Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montecito Union School 4

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are very dedicated and administration is devoted but the socioeconomic situation here is daunting. If you don't drive a black luxury car or take fancy vacations continents away and your child does not dress impeccably you and/or your child is bound to feel left out. There is very little diversity here, but the academics are commendable.

Montecito Union School 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
Awful, just awful! The new admin, not to mention the majority of parents, are a bunch of elitist, entitled dimwits. If you are a shallow trophy wife, with a penchant for gossip & drama, this is the place for you. If, however, you would prefer to place your child where there is kindness coupled with innate intelligence, I highly recommend Cold Springs School as a much healthier environment.


Montecito Union School 5

Posted October 10, 2010
- a parent
This is the best school any parent could possibly send there child too. Outstanding students, teachers, staff and parents. This is better than the private schools I have interviewed.

Montecito Union School 5

Posted February 01, 2010
- a parent
We looked at so many schools in the area and feel so fortunate to have chosen Montecito Union. We have state of the art facilites including a fabulous computer lab, science lab, and fabulous art room complete with a kiln. Our after school enrichment programs span from great sports programs to unique foreign languages such as Chinese and Japanese. The teachers and specialists are the top in their field. We are fortunate to not be affected by the cutbacks that many of the California schools face and our classroom sizes remain smaller than even private schools. The community is equally warm and dynamic. We couldn't be happier with our choice...

Montecito Union School 5

Posted December 08, 2009
- a parent
Montecito Union School (MUS) is simply the best school in Santa Barbara County without question. It has the most resources of any school in the area, and probably in the nation. In addition to the academics, MUS strives to offer a well rounded education by including foreign languages, exceptional art and drama program, as well as ongoing education for the parents. Most families attending the school are able to afford private school tuition, however, they have chosen MUS because most elementary schools, both private and public, cannot get any better than this one. Don't take my word for it, go ahead and visit the school and see for yourself. Our motto: 'Together We Are Better'.


Montecito Union School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Montecito Union School 5

Posted March 23, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Montecito Union School 5

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Montecito Union School 5

Posted August 31, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Montecito Union School 5

Posted June 27, 2004
- a parent
After five years and two children later, I am pleased with the level of attention the children have received. Since many families come from the entertainment field, outstanding programs include art, drama, literature, and music(Kenny Loggins created the school song!). The library surpasses public libraries. The teachers are experienced, nurturing and exceptional in their field. The principal is very involved in the needs of the school. The grounds are immaculate (though more shade is needed). On the 'down side,' the school is weak in the hard sciences (at least until the 5th grade), math, and ethnic diversity is nonexistent. Very little is offered to encourage scientific interests. Parental involvement is exceptionally strong...enough so that the teachers have to alternate volunteers' days. The PTA and the MEF are very well funded and provide great extracurricular programming and fieldtrips. It is a 'private school' in the public sector.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montecito Union School
385 San Ysidro Road, Santa Barbara, CA  93108
(805) 969-3249
Last modified Montecito Union School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montecito Union School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top