Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southwestern Academy

Private | 6-12 | 133 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in San Marino

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,375,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 19, 2012

This is such an amazing school! I started this fall and am an international student. The school is just fantastic. The teachers are really caring, well prepared and the dorm parents made me feel like a part of the group from the beginning. We have activities on the weekend that really are the best. I can't tell you how many friends I have made and the campus is really cool! I am very very happy to be at Southwestern and have emailed my friends back home so often about my excellent experiences. Southwestern is the BEST!!


Posted September 12, 2012

I am currently a student at this school. I would like to inform all parents to send their kids to another boarding school if possible. About half of the staff are unqualified and their is a huge problem with favoritism among the teachers towards students. The facilities that the students will use daily do not feel as if they match the tuition. Anything and everything your kid will get from Southwestern is bought through an account you make for him/her so nothing is given complimentary. The dorms your kids will be living are small and tight. There are insects everywhere(mainly roaches). There's also lots of things your kid will be forced to do. If your child doesn't like to dance for example, if the school holds a dance, it is mandatory for your child to attend whether he or she wants to or not. There is never an option.


Posted December 3, 2010

This is a very good school. The faculty are devoted and caring. The small class sizes allow students to receive the attention and help they need.


Posted April 12, 2010

I have never seen a worse run school. After reading their website and receiving information regarding the school, I was looking forward to having my child receive the personalized attention he needed. Little did I know that with the small classes came unqualified teachers, angry staff members, and a headmaster who is never there! Really, can you teach a class and STILL not show up? This place was supposed to be a good experience, but lazy students combined with lazy staff made it terrible. Don't be fooled by the happy image it may exude. I was and it was a terrible mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

This is a good school. Not for everyone. I wanted my son to have the individual attention small classes can provide. The fact that the students come form all over the world is just a plus. The staff is firm but caring, just what I want to see when my son is so far away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

This school is terrible. Our experience was the exact opposite of its mission statement. It felt very punitive, negative, harsh, uncaring and seemed to be oriented for the convenience of the staff rather than the achievement of the students oriented. For this much tuition! it was a very bad experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

So far I am extremely pleased with my son's happiness at Southwestern Academy. He loves to wear nice clothes to school and has had a lot of help with his classes during study hall. At the high school he was going to attend they were going to put him in remedial courses, but at Southwestern after testing, they put him in regular classes and also physics for ninth grade. As a parent paying tuition I am very happy that my son is happy and succeeding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This is the worst private school I've ever been to. The staff is not friendly nor helpful at all. The campus is extremely small. I will not send my daughter to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

This is a wonderful school in San Marino ...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 14% 26%
Two or more races 13% 3%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Black 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Kenneth Veronda
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 Monterey Road
San Marino, CA 91108
Phone: (626) 799-5010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Therese School
Alhambra, CA


Blair High School
Pasadena, CA


South Pasadena Middle School
South Pasadena, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT