Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 210 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Lorenzo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $270,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,430.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2014

My son started at this school in Jr. High and the students and staff made him feel as if he's been part of their family since Pre-K. I can't say enough about how great St John Catholic School has been for my child. The Principal knows the students and spends time in the classes. Even the parent community is welcoming. My only regret is not sending him to St. John sooner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2014

I sent my son here in the 2013-2014 school year and was very pleased with his teacher and the staff at this school. He grew so much and asks the family to pray before every meal now. He absolutely loves his PE teacher and has made some very good friends. The teachers here really care about the students and I know they want what's best for the students. The school does have a new principal, but she is doing wonderful things for the school I love that she asks input from all of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2014

I took my kid out of this school. It's not the greatest school it once was. They have changed principals and since then over 10 teachers have left. The school is falling apart and it's sad that the diocese is not paying attention to the warning signs. Save yourself the money and send your child somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

Great school, wonderful principal, with great teachers who take the time to get to know each and every child as an individual and create lesson plans which challenge the children academically. They help the children grow to thier full potential and beyond. It is a private school and the school puts together events and fundraisers so that any child can have the opportunity to attend regardless of families income. Events and fundraisers do not interfere with the childrens education nor class time. The events are also an opportunity for school unity and parent involvment. This is not only a school but also a community, an extended family. If you are interested in a school where your child can recieve a great education and are interested in being involved, hands on, with your childs school than this is a great option for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

Wonderful teachers & responsive administration. Great school community. Awesome music/play program. Great sports/cheer program. Yes as a private school, there is a lot of fund raising -- but it does NOT get in the way of the kids' education and all private schools do it. In fact all of the major fund raising events bring the community together such as the festival. It's peace of mind to have my kids attend St. John where there is a 80% parent participation rate and caring teachers & administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

I am so disappointed with this school because instead of focusing on education they are concentrating more on raising money for the school all year long. Also, they have so many short days and no school days and I wonder if these kids are getting the appropriate and complete education that they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

I personally feel that the teacher should use a more innovative method of teaching the kids that would be more enjoyable and to interact with all the kids more on a personal one on one level to get better understand their peronality and learning method.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

We chose St. John for the academic excellence as well as the spiritual/religious guidance they offer to students. We like that they strongly promote family and activity as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2004

We selected St. John School for our daughter because we believe it will give her a strong educational experience in a Catholic school environment. So far, it's met our expectations. We find that she's challenged academically, encouraged to reach higher goals, rewarded for her successes, and is growing in her Catholic faith. We feel secure knowing she's in a safe, caring, and stimulating environment during her school day. We hear on a daily basis how much she loves school! When there are issues, the staff works with us, not against us. But, as in all schools, there's room for improvement. I wish more parents were involved beyond the required service hours. Also, I'd like to see more co-curricular activities for students to learn beyond their classroom lessons. The school needs to pursue these opportunities more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 38% 52%
White 20% 26%
Black 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Emily Murphy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Oakland
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

270 East Lewelling Boulevard
San Lorenzo, CA 94580
Phone: (510) 276-6632

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT