Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Good school, nice and loving teachers, my kids love to go to Noddin. We just moved here a few months ago, they could not speak a word in English but they get along very well since than and both receive great language and learning support from the school.

Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
So far so good. My kids have just started at Noddin - the thing I am most blown away by has been the community bonding. It seems the school has made a big effort to listen to the parents. I'm keeping my fingers crossed, but so far so good!


Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Amazing teachers and principal! My family moved away 2 years ago, and we miss it very much.

Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
Excellent public school all round, probably one of the best around. Even though my son has left Noddin, Noddin has been and will always be his #1 school. That says a lot, doesn't it?

Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2012
- a parent
Very strong overall. Very high API scores and yet an extremely diverse school population, with all income levels and a more or less even balance of US and Asian and Mexican, Persian and European immigrant families. Some of the principal's detractors here don't recognize that to get such results in this kind of social milieu, a school principal has to be strong and at times single-minded, without accommodating every parent's wishes. There are things we'd like to see more of, but we're realistic about the state of California public school budgets and about the limits of what's possible with such a wildly diverse school population, but it's preferable to a homogenous, upper middle-class bubble environment. Our kids will be well-prepared for any social environment they encounter, and their basic educational skills are rock-solid. Kudos to Noddin's leadership and teachers.


Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2011
- a parent
Noddin is an excellent school. My son has been attending this school since the 2nd grade. The teachers and the principal are very dedicated to bring out the best in the students. I would highly recommend this school to any prospective parents.

Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2011
- a parent
Noddin is very good elementary school and has been exceeding expectations year over year. I am simply amazed to see the kind of parents involvement, school has. It is like small community supported by dedicated teachers and parents. Principal is really great at her work and continues to raise bar and challenge. She is very convincing and know what's best for kids, which is her highest priority. It is her leadership and something new she initiated 2 years back, which has paid of as steep jump (38 points) in API which is unheard of, for a school which is already in 900 range.

Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Noddin is an outstanding school. The principal has very high standards, and is constantly challenging the teachers and students to do their very best. What I admire about the principal is that she is so passionate about the students , and wants them to have not only the very best education possible, but life experiences as well. I have read some of the criticisms of the principal, which I totally disagree with. I find her compassionate, approachable and a person who is never satisfied with things the way they are. She encourages students, teachers and parents to think "outside the box". Noddin has achieved very high test scores well over 900 consistently for the past few years. This year they scored 941!


Noddin Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a community member
I have known the Principal since 1979 when she was an elementary school teacher in Salinas. What amazed me was how the students loved her and were so excited to learn. I have never known another teacher who could motivate the students so well. Judging by other reviews saying how excited the Noddin children are to learn, the principal has bought that passion with her and instilled it throughout the school.

Noddin Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2010
- a parent
Noddin is an excellent elementary school. What makes it so are the teachers, who are all very dedicated and capable. I have had three children who have gone there, and they all have enjoyed all of thier teachers. The only drawback is the tyrant of a principal they currently have. She treats parents with little to no respect and is frequently very offensive. If you can steer clear of her, though, the shool is outstanding.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Noddin Elementary School
1755 Gilda Way, San Jose, CA  95124-6207
(408) 356-2126
Last modified Noddin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Noddin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top