Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Stanford University Online High School

Private | 7-12 | 545 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Stanford

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $1,020,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

Our child just finished the fifth year at Stanford OHS and we have never heard of the school asking for any definitely amount of contribution. Contributions to the school are totally voluntary. Our child has never encountered any mean schoolmates, not to say that it is not possible but most kids at OHS are polite, their energy is put to use at learning, not to be mean. OHS is a school for students that are interested in learning and they have the excellent professors to nurture and expand their minds and knowledge. If your child works hard there, they will be great thinkers, extremely skilled, well prepared for college, and will be standout students wherever they go. Courses at OHS might have the same title as other schools but they are much more advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Parents at the online high school are asked to contribute up to 100% of the tuition as donations towards the annual fund, so that tuition figure will go up just like at any other private school. they don't tell you that upfront.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

Our son goes here. We were looking for RIGOROUS academics, didn't need sports or other extra-curriculars (this school doesn't offer that - we do all that on our own elsewhere). But in terms of being a simply TOUGH school to get in to and actually go to, just get through the daily academics - Intend on your kids spending a MINIMUM of 10 hours a week doing outside work for each and every class (that doesn't include time spent in class), otherwise they won't be right for the OHS. The kids here are the next Steve Jobs/Zukerberg/Gates etc. SATs are amazing - our 2400 kid fits right in. Only downside is limited opportunities for social interaction, mostly online. And yes, kids online can be plenty mean, just like any other school, so be warned. If you're looking for seriously hard academics, go here. For a "complete" one-stop package, go somewhere else. OHS IS pricey (especially if you have to pick up ECs outside school) so figure out what exactly your kids need before applying, and if they're ready to devote that much time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

Easily the most rigorous and thoughtful academic curriculum I have ever seen. the high school coursework surpasses the first two years of most universities. The teachers are impressive and the work load just right--no waste or busy-work assignments. While the amount of work to do each day is considerable, it does not appear to be unnecessarily burdensome as one finds in many schools. Hardwork and smartwork are rewarded. The school's support apparati are excellent and very much reflective of their stated mission. What could be better? Nothing obvious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

The OHS is a rigorous school with professors that are extremely advanced in their fields. The sense of community is amazing!


Posted March 5, 2013

They would accept any students who could afford it. EPGY is not interested in education, but profits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

Great school for strong students. Very rigorous academics and a vibrant, engaged and supportive group of educators and students. Excellent choice for a fantastic high-school education that prepares students extremely well for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

Excellent school for gifted independent learners. Great community. Lots of academic opportunities. Great teachers! University level education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

Outstanding professors. Academically demanding. And, thanks to being online, portable and flexible. This is a great option for self-motivated kids who need an academic challenge. Student body is based world-wide, wonderfully diverse, yet classes are small and professors give students personal attention. Highly recommended for gifted children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 Panama Street
Stanford, CA 94305
Phone: (650) 721-9422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hillview Middle School
Menlo Park, CA



St. Raymond's
Menlo Park, CA


Jubilee Academy
Menlo Park, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT