Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sierra Christian School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stockton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2011

We love Sierra Christian School. There are many reasons why we chose, and continue to choose, to send our child there: the principal and teachers know each student by name, academics are held to a high standard, the school is accredited, and the morning pledge of allegiance, patriotic song, and prayer are wonderful additions that are not found in the public schools in Stockton. This school is worth the sacrifices we make to send our child to Sierra!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Sierra Christian school has been around for over 30 years- if you want to be apart of a great school, staff and school family- this is the place to be. There is no wounder to why this school has been around as long as it has and I am sure it will be around until the end of times. The teachers are excellent, strong and sound as well as the Principal who by the way knows each child by there name- his leadership speaks for it self. The academic program just keeps getting better and better. We have been to other school and you can get any better then what Sierra Christian school has to offer. Parents you dont have to worry about dropping your child at the door you are just as welcome as your child. Thank you SCS the light you give to a dark world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

I thank God each and every day that I am blessed to be a part of Sierra Christian School, and have been for many years. It is amazing to see the work that God has done here. He has brought together an amazing staff and famlies to carry out His mission. It is a blessing to see the lives that are being changed here, academically and spiritually. God bless Sierra Christian School! Go Eagles!


Posted August 9, 2010

Warning!!! If you only care about academics then you're probably OK. If you care at all about ethics then avoid this school like the plague.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 11, 2010

SCS is an awesome school! Every year there s something better. The teachers are nurturing and loving, but they mean business when it comes to the student s academics, conduct, and growing Christians. They acknowledge a child s success and improvements with quarterly ceremonies. They have spelling bees, science fairs, sports teams, and a variety of clubs. Making the switch to Sierra Christian was the best decision we could have made for her elementary education. We are confident she will be well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

SCS is the best of the best. The teachers are phenomenal (and credentialed). The administration and staff is helpful, organized, conscientious and personable. The facilities are safe and comfortable. The parents are energized and involved. The students have a well rounded academic curriculum as well as computers and Spanish. Their extra curricular programs include: sports, music, dance, journalism, computer club and rocket club. Check out SCS and experience the difference! www.scseagles.net
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

This is my daughter's first year at Sierra Christian. She is in the first grade. I am delighted to see Christian teachers who spread knowledge of not only academics but also Christianity. Every morning, the students participate in the Pledge of Allegience, a patriotic song, and prayer. God is at work at Sierra Christian. The students constantly learn to be effective communicators, growing Christians, critical thinkers, academic achievers, and partners! Thank God for Sierra Christian!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I have two children at Sierra Christian. It has been the best decision I have ever made. I have never been in a parent/teacher conference where I was brought to tears by the love these teachers have for my children. It is something I have never experienced before. They truly care. Children are challenged, motivated and encouraged. The principal and staff are very caring and have made my family feel welcomed. My children actually enjoy going to school and I no longer have to battle with my 1st grader to get ready in the mornings. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

My son's preschool was a warm and welcoming place. I wanted that same feel and I found it when I went to an open house at Sierra. From the administration to the teachers to the support staff...everyone knows the children by name. They are teaching are children how to live like Christ as well as the State Standards. For those who want more information, might I suggest talking with the Principle? As soon as you arrive, you will have the feeling that your child will be in the best learning environment that Stockton has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

I have 3 children and all have gone to Sierra Christian School. Thanks to all the teachers and staff they have not only taught my children but take extra steps to motivate, encourage, and support them. The staff is attentive and ready to assist. People notice that my children carry themselves differently from most children their age. Their character and ability to talk to adults and carry knowledgeable conversation is because of their source of education. The school has many sports programs available. Majority of parents are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

My son loves the school,before attending Sierra my son did not enjoy going to school or his teachers. He now ask me on the weekends if he can go to school. His 'k' teacher enjoys teaching and gave the kids a lot of confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

Sierra Christian is an answer to prayer. I moved my children here half-way through the fifth grade. It was the best decision I ever made. They are both happier than they ever were in public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2004

Sierra Christian School is a great school. The staff and teachers are wonderful. There is a difference at Sierra that other Christian schools don't have. There is a good Christian atmosphere too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2003

My family picked this school because its affiliation with the church we belong with. Our biggest mistake was not doing our research before enrolling our kids. My kids teachers are great though they don't share the same beliefs, academically they did their job well. But if you are looking for a school mainly for academics not biblical principles it will be a good school for anyone. The only Christian [aspect] about this so called Christian school is their weekly memory verses.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 24%
Black 10%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4368 North Sutter Street
Stockton, CA 95204
Phone: (209) 941-2877

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Luke School
Stockton, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT