Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Tahoe Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a student
They try to by sending to advisory. I guess they do. It works. Sort of.

South Tahoe Middle School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted March 17, 2016
- a student
There are a lot of advisory days just about defining the words compassion and empathy.


South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted October 25, 2015
- a parent
First and foremost, security is nonexistent, front door's open all day, some of the teachers seem to be put out, and moody, and last bullying I found to be a problem with new comers, ....

South Tahoe Middle School 4

Posted May 09, 2015
- a community member
I am a 6 th grader here. For being my first year at middle school, I say that this school is the best option for any kid who has the opportunity to go here. They have lots of fun opportunities. The only reason they give out homework is because, you do not finish the work in class. This school has a high learning criqulum. Many things have changed over the time. I really recommend this school.Middle school was my best opportunity i have had.

South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted August 17, 2014
- a teacher
After being a teacher at this school, I would not recommend the South Tahoe Middle if you have a choice. The discipline issues are constant and I believe the principal is far too permissive. There are some good students there, and some quality teachers, but this has been one of the lower achieving schools I've worked at. I felt very unsupported at times as I did my best to educate the student population.


South Tahoe Middle School 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a community member
I'm in 8th grade and I think that this school is great because they have a class called Grade Recovery they let you do work in the class

South Tahoe Middle School 3

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
South tahoe middle schools main focus is to satisfy state requiem to ensure teachers have a job for next year. Being a transient town student numbers fluxuate and state and federal funding are dependant on enrollment. Parents involvement is the main reason the school rates high. School leadeship is influenced by whats poular this week, month or year and sadly that is what is important to them not the individual students needs. They are very quick to classify a student as a bully, or send them to detention or ocr ( on campus retention) because it involves little investigation or work on their part. Everything will be fine as long as your student or you ( the parent) give them absolute power.

South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted October 09, 2011
- a community member
I don't really like the school. I'm in 8th grade and the new 6th graders are just plain stupid. They're already talking about having intercourse and a lot of the ones that go on my bus fight. The teachers are okay, but some of them are really mean. I've personally never seen any rats in the 3 years that I've been going there. The music program is actually quite good since we were able to get a gold rating at the Anaheim music festival.


South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
I go to STMS as a 6th grader, and feel that the teachers are good enough, but there is a lack of smart kids, challenging material and a lot of the kids are inappropriate. However, this is the only school in the area, so there aren't many options unless you go to Incline Village or or Reno. The orchestra and band program is quite slow and the more advanced students are constantly bored. I wouldn't recommend the school, but if you can't go somewhere else, definitely try for advanced classes and as many electives as possible.

South Tahoe Middle School 4

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Looking forward to a brand new 8-classroom 2-story facility to replace the old 6th grade portables. Ground-breaking started this week. Thanks to the community, a bond was past to support this upgrade. More dramatic upgrades have been going on at South Lake Tahoe High School that are quite impressive - even featured in an architect design magazine. The middle school already has a state of the art tack and field complex built from community donations. Nice to have a community that supports the schools!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Tahoe Middle School
2940 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA  96150-7800
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (530) 541-6404
Last modified South Tahoe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top