Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Active parents, safe school, and happy students! Egaging teachers and committed and passionate principal. Great leadership and very prideful school in positive and collaborative way.

Sun Valley Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Principal, Julie Harris, supported every single student in school to receive 2 days a week for 8 weeks of Mindfulness Training from professionals in the field. Because of this, my first grader and kindergartener are better equipped to handle the emotional challenges and have learned better ways to handle stress. Integrating mindfulness in the classroom can be seen as controversial but Julie explained the secular model and proved that it is an essential part of social/emotional cognitive learning and that these are skills our children are developing. I hope more children have access to this tool as our society has begun to feel overwhelming with distractions and technology. Thank you Ms Harris for taking that risk and trusting parents and teachers and most importantly he students would benefit and be on board. Our family and school culture feels calmer and ready to handle any issue!!


Sun Valley Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Julie Harris is an amazing principal!!!!! Also, not only are the teachers great, but the whole staff such as Gayle in the main office and Bennie who keeps the school clean.

Sun Valley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are analytical, thorough, supportive, friendly, good communicators and great educators. It is amazing to see the consistency of quality from grade to grade.

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
My child transferred from a private school to Sun Valley and her education has skyrocketed up because Sun Valley is such an amazing school in so many regards. I highly, highly recommend Sun Valley for any family who wants their child to have an oustanding education in a diverse and supportive school community. 1. The teaching and academics are top notch. Lots of parents compare schools based on test scores and Sun Valley's are very good, especially using the new, more comprehensive and deeper critical thinking Common Core tests. However, what really makes Sun Valley stand out is when you compare Sun Valley apples to apples with other schools by looking at direct subgroup comparisons and in doing this you will see Sun Valley's scores are far better than most schools in Marin and the Bay Area. What helps Sun Valley get these kind of results is teachers who both support and push each child so they can learn and enjoy learning. 2. There is an incredible community that you feel when you step foot on campus. The way kids interact with each other, the way kids interact with adults and the way adults interact with adults makes one feel good and respected. 3. The principal, Julie Harris, is one of the best principals I have met, and I have been part of hiring over 100 principals in my career giving me good insight into the spectrum of principal ability and performance. There are so many great things about Sun Valley that are due to her wonderful leadership. 4. Diversity - sadly, it is not easy to find schools that are not all this or that anywhere in the U.S. Sun Valley has more diversity than many public schools in Marin County and we are grateful that this diversity exists and is appreciated at Sun Valley. 5. Parents - there are parent volunteers almost every day in every classroom and the PTO contributes hundreds of thousands of dollars to support enrichment programs, technolgoy and other things that enhance the education at Sun Valley. I cannot imagine a more perfect elementary school. We are so lucky to have found it and that our children go there. Thanks to all at Sun Valley who make it so great.


Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
We have been at this school for six years and it's an amazing learning environment. The teachers are dedicated, parents involved, and the students happy and engaged. The PTO provides excellent music, art and other enrichment programs -- and this school has arguably the best PE teacher in all of Marin County. The campus is beautiful and quiet and backs-up to open space which is used for walking field trips. In short, this is a special community and truly a great school!

Sun Valley Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
Sun Valley is located in San Rafael and within the San Rafael City Schools. It has approximately 500 students from K-5th grades. Sun Valley has some good teachers but it is really hit or miss. My son had an excellent teacher but my daughter had an OK teacher that wasn't strong in teaching Math or managing the classroom. The parent community is friendly and helpful in the classrooms. The art, music, and PE teachers do an outstanding job. The safety on-campus is an issue. There are 250 or so students at a time playing on a smallish field or on the jungle gym. It seems very chaotic out there for the younger children and there is not enough adult supervision for that many student. The principal has been at the school for a number of years but doesn't seem to know the students well and is a bit unprofessional to parents in the PTA and acts very defensive. It is a good school for being public but I think our children deserve better.

Sun Valley Elementary School 5

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
wonderful teachers, admins, and parent community. a real neighborhood school. a gem of a school in marin


Sun Valley Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
teachers really care about the students great parental involvement PTL fills the gaps where the state falls short

Sun Valley Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2006
- a parent
Sun Valley has a great small school feel. We loved the multi-age class option. Sometimes I wish that my child was challenged more. The teachers definately have to teach to the general level of the class and can't do much individualization of curriculum. Parents are encouraged to participate at any and all levels. Our kids love the extra stuff (library, PE, art, music, computer lab, science) and the casual sports camp after school. The fundraisers are fun and mild compared to other schools.

Nearby schools

Sun Valley Elementary School
75 Happy Ln, San Rafael, CA  94901-1020
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (415) 485-2440
Last modified Sun Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top