Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rocketship Mateo Sheedy Elementary School

Charter | K-5 | 451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2013

The best experience ever, my girl had speech delay and they want to put her in a special class in public school, I refuse, now she is the student of the month in Mateo Sheedy. I understand many parents wants the kids to be enjoying be at sports have fun, but many at the end are left behind on there education. Mateo Sheedy is hard, but the kids develop so great, and I now my girl in the regular school would not have a chance. The teacher come from Teacher of america association, only the best are there, the came from Stanford, or other great universities, is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

I have to disagree on the negative things that have been said about this school. This is my daughter's first year at Rocketship Mateo Sheedy in Kindergarten. I can't rave enough about how dedicated the teachers are here. It shows that they really care about the kids. The teachers are very available before & after class, via text or cell. The teachers also do homevisits prior to the beginning of the school year to get to know the child and to hear any parent concerns. The school is very strict and gives a lot of homework, but this is to benefit our children. This school does focus on API scores a lot only because they need to constantly be proving themselves to keep the (little funding they receive) funding going. This school is only for parent's who are willing to do put up with all the homework that is given and for parent's who are willing to participate. Great job Rocketship Rocketeers on your API score of 940!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

My daughter has been attending Rocketship for 3 years. The first year there were so many things that concerned me but I figured the school was new and they had things to work out. The 2nd year things got a little better and our daughter seemed happy so we let her finish out the year. Her 3rd year which is the year we decided to start looking for a different school made us realize that this is not a school that encourages learning and creative thinking. Rocketship focuses on test scores and test scores only. Literacy and math. All other subjects seem to be irrelevant. Every year the each class puts on a performance either Science or History related but I've yet to see homework packets other than Math or Literacy. We feel that if we pull our child out of Rocketship and place her in a regular public school she will be advanced in Math and Literacy but in all other subjects she would be behind which is really concerning. As far as the staff.....inexperienced. When you meet with the teachers they all seem overwhelmed and very young. My daughter has 2 teachers per day. That's 6 teachers in 3 years and not a single one had more than a couple years of teaching experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

I also felt mixed emotions after enrolling my child here. I reach out to this school looking for high academic achievement, but the whole dynamics of the school put me off. The rules for bathroom use and lunch time are a bit extreme. The school is too small with no green areas at all. My son did not fit here. It just did not feel like a school, but more like a drilling camp. I moved my son to our home school and we continue to have a heavy work load of extra homeschooling in order to keep him challenged. He is seven y/o in 1st grade, yet his reading and math skills are at a 3rd and 5th grade respectably. If you are considering this school you must visit during the normal school hours specially lunch, recess and pick up time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2011

We are in our 2nd year here at Rocketship Mateo Sheedy. I love it and it was the best decision we made for our child. It indeed has a very innovative approach to the learning and development of our children. They have a Math teacher, Language Arts teacher and Learning Lab staff who are all dedicated and are outstanding! The teachers are credentialed or have an emergency credential to teach, despite what has been said. The school has a WASC (Western Association of Schools and Colleges) Accreditation which means that an investigation has been done by an outside team of Educators and our test scores are true. The school is doing exactly what it says it is. They also know where their weaknesses are and are continually working to improve them. You will find that the teachers are more dedicated than at regular public schools. They are available to us 24/7. I have always been able to communicate with the teachers and administration and always leave knowing the issues have been resolved. If you want the best education for your child I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

This is my third year as a Rocketship parent. Rocketship has created an innovate approach to learning; different than the traditional school model. I was very excited about the individualized & dynamic learning provided to each of its students. All the Rocketship teachers my son has had are AMAZING and COMMITTED to their student's success; being available by email, cell phone and before/after school. They conduct home visits then meet with parents quarterly to advise them of their child s progress. New teachers bring an energetic enthusiasm to teaching kids. While some may still be gaining experience in teaching, they receive support and structure from Rocketship that creates an successful blend. Any time I have had an issue or concern, I feel comfortable to discuss it with the teachers and administration. They take the time to address and work through the issue to make sure it s explained and/or resolved. Sure, there are "growing pains", as to be expected when implementing a new way of doing things but nothing significant that would overshadow the many great successes that Rocketship has accomplished in the five years since they have been in existence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

-I apologized for any orthographic errors since English is not my first Language- I just came back from my second orientation meeting from this school. I am very disappointed. The school has so many penalizations in regards to almost everything. For example; I just found out that if my child goes to the restroom and he returns without his shirt tuck in he will be penalized for it by changing the behavior chart to a red color meaning that he will be losing recess time. Also, if the kids are not at school by 7:55am they will be wearing a lanyard string with a color that shows that they were late. Yes, granted they will also received one that also shows that they were on time. However, I just whish I knew all this before I enroll my child. I totally believe in respect, integrity, discipline, however, to me all this is over the top for a 5 year old child. He starts school next week, and instead of feeling that my son will be safe I feel anxious as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

Something is very suspicious about the reviews on this page. I believe the school posted those reviews to bring in business. I have some experience with this school, and it isn't what the reviews below are saying. Most of the teachers have no experience. Many are vague about their teaching credentials. I have my doubts about the scores this school gets. I believe that particular students don't take the test, and that some students are asked to leave before testing. The quality of instruction just isn't very good in my opinion. I believe this school is a farce and that tax payers and parents are being hoodwinked. That is my belief.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

I have been very impressed with the academic education my kindergarten has received. He is much further than what we had expected and he is already a grade level ahead of the goals set for kindergarteners. The teachers go above and beyond and are very passionate in teaching their students. My older HS/College age children attended private schools and I can say that I have been impressed with the academic achievements my son has attained and Rocketship LS is very comparable to the academic success you would get at a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

The teachers are passionate about closing the literacy gap and I feel the love my daughter's teachers pass to her which will only enrich her growth academically. At this point my daughter knows all her sounds & letters, and is learning to use the sounds of letters to write. I have seen other kinders do a lot less that are non-Rocketeers. Thank you Rocketship for an awesome journey into my daughter's education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I believe in their core values: Respect, Responsibility, Persistence, Empathy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

This school is extraordinary! Once you walking in the door, everyone is very welcoming and it feels like home. The teachers, prinicpal, parents, and students work together to strive for excellence! It is great to see a school that is focus on college since they are in kindergarten. I am confident that my children will be sucessful in life because of the help and support this school has given the students from the downtown community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

**** FOUR STARS...& COUNTING We are a Rocketship family with two children in attendance. It is nice to be a part of a community, teachers and staff that care as much about our childrens education as we do. The core values, goals and expectations are preparing our children for great things....Attending Rocketship has helped my children realize everything is possible and that the sky is the limit..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

Our two kids Richard and Izta have been at Rocketship for two years, and their English has greatly improved, they are doing well in Math also. Mr smith is a soldier and a great leader, rain or shine he's always on top of things. His dedication is second to none and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

This is my son first year in Rocketship. He is in fourth grade. I'm just so happy to see that he is now doing his homework by himself and showing much responsible in his work. When I came by to pickup my son from school, I've seen so much teamwork in the classroom. Classmates were very friendly and well respect. His teachers work long hour and are always available after school for assistance. Do expect lots of homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

This school has been the best for my grandkids. The kids are actually learning alot and it doesn't stop with just the lesson plans but it also gives the students resposibility, respect, and self esteem that they can suceed no matter what they are. I take pride and proud to be a grandparent of Rocketeers kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

This is my child's Tamia Devereaux second year at Rocketship and we love the staff and students. Mr. Smith is a very supportive principle to all students. There should be more like him. I wish they had sixth grade so my older child could attend. This is the best public school that I have came across in San Jose.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

My nephews and niece go to rocketship here in San Jose Ca. Before they started going here they were really behind in their studies and really didn't know anything. The boys started first grade her and learned so much in only a month it was amazing. My sister will be attending this year and we know there will be great success for her here instead of the schools in our neighborhood. Rocketship teachers cacre about the kids, they take the time to contact parents when something is wrong or just to tell them about the improvement the child has made. They have great activities for the kids to do as a school, like having the parents paint a mural at the school building with the kids handprints. they require parent participation and go on field trips on weekends so the whole family can participate. It is a great school!


Posted April 18, 2008

This school has really been a positive impact for my son. He is proud to be a Rocketship Rocketer
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

851

Change from
2012 to 2013

-73

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

851

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-73

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females63%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females79%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females41%
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)27%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females77%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner72%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate84%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females61%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate61%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females84%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner88%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females78%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females89%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate81%
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students57%
Females48%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 51%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian 2% 11%
Black 1% 7%
White 1% 27%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:20 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Maricela Guerrero
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (408) 286-3331

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Washington Elementary School
Lowell Elementary School
Gardner Elementary School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
KIPP Heartwood Academy
Renaissance Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

788 Locust Street
San Jose, CA 95110
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 286-3330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





River Glen School
San Jose, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT