Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-9
Private
Santa Ana, CA
Students enrolled: 492
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Christian School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
We have had both of our children here starting in 2008 and could not be more pleased with the teachers/staff, curriculum, and commitment to academic excellence alongside Christ-centered teaching. It's been an absolutely positive experience for our family.

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
We have one Jr High student and two elementary. We've been attending since 2006. There have been so many changes for the positive. Having a child with learning disabilities, the Head of school has embraced a resource-style program to help my child succeed. They have prayed for my children, taught my children academic excellence, fine arts and physical education, all with a biblical world view. The Junior teachers are amazing. The elementary staff is fantastic. What a truly wonderful place to send my children every day. If you haven't checked out CCS, you should!


Calvary Christian School 5

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
I love CCS from the teachers to the administration! We have 2 kids at the school and plan on staying!

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school and a school that should receive more recognition. The teachers are truly dedicated in teaching the students. The open door policy from the teachers to the Head of School is OUTSTANDING. The teachers and staff truly demonstrate Christ-like teachings and actions. They do not just preach the words; they put the words to practice. Yes one class had to consolidate from 2 to 1 class this year; however both of the excellent teachers are present to co-teach. The teaching is top notch! And the top notch teachers are not just in the classroom; the drama teacher to the PE teachers are wonderful! I love the open communication I can have with both Head of School & Asst Head of School. And this openness extends to all of the teachers and staff. The teachers and staff make CCS a great school! Whoever complains about this school will complain about any and every school. What I love about CCS is that Ben and Megan try to improve this school for the better! Change is good! I am 100% for it and grateful that my child attends CCS! Your child should too!

Calvary Christian School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
All three of my children attend this school. We have had nothing but outstanding teachers in every grade from kindergarten to 5th grade. The teachers truly love your child and build a great relationship with each student. The academics are high--we are very impressed with the new math curriculum. Though one grade this year had low enrollment, requiring consolidation of two classes into one larger class (of 26 students), we have generally had 22 or fewer students in every classroom. There is exposure to fine arts and after-school sports. Most importantly, the administration works diligently to provide a Christ-centered experience, emphasizing character development and leadership in all grade levels.


Calvary Christian School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Best part: Christ is still the centerpiece of the education. Academics have improved since the current principal began. We have had great teachers for all of our children, and the teachers that have been recently hired are incredible. It's no wonder that test scores for CCS grads are higher than nearly every public school system in OC. Arts/sports opportunities are growing. Principal Roberson's leadership and enthusiasm for growing the childrens' hearts and minds rubs off on all of the staff, and all the parents we know appreciate his commitment to high academic standards that prepare students for high school and beyond.

Calvary Christian School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
The class size is going up, even though numerous kids are not returning. This is because they are grouping two classes together and only having to pay for one teacher. Many parents are upset with the principal (Ben Roberson), who claims this is best for the kids.

Calvary Christian School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
The student to teacher ratio is not 15 : 1. That may have been true before, but times have changed. They cut teachers and increased the number of kids being placed in a class. The new principal thinks the class size should be 26 : 1. They are cutting services, while increasing tuition each year.


Calvary Christian School 4

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
We love Calvary Christian School and are so glad our kids are here. We have been at the school for almost a decade and are happy to say that the school has grown even stronger since we started there. The families are friendly and kind, and our kids have made amazing friendships with their peers. The teachers are fantastic and really invest in their students. The administration is constantly working to make the school even better and very open to listening to parent feedback. We cannot imagine having our kids anywhere else!

Calvary Christian School 1

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
This school is a perfect model of hypocrisy. The administrator is not a man of God by any means. The morale among the teachers is terrible as a result of distrusting the Head of School. I think you would find it very eye opening If you research student enrollment figures, and teacher retention rate for the past 3 years since Mr. Roberson has been Head of School. Seek a better school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Christian School
1010 North Tustin Avenue, Santa Ana, CA  92705
(714) 973-2056
Last modified Calvary Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Calvary Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top