Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morada Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

I went to this school 22 years ago and now have my own child attending. I hated this school as a student. The work was hard, there was lots of it and they wanted me to be responsible and grown-up. As a parent, I couldn't be happier. The principal is devoted to the students and pushes them just as hard as I remember. I do remember being far more prepared for high school than I thought I would be. I have every confidence that the same will hold true for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2013

I attended this school back in '07-'09. Even though it probably did changed throughout the years, from my own experience, I must say this school is wonderful. The staff are all amazing. I always enjoyed staying in during lunch time to help out the janitor/lunch ladies. As much as I hated it, the Turkey Trot was fun :)


Posted May 25, 2010

Being , an eight grader at Morada Middle School is AWESOME! So much freedom and choices to make here at morada . We do have awesome teachers , but the best teachers a getting laid-off this year ); .But to future students , my advice , have fun , follow school rules , bring your planner , and have fun ! -- $CJ


Posted April 10, 2008

Morada Middle has changed a lot since those old reviews from 2005 and 2006. It now has numerous after school activities for just the fun or extra help. All the teachers are pretty nice and care about all of their students. Everyone, staff and students, work very hard throughout the whole year toget get ready for the CST. I am an 8th grader at Morada Midle school and I enjoy it here very much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2008

I'm am a seventh grader at Morada and I love it here. The AVID class is fun and most of the teachers are caring. The teachers care about the students and there grades so some teachers have after-school programs to help there students. I love this school. GO MORADA MUSTANGS!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2006

Well, I go to this school and i think this school is super fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2006

I do not beleive that morada has enough after school activities. I think the teachers are for the most part caring and patient, we our family they have been willing to keep in touch through e-mails and phone. I really beleive there is not enough parent envolvement. My son was excited to join the band. It was a shame that they ended up without a teacher so quickly and that they have not bothered to replace him. This is the first middle school that I know of that does not have a band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

We need to have more sports for the the students to get physical and stay healthy. I consider sports a very good way to be active. Some girls do not like football or basketball. We also need sports that girls and boys can play. I think soccer is a good sport for boys and girls to play and handle. Also, I think that the teachers are going to need to give more time for sudents to do homework. For example, I went to school on a Thursday and had to do an essay. The essay, if typed on a comeputer had to be at least 3 pages, if handwritten it had to be 6 pages long. I was only given a week to finish.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2005

Yes, the school is under achieveing! But it's teachers are why! they are so mean and not understanding! Well a couple of them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2005

Morada is an awesome school,were the students and staff work hard to make it such a great place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 13, 2005

There are too many teachers who are boring and that is why many kids fail subjects. Because they don't understand the material.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2005

The school has improved in some areas in the last few years. Too bad there doesn't seem to be a stable administration to run things. It's disappointing that some teachers (a handful of old veterans) seem to think their personal views are more important than the good of the school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

This school is too strict. Has uniforms and is very controlling. There are a few nice teachers and alot of terrible ones. There is band, many after-school programs daily from 3:16 p.m. to 4:16p.m. Not many parents get involved. Teachers review subjects constantly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2004

The school is much better than last year, but it still seems disorganized. How come there are so many class changes? I think that most of the teachers are great and hardworking, but it seems they have so much unnecessary work unrelated to teaching to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

My child is newer to Morada. I had the opportunity to speak to one of the vice principals. She really listened to me. My son said to me when I was complaining about the weather that 'You have to make your own sunshine today.' During my meeting, I found out that this vice principal says this over the intercom on cloudy mornings. Unfortunately, she is leaving Morada. The team of teachers have time to meet with parents and I really like this idea. They are getting to know my son and I feel that meeting with them is very easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2003

The school should let the children pick the classes they would like and the parents should sign it. That way the school and parents know what the child has picked. The way the school is doing the classes now is just a joke. One big joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2003

The school is great, except for minor vice pricipal problems, but other than that the school is awsome!!


Posted May 8, 2003

I think that the staff at morada is terrible. I think that you should get a new principal staff.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

810

Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

810

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+8

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
22%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
44%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
9%

2010

 
 
3%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females64%
Males53%
African American35%
Asian62%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%

Math

All Students53%
Females54%
Males52%
African American23%
Asian63%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate35%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate66%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students50%
Females42%
Males57%
African American34%
Asian67%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)30%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented80%
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state56%

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females46%
Males53%
African American29%
Asian57%
Filipino70%
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students3%
Females0%
Males6%
African American8%
Asian0%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino3%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged2%
Not economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability4%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only3%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate0%
Parent education - high school graduate0%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)0%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state14%

Geometry

All Students92%
Females92%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students57%
Females48%
Males66%
African American44%
Asian64%
Filipino70%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disability17%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%

Science

All Students62%
Females52%
Males71%
African American51%
Asian69%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 38%
Hispanic 34%
Black 11%
White 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/AN/A
English language learners 24%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 Eastview Drive
Stockton, CA 95212
Phone: (209) 953-8495

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ansel Adams School
Stockton, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT