Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yerba Buena High School 5

Posted January 15, 2013
- a student
Amazing school spirit, dedicated, passionate teachers and staff, friendly and kind students who do not discriminate in any way. Protective and safe environment with at least two police officers and many members of the staff walking around, chill enough to start a conversation but attentive enough to keep you safe. If you are planning to attend this school, ignore its old reputation and enter it with a fresh state of mind. Participate as much as you can and gorge yourself in school activities such as dances (always fun with or without a date), Spirit Week/F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.S., sports, and clubs! It may seem somewhat intimidating, but exploring what's outside of your comfort zone will lead you an unforgettable high school experience. In that sense, you will get the most out of what the school has to offer. Most individuals who rate this school lower than it should be usually have an outside bias due to the past reputation (it has completely changed now, no gangs/fights at all), and are generally inactive in many of the activities offered. Simply incorporate yourself to the school, and your high school experience will be worthwhile. - J.S.

Yerba Buena High School 3

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
Let me see...all's I can say is, if the area you live in says go here, then go here. Then you might even be able to walk and not have to deal with a really, really, really far away commute or bus ride or walk on the stinking Expressway, because it has only partial sidewalks on it, which stop often. If you go under the Expressway, it's creepy. And, if you walk down Tully Road past the library you'll get at least 3 people hitting you up for money either on Tully Road or Senter Road in order to get to Andrew Hill. Hey, homeless, leave my kid alone! Avoid the homeless and go to YB.


Yerba Buena High School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a student
I don't care what other people think about this school, it is honestly a pretty good school. Sure it may LOOK bad, but you wont know unless you truly go there. I am so tired of people saying that it is a terrible school. The teachers push the students to try their hardest! They ASB club is raising everyone's spirit during the spirit events. This is school also has spirit weeks, and F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C.S(which is a one night event with the four classes competing against each other) . So please give this school a chance, it's not as bad as you think.

Yerba Buena High School 5

Posted February 21, 2012
- a student
This school has a bad reputation of violence before i attend it. At first, I had trouble being a freshman because i was afraid i might get hurt in all the fight. But as year went pass, the violence died down and i was beginning to love the school, teachers, and all the great friends I met. I slowly begin to realized my personality and attitude changing because of the life lesson i was taught by the teachers. I love this school.

Yerba Buena High School 1

Posted April 27, 2010
- a student
This school is alright, some great teachers, some bad teachers (math). Some of the staffs are great, but some of them are to strict..literally to strict. Cops usually hang around the campus doing nothing..and thats pretty much it, wouldn't recommend parents transferring their sons/daughters here if they care for there future.
2 people found this helpful


Yerba Buena High School 1

Posted November 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Yerba Buena High School 5

Posted October 19, 2009
- a student
My friends may not like it, but I loves this school. It IS a great school and I love being there. I have many great teachers who taught me a lot of things, including pieces of lessons in life.

Yerba Buena High School 1

Posted September 15, 2009
- a community member
Personally, I dislike the students and their behaviors.They haven't been respecting authority and staff members.On the other hand, some students are achieving their goals.Plus, there are extra activities after and before school.


Yerba Buena High School 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
Great school! All the teachers are great! A bit dirty, but the education there is okay, but still a good school to go to.

Yerba Buena High School 4

Posted June 30, 2009
- a community member
The school is only good when you study and have caring parents.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yerba Buena High School
1855 Lucretia Avenue, San Jose, CA  95122
(408) 347-4700
Last modified Yerba Buena High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yerba Buena High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top