Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Zion Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 123 students

Our school is best known for its academic excellence and small class sizes.
 
 

 

Living in San Francisco

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $885,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 13, 2013

We moved to San Francisco from Chicago in the summer of 2012. From the beginning, we have had wonderful interactions with Mrs. Laughlin and her staff of dedicated and professional teachers. The staff has made our daughter feel safe, welcomed, and encouraged her to do her very best every day. Our third grader is academically challenged on a daily basis. She is excelling in math-performing at the fourth grade level. She is reading above her grade as well. The small-sized classroom allow for much greater one-to-one academic interaction with her teachers. This is especially important if your student is not excelling academically. The teachers really care and want every one of their students to succeed. In addition to a strong academic program, Zion offers students learning outside the classroom (which is just as important). There are really interesting field trips scheduled that actually enhance the learning objectives. If you are a parent who wants their child to attend a school where h/she is safe, warm (socially), encouraged (mentally), challenged (academically) and is truly the center and reason for being there, then you should consider Zion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I really like this school! The teachers are all so awesome! I will miss this school when I graduate :(


Posted September 11, 2013

When I went to Zion, I knew that I was welcome. Though it was not a large school, I made many friends. To me, a smaller community means closer relationships. The friends I made became people who will always support me. The teachers helped me whenever I needed assistance in learning. If I didn't understand a concept, I could arrange a meeting with them and we would sit down and figure it out, no matter how long it took. No matter how busy they were, they made time for me, so that I got the best education that I could. Another great thing about Zion is that they know when they do something wrong. If a mistake is made, they will try their hardest to fix it. They have spirit, and they have spunk. The friendly community of Zion just makes you want to smile. You can't help but be happy to be there.


Posted August 26, 2013

Zion Lutheran School is like a family to us. The whole school came together to help my son heal emotionally after surgery. You will not find a more caring staff. Their focus is not just academic but the growth and development of the whole student. They are there for your child through thick and thin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

This is a wonderful school where children are nurtured, academics are emphasized and Christian values are taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Zion is the best private school in SF. My son loves to go to school everyday. The teachers and staff are supportive and helpful. They care for the students. My son learn to take responsibility and independent learning skills. Academically, the school provide a good foundation to learn and excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Zion offers a great education for an unbelievable price, complete with amazing extra-curricular activities and a wonderful church and parent community. Our eldest daughter graduated from Zion in May 2013, having performed exceptionally well on her high school entrance exams, gaining acceptance at every school to which she applied and being admitted to an honors program. With her Zion preparation, she begins high school in pre-calculus and 2nd year Spanish. But what I appreciate even more, is the training beyond the typical academics. She has grown into a very good public speaker, having delivered multiple oral presentations each year from first through eighth grade. She is a competent singer and actress, having sung in choir all 9 years and performing in the school musical 5 years in a row. All that is topped by two trips to the state finals of the National History Day Competition. Everyone of her teachers loved her well, which has given her an amazing foundation for future learning and growth. Our youngest is receiving the same wonderful education, all in the context of a community in which the parents enjoy spending time together. For us, Zion is a win-win-win.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We ve been here since kindergarten; our child is in second grade. The school has been really amazing and my child loves to come to school everyday. Zion offers excellent academics, after school programs such as basketball, academic chess, music, mandarin, Legos and science. It also has small classes and a great community. The teachers and the principal really care about the student s development and growth. We are very happy to have found the school, is home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is really a hidden gem in San Francisco. The pastor, principle and every teacher are really dedicated to our children's education and upbringing. Every staff knows every child by their first name no matter whether they teach them or not. It always amazes me how this small school's students shine whenever there is any academic competitions. I have heard personally other parents and staffs from other school commented on how well our kids behave outside our school ground. Admittedly this school doesn't have a strong sport curriculum, but the students that participate in sports truly give their all. My child and my family absolutely love this little family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Zion is such a rich environment. It is a school that offers so many programs for children to grow and learn. It is also a close, caring community. Children feel safe, loved, and accepted at Zion. They are academically challenged and are spiritually encouraged to serve and love others. Zion has many activities to engage the children. They include the School musical, Spring Concert, Spelling Bee, Geography Bee, Math Counts, as well as the National and local competitions such as National History Day, & Science Fair. Besides going to school, children can join the Yearbook club, Student Council, enroll in the Mandarin program, take chess, piano, violin, guitar, drum, and hand bell lessons. The students go to Outdoor Education programs like Yosemite and Washington DC just to name a few. Integrating technology is the latest upgrade at Zion. All of this would not be possible if it were not for the people involved from the dedicated teachers, staff, Pastor, Principal, and parents. Zion is an amazing "school" . Just look at the kids. They are happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

