Advertisement
Advertisement

Stanbridge Academy

Private | 107 students

We are best known for programs for LD students.

 
 

Living in San Mateo

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $399,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2013

Stanbridge is a wonderful school. For me having a small school is a blessing because you have smaller classes and the teachers give you more one on one help. Another thing that I love about Stanbridge is that the teachers really understand how you learn and the way you learn and how to teach you in a way that you understand. Also they give accommodations that you might need in a class such as a calculator for math or a computer in English or extended time on tests or quizzes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2012

My son arrived at age 9 and attended Stanbridge for two years, his 4th and 5th grades. He then requested to go to public school where he acclimated and utilized all of the skills he'd been taught so well. I highly recommend the Stanbridge family and its wonderful leadership. My son is a living example of their success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

High School at Stanbridge Academy has been transformative for our daughter, who is intelligent and creative, but struggles with significant processing and socialization difficulties as the result of a brain tumor. For years it was impossible for her to keep up in school and friendships eluded her we spent an incredible amount of energy attempting to teach educators how to teach our daughter, a tough task because she struggles in a number of areas. Stanbridge really excels at teaching students who have a range of processing and social issues. The teachers and staff truly understand the impact of these kid s disabilities and Stanbridge s academic and social pragmatics programs reflect the teacher s training and commitment. Our senior has had a true, but safe and supported high school experience, including academics, participation in student government, dances and proms, and making friends. In our experience Stanbridge supports students to be all that they can be and then they tailor the program for the student as needed. Our daughter now has high school friends, is extremely proud to be earning straight A s, and is learning about transition to life after high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

A very positive experience. The earlier negative reviews on this site do not reflect our experience with Stanbridge. The school caters to a variety of children on the spectrum, but the staff emphasizes positive interaction and works with students to develop social skills. My son has been at Stanbridge for many years and the atmosphere there is far safer and happier than he ever experienced at our public school. The academics have been appropriatley challenging, enough that we are considering colleges after he graduates. That was unthinkable just a few years ago. Everyone from the staff to other parents are supportive and helpful. The happiness and success of my son is a testament to the quality of the school. Thank you Stanbridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

Stanbridge Academy is a wonderful school! My son has progressed in so many ways and his success is due to all the dedicated staff. Stanbridge puts an emphasis on teaching the kids to advocate for themselves. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

As a mental health professional working with students who attend Stanbridge, I can recommend the school quite highly. The students are respected by their teachers and encouraged to work to potential both academically and socially. I have seen several young people blossom there after having very difficult experiences in other schools. Stanbridge afforded them the chance to shine, to make friends, and to excel. The staff there are very collaborative with outside professionals and see themselves as part of the team that supports the student in his or her life.


Posted December 1, 2010

Our son has made incredible progress during his four years at Stanbridge. He is now in high school and his social progress and interest in learning has grown remarkably. The teachers are talented and caring. The staff is responsive and creative in dealing with students who are smart, but have learning differences. He now has friends who accept him and he has learned to be more tolerant and understanding of others. At Stanbridge, the goal isn't a specific STAR test score. The goal is developing the skills in students so they will be successful in the long run. Being at Stanbridge has reduced the unnecessary stress on our son, so that he was able to develop the skills he will need in order to be successful in college and in life. We do not live close to the school, however, I have found it much less stress to drive to a school that does everything right, than trying to make the wrong school do the right thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

My son has just begun his fourth year at Stanbridge. We commute a great distance, and it is worth every minute we are in the car, as well as every penny we spend. It is a great school with an excellent, caring staff. It has changed my son's life, and mine as well. My son has a learning disability and focus issues (but NO behavioral problems) and public school was really beating him down. Now he is happy, enjoys school, and has friends. I can't say enough about what a relief it has been to our family. If you are looking for small class size and a safe learning environment in a traditional school setting for your struggling student, you should check out Stanbridge. Every school isn't right for every child, but the finding the right school for your child can be life changing. And the other parents are great, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

We found Stanbridge unsatisfactory on many levels. First, we were told the school was for children with mild learning disabilities, and found out after enrollment it was full of kids with a range of issues that bordered on extreme in some cases. The school had many inconsistent policies about safety and protocol for conflict resolution. The head of school was often either unavailable or unsympathetic when confronted about issues. The school shed themselves of many of the outdoor and hands-on programs we sent him there for in the first place. The extra experiences were supposed to make up for the bare bottom academics. They did not. After leaving our son had to spend summers just to catch up with the rest of his peers when he transitioned into a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

We sought out Stanbridge for our son who was not doing well at the public school due to social issues. Many of the children my son came across at Stanbridge had much more severe issues than he had and it was a stressful experience for our family and child to attend this school. My son learned little here in terms of academics during the almost two years enrollment which was surprising given the small class sizes.


Posted July 10, 2009

If I could give 10 stars I would. This school is a dimond in the rough. Stanbridge is a breath of fresh air when the public system didn't fit. If you have a child with learning differences, Stanbridge is the place for you. When do you make the switch? I would recommend doing it before you loose your hair. Check out one of the open houses. That is where it changed for my son and me 5 years ago. My son just graduated 12 grade and wants to go to college. This was our goal. We are very proud of him. This goal would not have been reached through the public system. My son recieved more than just an education, he recieved a social network with teachers and students. Self confidence, hands on experience with leadership, community, and just being proud of yourself and what you have done. Stanbridge is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Stanbridge has really changed our life! The public school we were with for the last few years did not offer an appropriate education for children with special needs. Stanbridge has created a fun, safe, learning environment and now my son loves going to school! He s making friends, talking more, doing his own homework and learning team work. It has changed our lives at home and brought joy to our family once again!! Thank you to all the wonderful staff at Stanbridge!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

Stanbridge changed our lives. Public school had been a series of tortuous frustrating experiences. Within the first week of attending Stanbridge, he was voluntarily completing homework and making new friends. He has gone on to excel in school, life and work. All due to what he learned at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

Stanbridge has been an amazing school for my son during the last 3 years. It customizes a curriculum to meet his unique needs. Stanbridge offers fun opportunities for all students to work on the school newspaper, yearbook and to attend school dances. The Stanbridge Parent Association is an involved group that supports the fabulous teachers and staff and is instrumental in bringing together families from all over the Bay Area. I can not say enough wonderful things about this school-It truly is a GreatSchool.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 86%
Asian 9%
Black 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2%
Hispanic 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation College of San Mateo
Foothill College
San Francisco Academy of Art
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marilyn Lynch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
Fax number
  • (650) 375-5861

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents have an active role in school activities through the stanbridge parent association (spa).
More from this school
  • Stanbridge Academy is a K-12 school for children with mild to moderate learning disabilities, located in the San Francisco Bay Area. The school and staff are dedicated to providing students with small, structured classes, individualized and differentiated instruction following California standards based curriculum. Our education program addresses the whole child, with focus on both academic and social growth. Our unique and effective experiential program utilizes off-campus activities to enhance and complement classroom learning and promotes student personal growth. Stanbridge students have been diagnosed with learning differences, such as dyslexia, language processing disabilities, ADD/ADHD, Asperger’s Syndrome, and other academic and social learning challenges.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
College of San Mateo
Foothill College
San Francisco Academy of Art
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

515 E. Poplar Ave.
San Mateo, CA 94401
Website: Click here
Phone: (650) 375-5860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT