Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
Santa Rosa, CA
Students enrolled: 210
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My son is just finishing up 7th grade at POCS. We've had nothing but good experiences here. Anytime he has fallen behind on an assignment or had a low grade, his home room teacher has been right there to get him back on track and the communication between his homeroom teacher to me to give me updates on his progress has been outstanding and so appreciated. I have 3 younger children who I will be sending to POCS from Jack London as well. This is a WAY better set up than Public Middle School. My oldest went to a local public middle school. Never again.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
Took my child out the top rated eastside school....was a terrible experience for her, felt very institutional and impersonal. Not a good fit for someone just turning 12 who is creative. You're expected to a peg in the hole they provide. Not so at POCS. A breath of fresh air with a real caring faculty. Be warned, you will be involved.


Piner-Olivet Charter School 3

Posted December 20, 2011
- a parent
Will my 6th grade boy enjoy this school next year? We are wondering if this would be a good school for my boy. Do you have any suggestions for us?

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
I love this school and I am currently in seventh grade and I've never felt this way in my whole life. I feel like when I move onto high school i will be prepared. The students that attend here have to do 25 hours of community service, the parents have to do 30. This school is not poor either, it has 30 macintosh laptops for every student to use .
1 person found this helpful

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2009
- a student
this is by far the best school i have ever attended and i'm excited to be moving on to 8th grade. the classes are small(20-25 kids per class) so the students get more attention than in a public school that has up to 30 kids in a class.


Piner-Olivet Charter School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
My son has enjoyed his 7th grade year at this school. His math and science teacher is his all-time favorite teacher. It is a small school which works great for my son. Overall I'm very happy with our experience here.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 1

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 2

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
My daughter's grades went down significantly since she has been at this school. The teachers apply the hands off approach and expect the kids to be responsible, and they aren't always ready.


Piner-Olivet Charter School 4

Posted September 24, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 3

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
Middle school is a crucial age. The educational experience created by teachers forms the basis of a student's future career choices. Despite previous high grades and advanced scores on the yearly STAR test, my child's enthusiasm for Mathematics was destroyed by an instructor teaching Algebra for the first time here. A neat notebook, busy work called Math Steps (which can only be corrected at certain times in school), tests with 5 questions whereby missing more than 1 earns an F, are not criteria with which to measure Algebra comprehension. Other subjects and teachers were superior at this school. A teacher is only as good as his/her students' progress. Therefore, we are considering a school transfer so she can regain her confidence, interest, and good grades in the subject.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Piner-Olivet Charter School
2707 Francisco Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA  95403
(707) 522-3310
Last modified Piner-Olivet Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Piner-Olivet Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top