Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aspire Port City Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
My son was told, in front of me, by a teacher, if another student gets hit it's not his business and he should ignore it.

Aspire Port City Academy 2

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
The parking lot is HORRIBLE and they know it, so they tell you to park in the private lot next door. Do that, and the owners will lock you in. The street is a mess. If your child has any sort of disability the school will let you know they're a problem. Very unsafe dismissal routine, and there are some teachers I hope find their true calling because it's not teaching.


Aspire Port City Academy 1

Posted September 07, 2015
- a community member
Poor management between staff and teachers. High turn over rate, tons of homework packets for kids that are never collected by the teacher, teachers will complain to parents about any little thing. I was told that it was a good school and I've had nothing but horrible experience since the first day of school. My child has been in school for one month and has been picked on by staff and teacher. My child has been denied lunch on several occasion and has came home hungry and crying that the staff are mean.

Aspire Port City Academy 1

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Port City Academy from what I've heard was a good school. Unfortunately, too many good teachers have left the school creating an inconsitent positive enviornment for students.

Aspire Port City Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 21, 2015
- a parent
Too much meaningless worksheets and packets for students to complete even during summer break. This school is great if your child likes working on worksheets and packets to keep them busy during the week.


Aspire Port City Academy 1

Posted January 06, 2015
- a parent
This school has a very high turn over rate for teachers. All of the experienced teachers have left the school and my child was stuck with a substitute teacher who also has quit because of non support from the principal. All of the unruly kids were in her class, and all they did was sit and write sentences for punishment. Do NOT enroll your child at this school. You are better off going to a regular public school. I rate it a one star, but if I could this school would receive a no stars at all.

Aspire Port City Academy 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
I will be pulling my children out. In the last few years the admin staff has proven itself to be rude to children, openly gossiping of parents and other staff, not educated, and getting paid for attending parent meetings; misuse of public funds. The teachers are great and unfortunately are caught between the proverbial rock and hard place. Please don't be expecting your personal information to be held in confidence. Not too many parents become involved for their own reasons but I am personally aware of many who have pulled their children out simply because of favoritism and bad administration. It was an excellent school the first few years and after that something went awry...sadly.

Aspire Port City Academy 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
I have two children who have been attending Aspire Port City Academy since they were in Kindegarten. My oldest is now in 5th and my son is in 4th..... The school staff are amazing. The office staff, teachers all seem to really get to know the students and parents. When ever I have a question they are quick to get me the answer. Our children spend most there time in school so its good to know that they have amazing staff members to assist and help them. I have three younger children lined up to attend. One will be attending this comming up school year. If you have a child that is in school then get them on the school waitlist.... The teachers and staff are there because they care not to just get paid..... I have heard stories about friends kids schools and I am so blessed to be part of a great school and surround my kids around morals and people who care.


Aspire Port City Academy 5

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
Selecting this school for my daughter has been one of the best decisions that I could have made. Port City is a wonderful school with excellent staff. I see my daughter being challenged, pushed, and encouraged to strive for excellence everyday. "College for Certain" is not just their motto, it's reality!!!

Aspire Port City Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are amazing and become family. Love the concept of loop teaching and the smaller class sizes. Huge emphasis on college prep and the future of the students. An excellent choice for my children!

Nearby schools

Aspire Port City Academy
2040 West Lane, Stockton, CA  95205
(916) 979-1788
Last modified Aspire Port City Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-5
Top