Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Washington Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
I see how much my nephew likes his teachers, How personal the school is. Great School!

Washington Elementary School 3

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted July 18, 2008
- a parent
Washington Elementary School is the closest thing to a private school, offering the children all the things they need. Fantastic teachers, office staff, P.E., science, music and art are part of every childs weekly offerings. Fantastic leadership from a principal that is forward thinking and believes our school is a community in itself. The school parents and PTO is invaluable in providing fund raising for after school enrichment and field trips.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
My child is Washington's GATE magnet program, which is a great program. Kids are taught a GATE curriculum all day. For the first time, my child isn't bored. Wonderful PTO. Great teachers and staff - GATE and non-GATE. Fantastic music (Konrad Kono) and art (CCP) program. Inferior computers in classrooms - limited Internet. Good after-school enrichment thru PTO. Excellent PE and science programs. Needs more playground supervision, better food.


Washington Elementary School 4

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
Wonderful site. Improved access for parking and dropoff. Great Gate Program. Parent support. Fundraisers. Orchastra musicsl instrument instruction upper grates. 6th grade science camp.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted May 18, 2005
- a parent
This has one of the best gate programs around! Children learn so much by being in these classes all day, every day. The teaching staff are great and parents are always involved and appreciated. The office staff are always willing to help you. There is a wonderful foundation set up by parents for thier children and school projects and activities. The school has a wonderful view of the ocean what can be better than that!

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2005
- a parent
Both of our children attended Washington Elementary School and it has been a fantastic experience. Our children have been very well prepared for the challenges of secondary school and are well on their way to bright futures. It has the strongest parent group in the district and operates as a non-profit foundation. The fundraising efforts involve the whole school population, which is diverse, and provide enrichment opportunities for the entire student body. Some of the enrichment opportunitiies include art, vocal, and dance instruction, a broad range of after school enrichment classes, certified P.E. instruction, a wet science lab with a credentialed science teacher, a computer lab technician, and other programs too lengthy for this reviewer to mention. The staff is excellent and kind. Our family will always cherish the memories of our years at Washington Elementary School.


Washington Elementary School 5

Posted March 08, 2005
- a parent
Beautiful location, harmonious and committed teaching staff, excellent technology integrated into curriculum, PE coach and other supplemental teachers funded by PSTA, well integrated diversity meeting needs of many students, high scoring, strong leadership, strong parent group.

Washington Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2003
- a parent
Washington School, as another parent put it, is the 'creme de la creme' of Santa Barbara elementary schools. It has the only full-time GATE program in the city, has an outstanding location on the beach where playground memories for the students will last forever and has after-school opportunities that exceed all other schools, public or private, of which I am aware.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Washington Elementary School
290 Lighthouse Road, Santa Barbara, CA  93109
(805) 965-6653
Last modified Washington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Washington Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top