Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sun Valley Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
Sun Valley is located in San Rafael and within the San Rafael City Schools. It has approximately 500 students from K-5th grades. Sun Valley has some good teachers but it is really hit or miss. My son had an excellent teacher but my daughter had an OK teacher that wasn't strong in teaching Math or managing the classroom. The parent community is friendly and helpful in the classrooms. The art, music, and PE teachers do an outstanding job. The safety on-campus is an issue. There are 250 or so students at a time playing on a smallish field or on the jungle gym. It seems very chaotic out there for the younger children and there is not enough adult supervision for that many student. The principal has been at the school for a number of years but doesn't seem to know the students well and is a bit unprofessional to parents in the PTA and acts very defensive. It is a good school for being public but I think our children deserve better.

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
wonderful teachers, admins, and parent community. a real neighborhood school. a gem of a school in marin


Sun Valley Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
teachers really care about the students great parental involvement PTL fills the gaps where the state falls short

Sun Valley Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2006
- a parent
Sun Valley has a great small school feel. We loved the multi-age class option. Sometimes I wish that my child was challenged more. The teachers definately have to teach to the general level of the class and can't do much individualization of curriculum. Parents are encouraged to participate at any and all levels. Our kids love the extra stuff (library, PE, art, music, computer lab, science) and the casual sports camp after school. The fundraisers are fun and mild compared to other schools.

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2005
- a parent
Our best school experience to date has been Sun Valley. Parent involvement is extremely high and we loved the welcoming attitude of teachers and staff toward parents. Extracurricular activities were plentiful though some new ideas for 'extras' are overdue. Academically simply tremendous for our child. A great start for any child.


Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
Parents are very involved in the school-volunteers are everywhere! The PTA supports a full 'block' program of music, art and physical education classes for all grades.

Sun Valley Elementary School 4

Posted February 14, 2005
- a parent
Good school. One of the best in the district. Good community. Active parent involvement. Active pta providing funding for pe, art, music, technology and other programs. School modernization completed in 2004, including addition of multi-use building with ajacent music and art rooms. Good multi-age programs available. Good after school programs offered.

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2004
- a parent
Excellent teachers, great facility, involved parent participation. What more could you want?

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sun Valley Elementary School
75 Happy Ln, San Rafael, CA  94901
(415) 485-2440
Last modified Sun Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sun Valley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top