Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Harker School, The

Private | K-12 | 1853 students

A K-12 college prep school, we help students discover their passions.

 
 

Living in San Jose

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $794,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

88 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2008

I've been Harker for about eight years now, and I could not feel more comfortable with the setting. We're used to the overload of homework. The students have way too much control though, and I honestly think some abuse it. Yeah, it's expensive, but we have a lot of aspects to explore. Some teachers are amazing while other lack skill. Harker teaches so much more than English or Math or Science. The vast expanse of opportunities makes Harker what it is, regardless of its strive for more money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2008

Despite all the reviews about Harker's outstanding academics, it is truly a place that lacks the integration of crucial critical thinking skills. The work that the teachers assign takes almost no thinking and the teachers also do not have high standards for their students. Also, many teachers are too close to their students. Students believe they are the smartest people but it's not true at all; it is a fake illusion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2008

I have to agree. Harker is all about money and although their academics are standard it is highly over-rated. If you want a strong academic school try challenger. However, challenger does not offer all of the extra activities offered at Harker but then their tuition isn't as high either. With the tuition Harker charges of course they can offer all of the extras. Challenger's academics are way above Harkers but be aware it is very challenging and not for your average student. However, if your child is very bright challenger will serve your needs at
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

'More flexibility with class choices?' Are you kidding? Harker has many scheduling problems and way too often are seniors unable to take certain classes simply because not every class is offered every period. Just because Harker offers so many AP's doesn't mean that each AP can be taken by however many students. Hardly, this is the case.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2008

With the number of teachers without credentials or professional experience, my child did not receive a better education than public school. Harker equates heaps of homework as good teaching. Since most kids must be far above average to get in and be conformist, it's the kids who make the place look good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I'm a lifer at Harker, and admit that Harker does have it's faults, but it's just a great school. I've compared Harker's courses to those of other private and public high schools in the area. Nothing comes close to what Harker offers. More flexibility with class choices, more teachers who really care and are dedicated, more APs that students can take, and more languages. I'm really into that because I've learned to love Japanese, and most other schools don't offer it.Same with latin. Too bad it's a little too expensive. Harker kids are just so kind, caring, and understanding. We do know how to have a good time and are just not 'stereotypically' nerdy. We may be sheltered, but Harker is a great environment to foster life lasting relationships. Harker gives me a structured environment that I can trust. I love it and will miss it when I graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2008

my kids have attended harker upper school and my daughter is now a senior the performing arts dept is amazing the sports program is excellent it is an amazing school the other students in the school are superb I'm so happy I have the chance and opportunity for my children to attend the harker upper school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

some teachers are good and others aren't. i was given a lot of opportunities in my time there, but not enough to make up for the poor teachers, or the promises they fail to keep like the myth that it is easy to move between levels.


Posted January 19, 2008

Harker is a very warm, friendly and top-notch college prep school in the heart of Silicon Valley. Hosting a superb faculty with a highly motivated student population, it scores at the top every year among high schools all over the US. Very impressive guidance counselors, school sports and spirit. Worth every penny of you value your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

At this school everyone is alike. There is not a variety of students. It is very expensive for such little education. It costs $85 a day
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

I cannot say enough good things about this school. Our daughter has attended four different very highly regarded private schools in as many states, and Harker stands well above them all. Most importantly, the teachers (at least at the high school level) are superb. Of the dozen or so teachers she's had so far, all have been at least very good and 8 or 9 have been truly exceptional. These teachers are dedicated and excited about their subjects They also demand excellence of their students, and, from what we can see, the students mostly deliver. Without question, the student body at Harker is both talented and highly motivated. Students are at school to learn, and Harker accommodates them, offering an incredible depth and breadth of coursework, particularly in math and the sciences. But language arts, the social sciences, and fine arts are well represented, too. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

The Harker is a wonderful school! I'm loving it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2007

Academic programs are overrated. The tuition is very expensive at 25,000 dollars not including food and other expenses. Extracurricular is only available for the extremely skilled performers. Parent involvement is limited to volunteer work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2006

Harker has a strong academics program and there is intense pressure to excel. There are many sports opportunities, but sports-focused students tend to go elsewhere. The arts program is very good: theater, dance, and music. The faculty is responsive to student's needs but students need to be self-motivated. Despite high tuition, donation pressures are constant. A protected and somwhat insular environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Reading so many glowing comments, this doesn't seem like the same place that my child found so depressing. Not an open place. Very concerned about outward appearances. It seemed Harker wanted parents' money, but not input or involvement in the classroom. On the upside, Harker offers tremendous fine art and extracurricular programs. There are lots of good things going on, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

This is the best school in pretty much all of Northern California. There is a very small student body with hands on teaching. The best private school in all of Norther California.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2006

Very clean campus with teachers who are dedeicated towards teaching. The coaches are also very focused on improving the skills of their kin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2006

This school is perhaps the best school I can think of in according to its academics and sports programs. If you want your child to be a college bound, I highly suggest this school. My child used to be one who used to get into fights all the time and would get GPA's less than 1.0. After enrolling him here, his GPA rose up to a 3.5 and is still going up towards a 4.0
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

This is a very good school except for the fees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Academics are top-notch at this college prep school. Classes rarely have more than a dozen students, the breadth of courses offered is staggering, and teachers across the board are excellent. However, the courseload is often very heavy, and the school is very expensive, even for a private school. For extracurricular activities, it has excellent performing arts and debate programs. There are also many service organizations, robotics, and sports. The college counseling here is also very strong, each student is given individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 69% 11%
White 25% 26%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • English Language Institute in the summer
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, Japanese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christopher Nikoloff
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (408) 984-2325

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • English Language Institute in the summer
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track and Field
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football, Track and Field
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Business and Entrepreneurship
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Foreign language club: Chinese, Japanese
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Gardening
  • Gay Straight Alliance
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Host social gatherings
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Check out our summer programs including Camp+ for K-6, Summer Institute for 6-12, and English Language Institute for ages 6-16 at http://www.harker.org/page.cfm?p=167
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Saratoga Avenue
San Jose, CA 95129
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 249-2510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Happy Days CDC
Santa Clara, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT