitive economy while receiving tender loving care at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I love this school. I have two children one has graduated in 2012, and the other one has been going for three years getting ready for fourth grade. I love the long school hours (better for me and my partner)... the teachers are very understanding of whatever is going on in your life. I love how they are teaching the children how to use the computer and the technology that our children will be using in the future.All the homework is on Google Calendar and all the parents are also given a Google Apps login to stmarysf.com. They also have field trips all over the country like Walden West, all the museums, tons of outdoors trips. I can say that I don't know why all schools do not go this way of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Saint Mary is one of the hidden gems in a highly competitive private school market. My children have attended Saint Mary for the last three years and have embraced the academic rigor and the core values offered by the institution. There are so many opportunities to carve out your niche and follow your passion. At StMarySF (the Twitter handle and the name of the school handbook and newsletter), not only do faculty members know my children, they are advocates for them and know their best selves. I could not be more proud of my kids and know that the administration and the entire community deserves a large part of the credit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

This has been a great environment for my kids. The summer school this year was so much fun. The girls had a field trip around the city on an almost daily basis. They were pretty much in school and camp at the same time. It was a wonderful experience one that my girls will remember for the rest of their lives. We are very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

St. Mary's is a great school and my daughter loves it there. I really like the family atmosphere of the school, with the small classes and the dedicated faculty and staff. I feel like my daughter gets a lot of personal attention and is thriving both academically and personally. And she speaks Chinese at home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

St. Mary s School s stress is on expanded math, literacy, science, social studies, and Chinese language instruction. Emphasis is placed on teaching elementary students about the purpose and challenges of college and the hard work that it will take to get there. They use a balanced literacy approach with phonics, readers and writers workshop, and novel study. My kids' math teachers use research-based methods to ensure students are performing at the highest levels in the country. Students are exposed to a well-rounded curriculum including social studies, science, arts, music, languages, sports, and social skills development. The uniqueness of each child is appreciated and encouraged, and learning happens in a non-competitive environment. Written evaluations of student progress and parent-teacher conferences provide thorough feedback for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

The promotion of family values, self-worth, good citizenship, honor, and moral integrity for each student is central to the purpose of St. Mary's and as a parent, I feel it is motivated by its traditional progressive spirit, inspired by its distinguished students, and in full anticipation of 21st century challenges, St. Mary's continues to embrace its commitment to inspiring excellence in every one of its students. Also, the school is expanding its extracurricular offering, providing learning opportunities in the arts, sciences and global studies that will set St. Mary's students apart and above while preparing kids. And I haven't even started talking about the talented and passionate faculty and staff. Students benefit from a superior college preparatory education in a diverse, family-oriented environment and from a multitude of academic programs that meet the needs of each individual student. My kid has been there for 5 years and never regret sending her there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

WOW. So much is changing. Just had a meeting with the new principal a week ago and I was impressed by how they are unveiling this thing called the Personal Success Plan where he is going to start these Student-Teacher-Principal conferences annually, arrange individualized internship & high school placement with alumni support and get kids ready for college even after 8th grade and through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

The St. Mary's School and its associated parish and community deserve the best rating. My only regret is that we couldn't have spent more time there. Everyone, including the Principal, the Pastor, the Teachers and the Families made our experience one we will never forget. The academics are tough, the extra-curricular activities are amazing and the religious education is fantastic. I highly recommend the school to everyone, even those families who may be spending just a year or two in San Francisco. We were a military family attending Cal and the time spent in SF with the support of St. Mary's was the best we've had in 16 years of service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

First, you must understand that St. Mary's is 2 schools in 1. St. Mary's Chinese School is not just another immersion program. It is a Chinese school with Chinese teachers teaching just as they would back home. I have had my non-Chinese children in the Chinese School for a total of 7 years. The Pre-K through 1st grades are marvelous bi-lingual learning environments! I have no experience yet with grades 7 & 8 but right now there is just 1 class for each grade level. They have a brand new school for the school to grow. We have dance, drama, art, concert band, P.E., and lots of after school classes available. Our PTO is very active and raises lots of money, primarily to be sure our teachers have assistants. Love it! BEST OF THE BEST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

I currently have three children enrolled at St. Mary s school in San Francisco and I couldn t be happier. The school s environment is very welcoming and I can t help but notice how close and supportive the students are with each other. The faculty and staff are excellent as is the curriculum and best of all, Saint Mary s has moved to a brand new, state of the art facility on Kearny Street which is right next to the new Downtown City College campus. If I m not mistaken, this is probably one of the closet private schools to the financial district so it s VERY convenient for those parents who work in the area. The student body is nowhere near as large as other Catholic schools in the area. This, in my opinion, is a good thing as a low student to teacher ratio allows for more individual attention in the classroom. I would definitely recommend St. Mary s to parents who are looking for a new school for their children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

We transferred our 2 children from another private school to St. Mary's and we are very satisfied that we made the move. Our kids love their new school and their teachers. St. Mary's is a family-oriented school, where parents collaborate with each other to give their children the best school experience ever. With the new facility located in the heart of Chinatown and Financial District, the school has a lot to offer academically and in extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

alumni, best school ever, had a great time, easy to connect with teachers at my time the work is equal
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2004

This is a wonderful school overall. It gives opportunity to many students of many ethnic backgrounds a chance to learn and play. Most of the school's ethnicity is Asian (Chinese). There is a Student Council, Big Brother Big Sister Program, Safety Patrol, Teacher Helper and Library Helper. Other unique things about this school is that it has a pack of Cub Scouts affiliated with it and Girl Scout Troops/Pack as well. Piano lessons are offered and Study Halls too! It's a wonderful environment for children. For parents unable to pick up their children at 3 p.m. the Study Hall A is from 3-3:45 or 4 and Study Hall B is from 4ish-4:45ish. Also if that doesn't do, there is a Chinese School from 4-5:30 or 5:45. For Chinese school levels MIddle/High school, classes start at 5 and ends at 6:30p.m. Hope this gives you a scoop!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 97%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jeffrey Kwong
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (415) 929-4699

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Combined classes due to small enrollment
  • Continuation
  • GED
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • None
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Parking available at www.sfpsg
School facilities
  • None
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Chinese Catholic Center
  • Chinese Community Health Network
  • Chinatown NICOS
  • Chinatown SHE
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

December 01, 2013

 
 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$18000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Galileo High School
Washington High School
Lowell High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

838 Kearny Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 929-4694

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chinese Education Center
San Francisco, CA






Garfield Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT