Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Los Cerritos Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2013
- a parent
Just a friendly respond to the notification of parents on January 12, 2012. You might need to update you number because I have been receiving many phone messages about every PTA meeting information, any suspecious activity and events that are taking place even when school will be closed. But with that said it's our job as parents to be on top of what our children are doing and check their back packs for notes and calendars that they are given, it's their job as teachers to support us as our children's FIRST TEACHERS! :0) Respectfully saying...The ball is in our court. :0) Love this School! #1 Fan of Los Cerritos...Keep up the great work teachers, parents and students!

Los Cerritos Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
Not sure what complaints anyone could have about communication at LC, because the staff there has been *awesome*. My son comes home excited about school projects and, more importantly, test scores are going up. The parent community could be more active, but that's improving along with test scores. Overall, we love LC, love our teachers, and are very happy with the current school administration.


Los Cerritos Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2012
- a parent
Academically they have improved and I seen this BUT this isn't all what makes a school successful! I have had my child here for 3 years now and I must say this is THE WORST SCHOOL IN THE DISTRICT! They don't call parents or notify parents when something serious happens or even notify parents within a reasonable time frame of serious situations occurring whether it's between two kids or school wide. The parents are notified by their children (if their children has the courage too because those kids know nothing is ever resolved) Each staff member is on their own they do only what they need to do and that's it. When a parent complaints they try to wipe themselves clean with any excuse. Overall, this school has a lot to improve on and this will either be the last year (if that) of my child attending this school. Good luck parents!

Los Cerritos Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a parent
I am so happy to have my kids at Los Cerritos it is a really good school!!

Los Cerritos Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
My Daughter goes to this school and she just loves the teachers,when she comes home from school she just blurts out 'Today was awesome'even though it was a testing day.She went to this school since K-5 and she is in 5th grade and the thing she is most excited about is Outdoor ED!its a 5 day camping trip in Lahonda Ca


Los Cerritos Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
Ths is my girl school I realy recomend because is very nice teacher and is very clean

Los Cerritos Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent of Los Cerritos Elementary since 2004 and my three children, soon to be forth child will be attending this wonderful school. I have nothing but praise for this school. Yes, there are things that might need adjustment ( like more parent involvement, and I'm speaking about myself also) but over all it's a wonderful school to be involved with. The interaction between the Principle and the parents to the coordination between the staff and the parents and down to the children is wonderful to see daily. I just recently moved out of the school district and is applying for a yearly inter-district transfer. I really love Los Cerritos!

Los Cerritos Elementary School 3

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
Principal is great. She cares about her school and the students, she obviously loves children. Like any school, some teachers are wonderful, and some need to retire. For the meaner teachers you wonder why they ever got into teaching, but there is at least one teacher like this at every school, so Los Cerritos is no different. Lots of ESL help, which is great.


Los Cerritos Elementary School 4

Posted June 07, 2006
- a parent
The teachers are very thoughtful and caring to the students. They take into the account the children's behavioral as well as health problems. My son has an Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and his teacher doesn't condemn him. She dealt w/ him so well. My daughter who went for open heart surgery has a teacher who really was very involved to the point of making the whole class write her a 'get well soon card' each. They keep the parents well informed of the child's progress. And they have this system where you don't have any trouble checking what are the assignments of the kids because they have them all listed in one sheet. They also have this reading program where they award each student who is able to finish at least 100 books. And they encourage parent participation by inviting them to the class to read with the the kids.

Los Cerritos Elementary School 5

Posted June 01, 2006
- a parent
Great Teachers! Very helpful to ESL students!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Cerritos Elementary School
210 West Orange Avenue, South San Francisco, CA  94080-4444
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (650) 877-8841
Last modified Los Cerritos Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top