Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
286 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Looking forward to the new Transitional Kindergarten(TK) this coming school year. Administration has been wanting to add a PK or TK for years. Glad it's finally happening.
July 14, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Monica Catholic Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I personally don't believe in homework and they do give homework at St. Monica's. It depends on the teacher.

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
We are grateful to our 6th grade teacher! She's friendly, caring, and a lot of fun. She really tries to help your child be the best they can be. Thanks!!!


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Looking forward to the new Transitional Kindergarten(TK) this coming school year. Administration has been wanting to add a PK or TK for years. Glad it's finally happening.
Posted July 14, 2014

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a parent
My son just started the fifth grade and we are very pleased so far. Academics are exceptional and rigorous - just what my son needs. Emphasis on different learning styles so many opportunities for success. Principal is amazing. Class size is too big, but that is everywhere. The Monsignor is absolutely wonderful - my son adores him. On balance, a 5 star school!

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
I completely agree with the parent's comment below (posted August 17, 2013)...This will be our fifth year at St. Monica's. Both my kids have started from kindergarten. This past year, there have been a number of changes and I believe it's been positive. My kids both have new teachers and so far, it's been good. There's a wonderful feeling of community at St. Monica's. We have a great relationship between the families, schools and church. My kids feel loved and safe there. They are happy and that's what really matters most for us.


St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
My eldest just graduated from St. Monica's and my youngest has a few more years to go. Has the experience been perfect? Of course not! However it has been a great fit for my kids and our family and I feel really grateful that we found this school 4+ years ago. The academics are consistently strong, with a great variety of extra curricular options for all. The teachers and administration are incredibly accessible and approachable. The parent community is welcoming and active. They promote change in an effort to always be improving which is a refreshing and welcome improvement from our 5 year experience with public schools. The classroom size is not small, but the school is, & we benefit that all the staff really get to know all the students. My sons and family have been sincerely welcomed at St. Monica's, and I am confident that we have made the right choice. In reading several of the previous posts, I feel badly for these parents who are clearly so unhappy with their CHOICE to attend this school. While I sincerely hope that they find a school that is a better fit for them (and thus create a space for a child and family who WANTS to be there), the grass is rarely greener...

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
What does it say about a school when two of its best and longtime teachers quit (without notice) over the summer and families are left without knowing who will be teaching their children? At this point, the principal's entire job consists of DAMAGE CONTROL for the poor leadership decisions he and the "president" continue to make. I seriously wonder when other parents are going to open their eyes, band together, and demand change? Although I'm not sure that would even make a difference since the principal will just get out his smoke and mirrors in yet another attempt to make us forget what we are asking for or why we bothered talking to him in the first place. If you are not a zealot or blind follower of the principal and "president", you will most likely not be happy at this school. Our family feels stuck because we have no real public school options and cannot afford private school. Our search will continue as we bide our time.

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 3

Posted February 16, 2013
- a parent
Unfortunately, this school is going downhill. I feel like they are more concerned about filling up 35 kids per class, it doesn't matter who they accept, just as long as they get the $$$. Most of the teachers, staff and parents do care and try to make it a better community, but if the president and principal do not listen to the parents' concerns and be proactive leaders to solve problems, we can't move forward. Many parents who I've spoken to are tired of making an effort, thus volunteering and fundraising goals have gone down. Education is average. If your child is gifted or needs extra help, there's no help at the school for that. Come on leaders of the school.....Make some positive changes now!


St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
I wish I could give this school zero stars. Bullying is rampant, not only amongst the students, but also amongst the parents. If you deviate from the rigid Catholic doctrines in any way, then good luck to you and your children! And it's not like the academics even make up for the social climate at this school because they are average at best. They squish 35 kids into each classroom, with one classroom per grade. Research shows that class size DOES matter. We are looking forward to switching schools in the fall.

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School 5

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I have two children that attend St. Monica Catholic Elementary School and my family's experience has been a positive one. The teachers are dedicated to the students and the school, and this is visible each and every day. The president/principal model that the school employs provides strong leadership and allows our principal to focus on curriculum and the day-to-day of the school. The academic environment is challenging and the teachers and administration are continually scrutinizing it to make it the best it can be. Above and beyond everything that I've stated above, the community at the school is wonderful. Students are educated in a safe and nurturing environment and the result is confident children who excel socially and academically. I highly recommend St. Monica Catholic Elementary School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Monica Catholic Elementary School
1039 7th Street, Santa Monica, CA  90405
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (310) 451-9801
Last modified St. Monica Catholic Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top