Our child is in the middle of his third year at Zion Lutheran. The school went through a major transition in leadership and teaching staff shortly before we arrived. Zion provides rigorous academics (Core Knowledge Curriculum), a surprisingly broad range of extracurricular opportunities for a school of its size (part of CYO sports so lots of teams, plus music, drama and foreign language), and small classes that enable dedicated, energetic teachers to meet each child at his/her level while coaxing best efforts out of each child. The school constantly examines how it can do better, and recently accelerated the math curriculum. Tour Zion and see how engaged the kids are in their classrooms compared to other schools. You will be impressed. The principal has a knack for picking talented young teachers. We are not religious, but we are not anti-religion either, and we like the emphasis on community service and kind, inclusive behavior. Downsides are gloomy physical plant, lack of ethnic diversity, and, for my taste, too much classroom time on religion and not enough time or teaching strength in visual arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

Great school! Caring teachers and administration create an atmosphere where truly exceptional learning takes place. The available extra-curricular activities like foreign language, sports, music, etc...are well run and quite fulfilling for our two kids. This place has a warm, small-town feel where wide participation by the parent community adds to the positive, learning-focused environment. The 'snobbiness' that is sometime apparent at private schools is not an issue at this school. This school is focused on what we really care about; providing an environment where our kids can excel to the greatest extent of their abilities. We are exceedingly happy with the balanced development and learning that our kids are experiencing at Zion Lutheran.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

We are truly glad that our children attend this school. There is an immediate sense of community that emanates from the administration/staff, teachers, parents and the students themselves. Various school community events such as the Parent/Teacher softball game and Fall Carnival help to grow this sense of community. High parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed. The small class sizes allow the teachers to monitor a student's progress closely and tailor learning to meet the student's needs. It also allows them to truly care about the child's academic, social, emotional, physical, and spiritual growth. Though this sounds like an overused cliche, as a Zion parent, the term "a hidden gem" is an apt description for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Zion has one of the best musical/theatrical programs I have ever seen and heard in an elementary school. What a wonderful opportunity for these students!!!


Posted April 28, 2010

Small class size Capable and caring teachers Fantastic administration and staff Loves God and loves others
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My daughters both love Zion Lutheran - the staff is amazing and the students are truly like family to my kids. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else. The music/fine arts are exceptional, they'd be excellent at a school 5 times the size!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Zion is my favorite school because of the commitment from the students, parents, and teachers. Commitment to academic excellence, a commitment to bettering the school, and a commitment to one another. I enjoy coming to work here every day and cherish each relationship I've built within the school community.


Posted April 27, 2010

Zion is an excellent school that truly cares about its students, parents, and staff. We offer many and various types of activities so all children can experience and excel, including theatre/performing arts, sports, yearbook, choirs, cooking, academic chess, art, Mandarin class, piano & violin lessons, tutoring, after-school study hall, and Play-well TEKnology Lego construction, to name a few. We also offer child care after school for parents' convenience. We have high academic standards and meet both state and national standards. Smaller class sizes allow for more personal one-on-one interaction between teacher and students, which is ESSENTIAL if each student's needs are to be met. Our teachers care very much about our students. We lead students to become honest, moral, participating citizens of our country. Because we are a Christian school, the students learn about God's salvation for us in Jesus Christ. Our students grow up with values and morals. We also strongly care for our environment. We have an excellent recycling and composting program, and our students are wonderful role models for others in our community. I strongly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2010

Zion is a school that challenges the student in a competitive San Francisco environment while remaining a family friendly for all to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Zion is a school that truly cares about the students succeeding in life. The staff is excellent at what they do....working with the children along with their parents.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 61%
White 16%
Two or more races 15%
Black 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Lutheran Elementary Schools Tournament (2013)
  • National History Day national finalist (2013)
  • Math Counts Competition (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Donna Laughlin
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground

Afternoon Extended Care (after school program)

About the program
  • We offer homework time, recess, and quiet recreational activities for grades K-8 after school every day.
Types of activities
  • Academic
Operated by
  • Mrs. Hannah Fox
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 3:00 pm
End time
  • 6:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • Yes
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Website
Phone number
  • 415-221-7500

Zion Summer Enrichment (summer program)

About the program
  • Zion’s Summer Enrichment Program includes Morning Academics and Afternoon Enrichment. All classes are taught by qualified, experienced teachers. Morning and afternoon extended care are also available.
Types of activities
  • Academic
  • Arts
  • Language
  • Science nature
Operated by
  • Mrs. Donna Laughlin
Dates offered
  • June 9, 2014 - July 18, 2014
Days offered
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
Start time
  • 8:30 am
End time
  • 3:00 pm
Is enrollment limited to students who attend the school?
  • No
What grades can participate?
  • K-8
Is there a fee for the program?
  • Yes
Is financial aid available?
  • No
How can parents find out more about fees?
  • Call
  • Visit website
Before / after care
  • After
  • Before
Website
Phone number
  • 415-221-7500
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Schedule a tour to see the school and learn how to apply! Call Admissions Director Debbie Chong at 415-221-7500 x205.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
20
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
40
Students typically come from these schools
Starlight Christian Preschool
Ark of Hope Preschool

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lowell High School
Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory
Saint Ignatius
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

495 9th Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94118
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 221-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Star of the Sea School
San Francisco, CA


The Laurel School
San Francisco, CA



Lisa Kampner Hebrew Academy
San Francisco, CA



Sutro Elementary School
San Francisco, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT