Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


San Miguel Elementary School 3

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
There is far too much concern about safety. I understand that they don't want the kids to be hurt but not allowing them to play tag or any contact sport whatsoever is just setting them up for failure in my opinion. Far too strict about kids being kids. When these kids grow up without any life experience and they're still living at home you only have yourself to blame. I love the school but the district is forcing them to follow ridiculous policies and a lot of these parents that want to the school to raise their children for them are cowards.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
I feel very lucky to have my two children attending San Miguel Elementary School. My son's in the 4th grade and my daughter's in the 3rd; both have been there since Kindergarten. The teachers, staff, and principal are extremely dedicated to the success of every child there. The Parent Association is solid and supports the teachers' efforts 100% with respect to extracurricular education activities. The student-to-teacher ratio is exceptional! Each student gets the attention they deserve. Student morale is high and misbehavior is low (very low). I feel that my kids are completely safe at this school and even if I moved out of the district, I would be hard pressed to want to pull my kids out of this great place.


San Miguel Elementary School 1

Posted July 30, 2012
- a community member
This school has always been a disappointment. It is an eye sore in my community, with a focus no test scores not children.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2011
- a parent
I have had two children attend San Miguel, and I have been amazed at their level of academic achievement. San Miguel has a tremendous teaching and leadership staff. The teachers that my children had in each grade really cared about my children and their learning. Although the school has lower API scores than some of the schools in the district, this is not reflective of the teaching that happens in the classroom. Both of my children graduated from San Miguel reading above a 12th grade level, and scored very high on the STAR tests each year. Many parents worry about their child being challenged in a school that has lower API scores, but my children were challenged consistently throughout their time at San Miguel. Teachers took the time to provide all levels of learning for all students that challenged them to be their best. I also really liked the uniform policy, and felt the school did a great job with discipline issues as well. Overall, my children received an excellent education at San Miguel, and they were well-prepared for the challenges of middle school and beyond.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a parent
We have been thrilled with our son's progress at San Miguel - he loves school and is thriving in a supportive environment. He is above grade level in all of his academic subjects. The teachers we have had are amazing and must be among the best in the District and they work well as a team. The PTA has been fabulous and the bi-lingual environment and "Peace Keeper" philosophy create an environment where differences are respected and celebrated positively. We were hesitant to enter SM at first, but now are so happy that we have been able to be part of the San Miguel school community. Go Sharks!


San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2011
- a parent
My child entered San Miguel at the kindergarten level. We've had a great experience here! We've had fantastic teachers and a very positive experience working with the staff and principal. The best endorsement I can offer as a parent is my child's stellar academic progress. My son loves the school.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
This school is AMAZING! What a difference from just a couple of short years ago. The test scores are now the most improved in the whole district. Recent grants have allowed SM to expand its Science and Athletics programs. I'm verry happy to have both of my kids there now.

San Miguel Elementary School 2

Posted April 22, 2008
- a parent
This school doesn't seem to allow any fun. The children aren't allowed to dress up for Halloween, there are rarely any assemblies and the PTA is totally unorganized. The teachers are great but they have an uphill battle with all of the non English speakers. This school needs a new direction.


San Miguel Elementary School 2

Posted March 12, 2007
- a parent
Thie school is trying too hard to raise their scores,they have lost the compassion for younger kids. A big dissappointment.

San Miguel Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2006
- a teacher
San Miguel School has a staff of qualified, caring teachers who make the students' needs their first priority. The community formed by parents and other family members is always present and supportive. There is a very warm atmosphere at the school. The students come to school with great attitudes and are enthusiastic about learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Miguel Elementary School
777 San Miguel Avenue, Sunnyvale, CA  94085-3411
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (408) 522-8279
Last modified San Miguel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top