Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

2 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Challenger - Strawberry Park 3

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
Good School who are focussed on academics. Some of the teachers are good and not all of them but good for beginners. The school emphasis on discipline, cleanliness and good manners which is fine but less time for extra curricular activities.

Challenger - Strawberry Park 5

Posted June 07, 2014
- a community member
You may think that this school is tough, but think of all the great things your child will be able to learn and do after all the experience of reports and tests. Also, your child will have better concentration. I know, for I am a student there. The school also has great teacher, and the headmaster, Mr. Schiffner, is excellent. I am positive that your child would be able to be as happy as I am at this very safe and fun school!
1 person found this helpful


Challenger - Strawberry Park 1

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
A very demanding school with unrealistic expectations. I liked their pre-K and K programs. However, I've been very disappointed with their 1st grade. They have about 6 - 7 tests every week. With a teacher to student ratio of 1:26 or 1:28 (corporate policy), they can hardly expect the kids to get much attention from the teacher. So, a parent has to spend 1.5 - 2 hours per day after school to prepare the kids. Science and Geography requirements for a first grader are ridiculous. Sample questions from tests conducted in the first month of school: Geography- What is a popular industry in California? Answer - Computer Services. Your first grader needs to write this out and explain why this is a popular industry. Science: What is weathering? What is erosion ? How can you prevent erosion ? These are not multiple choice questions; Your 6-yr old to write out 3-4 line answers. Unless you are a parent who wants to dedicate 10 hours a week of after school tutoring, I wouldn't recommend this school. The fun part of education is lost... testing is rigorous and a parent has to sign off on academic progress reports if the child scores below 75%. I don't think any 6-year old deserves this.

Challenger - Strawberry Park 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school! The curriculum is demanding and well balanced. The Kindergarden program builds a strong base for reading, math and science skills. The teachers are passionate about teaching so that kids actually learn and understanding the concepts they are studying. The higher grades are great as well. This school requires plenty of homework and additional special assignment. The program is accelerated, so this is a great school for children, who are highly motivated and looking for getting challenged learn. The School also puts effort on arts and music teaching as well as promotes creative writing. We have new principles and they are highly professional as well as friendly.
1 person found this helpful

Challenger - Strawberry Park 5

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has now been attending challenger since Pre-School. She has been at this campus for one year and we are going back next year, I love the staff, the teachers and the school we have seen nothing but great results, Yes there is homework and lots of test but she is in First Grade and loving it, She actually wants to go back next year. I think you should talk to parents at the school to see what they say!
1 person found this helpful


Challenger - Strawberry Park 1

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Very rigid management techniques with the belief that the school is always right. The teachers and management do not follow the very principles of honesty and integrity they are trying to teach the students. Baring the few dedicated teachers most are dictators and use intimidation techniques to control the classroom and the management backs them up. The school seems to have the policy of overloading the students with homework, tests(average of 6 per week) and book reports(2 per month) with no emphasis on the all round development of the child. Highest rate of students leaving mid way because they did not make the 75% for their so called academic standard. Definitely not a school if you want you child to be a well rounded and successful adult!

Challenger - Strawberry Park 1

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
Horrible Headmaster - Julie Blackwell In the very same handout that bears her name, it asks parents "Please be patient the first week of school as parents new to Challenger learn the routine". Yet, on the third day of a new school year, she is heard outside at the drop-off area, yelling at and demanding pre-K parents that only drive-through is allowed. She is simply being unreasonable about parents' unknowing mistake of wanting to walk their kids to class and maybe have a quick chat with the teachers to make sure everything is OK. Did I indicate that these are pre-K parents who are sending their kids off the very first time? She may be successful, but so is DSK (Dominique Strauss-Kahn) - head of IMF. Challenger may be strong academically, however, it fails to teach kids moral value and common decency. As an educator and example to the kids, her behavior is shameful.

Challenger - Strawberry Park 1

Posted January 25, 2011
- a parent
Please don't send your kid here. This is a terrible school for preschoolers. They have strict schedule for teachers to follow. It is more like an army-camp than a school. Creativity is not appreciated here.


Challenger - Strawberry Park 1

Posted November 20, 2010
- a parent
Terrible preschool teachers. They don't care about the childs needs. Can't understand how preschoolers think. They've got a f**ng schedule to follow and thats all that matters. Dealing with preschoolers requires a level of maturity which they don't even recognize.

Challenger - Strawberry Park 1

Posted September 02, 2010
- a parent
If all you care is about academic, then this is the school for you. I sent my daughter to this school and one day i got a phone call from school to pick her up because she was not learning in the class. This really confuses me... I was not sure why i am paying expensive tuition to the school and i have to worry about she is not learning. This is suppose to be teachers' job to encourage and stimulate the kids' learning at school!. The reason i got was that her slower study will affect progress of other kids. This really shock me how this school is ran. I raised this issue to the school master and got ignored. I withdraw her from this school at the same day and register at local public school where she is happier and learning more than ever. This is a terrible.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Challenger - Strawberry Park
730 Camina Escuela, San Jose, CA  95129
(408) 213-0083
Last modified Challenger - Strawberry Park is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Challenger - Strawberry Park Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top