Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Redeemer Lutheran

Private | K-8 | 82 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in South Gate

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $234,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2012

my son has been here since pre-k...now he is in 1st grade...and i am so grateful to the Lord for this school... thanks to all the staff memebers..they are the best..Ms.Rojas, Ms Jhoan, Ms Arcey, Ms Valadez, Ms. Gonzales...thank God for all of them and all of the other staff..I would defenetly recommend this school to anyone...they turly care for our kids...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

My son graduated from Redeemer Lutheran School. When he continued his education in the Downey School District ( highly rated ) he found that he was far ahead of his fellow students. The education from Redeemer is top notched and the teachers & staff are loving and caring. The current principal Ms. Valadez is very dedicated and all the teachers are caring Christian teachers that feel more like a family than a staff. The work together for the benifit of all the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

My son was struggling in public school and I made the decision to enroll him at Redeemer . I've never regretted that decision. I'm impressed that they know everyone by name! Redeemer is a very safe and Christian environment. The principal, Ms Valadez, is an outgoing person with wonderful and innovated ideas to stimulate and invigorate the wonder of learning. Ms Valadez introduces learning activities making learning fun. Redeemer has impacted my son to allow him to blossom academically but most importantly , to strengthen his love of God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Overall its a good school, they have good teachers & a strong principal that make up the school.I am so glad my daughter is attending redeemer & not a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

This is an excellent school! I did not want my daughter attending the local private school. I am so glad we found Redeemer Lutheran School. She is excelling here and she is more advanced than her friends who live across the street who attend the public school. The best thing is that they are affordable and the classrooms are small which allows for better one on one with the teacher.! I know that we made the best choice for our daughter...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

The teachers are so good & are very understanding. The environment is very religious.... I have sent my daughter there for a good Christian upbringing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

The best thing about Redeemer is the extra care and attention the children receive everyday from their teachers and administration. I am very proud to say that my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I'm very Bless to have my Kids in this School, I sure do recomend it to anybody
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

The basic academic curriculum is good and environment is safe as the school is small is with low attendance. The problem is that some grades share classrooms and teacher, like 3rd and 4th grade are together. There are no computers for students, arts, music or after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

challenging school for kids to be ready when they go off to high school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

The educational program at Redeemer is excellent. the teachers and principal are above par. My child received a solid christian education grounded 100% in faith. The only draw back was the location and lack of ethnic diversity.. Overall a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 52%
White 1% 26%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. M.A. Calderon
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (323) 588-0701

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2626 Liberty Boulevard
South Gate, CA 90280
Website: Click here
Phone: (323) 588-0934

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Walnut Park Elementary School
Huntington Park, CA


Academia Moderna
Walnut Park, CA



Pilgrim Baptist School
South Gate, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT