Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Students enrolled: 820
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted August 17, 2014
- a teacher
After being a teacher at this school, I would not recommend the South Tahoe Middle if you have a choice. The discipline issues are constant and I believe the principal is far too permissive. There are some good students there, and some quality teachers, but this has been one of the lower achieving schools I've worked at. I felt very unsupported at times as I did my best to educate the student population.

South Tahoe Middle School 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a community member
I'm in 8th grade and I think that this school is great because they have a class called Grade Recovery they let you do work in the class


South Tahoe Middle School 3

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
South tahoe middle schools main focus is to satisfy state requiem to ensure teachers have a job for next year. Being a transient town student numbers fluxuate and state and federal funding are dependant on enrollment. Parents involvement is the main reason the school rates high. School leadeship is influenced by whats poular this week, month or year and sadly that is what is important to them not the individual students needs. They are very quick to classify a student as a bully, or send them to detention or ocr ( on campus retention) because it involves little investigation or work on their part. Everything will be fine as long as your student or you ( the parent) give them absolute power.

South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted October 09, 2011
- a community member
I don't really like the school. I'm in 8th grade and the new 6th graders are just plain stupid. They're already talking about having intercourse and a lot of the ones that go on my bus fight. The teachers are okay, but some of them are really mean. I've personally never seen any rats in the 3 years that I've been going there. The music program is actually quite good since we were able to get a gold rating at the Anaheim music festival.

South Tahoe Middle School 2

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
I go to STMS as a 6th grader, and feel that the teachers are good enough, but there is a lack of smart kids, challenging material and a lot of the kids are inappropriate. However, this is the only school in the area, so there aren't many options unless you go to Incline Village or or Reno. The orchestra and band program is quite slow and the more advanced students are constantly bored. I wouldn't recommend the school, but if you can't go somewhere else, definitely try for advanced classes and as many electives as possible.


South Tahoe Middle School 4

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Looking forward to a brand new 8-classroom 2-story facility to replace the old 6th grade portables. Ground-breaking started this week. Thanks to the community, a bond was past to support this upgrade. More dramatic upgrades have been going on at South Lake Tahoe High School that are quite impressive - even featured in an architect design magazine. The middle school already has a state of the art tack and field complex built from community donations. Nice to have a community that supports the schools!

South Tahoe Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2011
- a community member
Let me start out with saying this school is a mess! Everything is so dirty, and they even found rats! There are no extracurricular sports i can take a part of! The teachers give you way too much homework, and if you miss it one time, they always assume you will miss it! Its too bad this is the only public middle school in the area, because if there were another, im pretty sure everyone would go there instead.

South Tahoe Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
OH MY GOD! This school is such a mess! Sending my kids there was the worst thing that could have happened to them at that age. It will take a lot more than renovations to fix this school.


South Tahoe Middle School 3

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Tahoe Middle School 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
Since some of the older reviews, some things have changed. The school has a very active PTA - offering teacher and coach assistance, after-school enrichment programs from akido to ceramics to cooking and film production. Free crafts may be offered at lunch. Many extra-curricular sports and activities exist, though no late bus is offered. Timberwolf TV is a daily, morning broadcast run by the students. Parents & student involvement is possible for everyone. A generous community has enabled the campus to have a brand new track & field... construction on a new 2-story 10-classroom 6th grade wing is set to start in the coming months, and renovations to our music classroom will follow. Racial tensions exist and programs/speakers are being brought in to address these issues. The Superintendent and Sch Board have helped measurably to lessen the blow CA's financial cutbacks have thrown on us. Come and check STMS out.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Tahoe Middle School
2940 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA  96150
(530) 541-6404
Last modified South Tahoe Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Tahoe Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top