Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

733 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 73 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2016
- a parent
My son graduated from Nimitz this June.He spent six wonderful years there and had fantastic, engaged, dedicated and highly experienced teachers. Mrs. Ito, a principal, and Mrs.Kropp a vice principal are the best and the most responsive professionals, loving and just toward children and cooperative with parents. The school population is very diverse, both nationally and socially. It's a World in small, really. RTI program for leveled reading, Soul Shoppe (anti-bullying training), Recess 101( a special PE program ), Art, Music, Math Olympiad, Math Night, Science Night and many other events are all focused for benefitting students and their families. PTA is strong and welcoming. Overall, we had the most pleasant experience.

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is studying in this school for the past 2 years. It's been a good experience. She's improved on her English, math, creativity and interest in sports.


Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted October 07, 2015
- a teacher
Great food, parents! I love the lunches you bring us. Thank you very much. You are appreciated.

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
There is no words to say it :( the school, the police, the cupertino district help me my child was attending kindergarten one day my child said the teacher put glue on to my child peni because the teacher said was funny and was a game the teacher didn't tell us nothing about

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 1

Posted June 04, 2015
- a parent
They didn't help me with nothing to resolve a problem with my child The teacher suppose clean my child Penni's but the teacher didn't tell us nothing my child tell us the true The teacher put glue because it was a game and was funny. The said to my son no body help us the police, the Cupertino district no body even the TV. If someone can help me please please


Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
I have very bad experience with this school. My son is in third grade now. He was put in the ELD program since he was in the first grade. The teachers don't care about students at all. They always yell to my son when he didn't answer their questions or not pay attention in the class. He feels bad and low self-esteem. He used to be a very active kid. But he doesn't even talk at school now. I feel very upset and don't know if I have choice to transfer to other public school. Hope someone can help me.

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
We have had a very good experience during my child's first year at Nimitz. The Kindergarten team is fantastic and students have a chance to work with several teachers in addition to their main teacher. My child's Kindergarten teacher, Mr. Morwood, is energetic, funny and skilled. My child absolutely adores going to school every day. Mr. Morwood is also extremely good at responding to parent concerns and questions. I have found the Principal and Assistant Principal to be responsive and helpful. The school wide activities at Nimitz are appropriate and well-planned. I appreciated the recent school 'math night' and the Walk-a-thon earlier this spring. This is an extremely diverse school, both racially and socio-economically, which I think benefits the students greatly.

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
This school is not equipped to conduct TK classes. The TK teachers at Nimitz seem inexperienced and lack the know-how of dealing with 4-5 year olds. We are surprised with school's liberal policies when it comes to physical bullying. There's a lot of hitting and pushing in all 3 TK classrooms that the school does not wish to acknowledge. Its sad that Nimitz was chosen as one of the TK centers.


Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 2

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
This is a response to "A parent " who talked about the bullying problem in March 2014. Your situation is not alone. We used to attend Nimitz and chose to leave when the school didn't deal with the situation quickly and fairly. The situation lasted for more than 6 months and still wasn't dealt efficiently. My kid was miserable during that whole year. I should have pulled him out sooner! I think you did the right thing to pull your kid out of there abruptly! We transferred to another public school. Let me tell you this, not every school deals with the bullying situation the same way. After transferring to the new school only for a month, I knew my son will be safe in that environment. Whenever there was teasing or bullying, the teacher will call out both parties and also "all" (no kidding) the bystanders and witnesses to make sure the situation is clearly understood. When dealt this way, all students knew no one can be immured of punishment for being a bully and all students will feel safe. In my experience, Nimitz didn't deal with it this way. The principal at the new school is absolutely wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a better one!

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School 3

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
My son has always enjoyed learning here. Teachers are kind, dedicated, and creative. However, in 1st grade, my son was physically bullied by his friend multiple times. The kid and his parents were given warnings under the table but that was it. Although physical bullying stopped, this kid turned hostile - he made nasty comments and even threats to my son. The other kids were clueless as to what happened. We reported him again but it didn't help. Worse yet, more kids including my son's friends joined in the teasing as if showing off. After months, my son was so frustrated that he did not want to go to school anymore. So we left abruptly. To be fair, this problem may not be unique at Nimitz. Because of large class size and shorter school days, there is little room for character education. Kids could be picking up values from the corrupted media. And when something happens, the school's response is indifferent, inadequate, ineffective, and invisible. We moved the kids to a small Christian school. He liked God's rules and appreciates daily behavior checks. After our bad experience at Nimitz, all is not lost. We learnt to be very appreciative of a positive learning environment.

Nearby schools

Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School
545 East Cheyenne Drive, Sunnyvale, CA  94087-4421
(408) 736-2180
Last modified Chester W. Nimitz Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top