Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
San Jose, CA
Students enrolled: 482
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miner (George) Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
So pleased with this school. Warm responsive teachers, administration, and staff. Wonderful improvements in extra programs and innovative teaching methods. My children are loving school again and scoring higher than ever.

Miner (George) Elementary School 4

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are awesome at this school. They care and keep you informed. The Principal & office staff show real care and concern for the students needs. The Parent Involvement really needs some work. The Home and School Club does the best they can, but would prosper and be a lot more successful if more parents made the effort of donating their time, talents, and resources. As a parents myself who did not feel she had anything to offer, there are many things that you can do to help. I challenge parents to step out of their comfort zone, and help this school go from a great to a awesome.


Miner (George) Elementary School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
Man I can't tell you how good this school is my son is going to be in sixth grade this year and he is doing fantastic! He has gotten straight A's 5 times in a row. Also he participates in the program G.A.T.E he has dissected an eye and a heart!!

Miner (George) Elementary School 3

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
my 6 yr old daughter in grade 1 is fantastic doing--basically since she herself by hard work is very advanced in reading math writing --just that her teacher is quite encouraging to her--so she quite likes school.

Miner (George) Elementary School 1

Posted April 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Miner (George) Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Miner (George) Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Miner (George) Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2008
- a community member
As a prior substitute teacher at this school, I am both saddened and appalled at the atmosphere and the administrative staff at Miner. The lesson plans were unstimulating and filled with worksheets. The administrative staff was unresponsive to requests for help and the office staff was often rude. The students were bright, but clearly lacked a positive environment which showed in how they treated the staff and each other. My son was supposed to attend this school and I am so glad I headed the advice to get him into another school.


Miner (George) Elementary School 3

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Miner (George) Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
I would say overall the school is okay... Not really nothing to write home about. I've seen better schools and a principal who is available to speak with you when need to be. The staff is not that helpful at times, however, I notice the school lacks the ability to take charge when it comes to disciplining the students. They 'push back' to the parents whenever they can't resolve a problem. Children act out... young children like to test the water and up to you to prove to them you are not a push over. The miner staff does not know how to do that. So they like to tell you your child has problems as way for not dealing with whatever problems they are having at school or just overall in the classroom. There is a lot of 'blame' game going on.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miner (George) Elementary School
5629 Lean Avenue, San Jose, CA  95123
(408) 225-2144
Last modified Miner (George) Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miner (George) Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top