Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
My son is just finishing up 7th grade at POCS. We've had nothing but good experiences here. Anytime he has fallen behind on an assignment or had a low grade, his home room teacher has been right there to get him back on track and the communication between his homeroom teacher to me to give me updates on his progress has been outstanding and so appreciated. I have 3 younger children who I will be sending to POCS from Jack London as well. This is a WAY better set up than Public Middle School. My oldest went to a local public middle school. Never again.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
Took my child out the top rated eastside school....was a terrible experience for her, felt very institutional and impersonal. Not a good fit for someone just turning 12 who is creative. You're expected to a peg in the hole they provide. Not so at POCS. A breath of fresh air with a real caring faculty. Be warned, you will be involved.


Piner-Olivet Charter School 3

Posted December 20, 2011
- a parent
Will my 6th grade boy enjoy this school next year? We are wondering if this would be a good school for my boy. Do you have any suggestions for us?

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
I love this school and I am currently in seventh grade and I've never felt this way in my whole life. I feel like when I move onto high school i will be prepared. The students that attend here have to do 25 hours of community service, the parents have to do 30. This school is not poor either, it has 30 macintosh laptops for every student to use .

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2009
- a student
this is by far the best school i have ever attended and i'm excited to be moving on to 8th grade. the classes are small(20-25 kids per class) so the students get more attention than in a public school that has up to 30 kids in a class.


Piner-Olivet Charter School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
My son has enjoyed his 7th grade year at this school. His math and science teacher is his all-time favorite teacher. It is a small school which works great for my son. Overall I'm very happy with our experience here.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 2

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
My daughter's grades went down significantly since she has been at this school. The teachers apply the hands off approach and expect the kids to be responsible, and they aren't always ready.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 3

Posted April 28, 2007
- a parent
Middle school is a crucial age. The educational experience created by teachers forms the basis of a student's future career choices. Despite previous high grades and advanced scores on the yearly STAR test, my child's enthusiasm for Mathematics was destroyed by an instructor teaching Algebra for the first time here. A neat notebook, busy work called Math Steps (which can only be corrected at certain times in school), tests with 5 questions whereby missing more than 1 earns an F, are not criteria with which to measure Algebra comprehension. Other subjects and teachers were superior at this school. A teacher is only as good as his/her students' progress. Therefore, we are considering a school transfer so she can regain her confidence, interest, and good grades in the subject.


Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted January 27, 2005
- a parent
Olivet was a wonderful experince for our son. He excelled in all of his subjects and I was allowed and even encouraged to be involved.

Piner-Olivet Charter School 5

Posted August 19, 2003
- a parent
The education my child has received has been stellar- private schools could not motivate or challenge as effectively, and the teachers are in tune with students. Parents are involved, administration is small and hands on,it could not be better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Piner-Olivet Charter School
2707 Francisco Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA  95403-1869
(707) 522-3310
Last modified Piner-Olivet Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Piner-Olivet Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top