Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 4

Posted November 24, 2012
- a parent
SPHDS' new head is making some impressive changes. Singapore math-amazing. Hebrew curriculum remains strong. It also feels like the school is becoming more diverse, especially in the pre-school. For us, a bilingual program was huge, and sphds did better than any other program we looked at. Good so far!

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a teacher
SPHDS is wonderful place for a child to learn and grow. Children are encouraged to ask questions and to take an active role in their learning. General Studies teachers provide hands-on and meaningful lessons, children learn to read, write and speak Hebrew and learn a deeper understanding of Judaic beliefs and values. I highly recommend giving your child the gift of becoming a life-long learner at SPHDS.


South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful caring school environment where each child in encouraged to reach their potential. Teachers and administrators genuinely care about the children and their intellectual, social, and personal growth. Strong general studies, Judaic studies, and Hebrew education. New Head of School has brought new energy to the school community. Our children have thrived at SPHDS for over six years from preschool to lower school, and we look forward to middle school in upcoming years.

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 2

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
Overall, the school barely meets the mark. Supervision is very weak, especially on the playground, and the academics could be stronger. That's because the school focuses -- I believe too much -- on Hebrew and Judaic studies. In addition, the teachers are not clued up on diagnosing learning disabilities, such as dyslexsia.

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a community member
Amazing school! Learned here from Preschool until 8th grade.The teachers and staff are excellent. The overall atmosphere is amazing, in the classroom, during breaks. The student-teacher relationship is amazing, I remember loving all my teachers.


South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 5

Posted January 29, 2011
- a community member
The staff have a great connection with children, and really understand their developmental needs. It's been a great place to have our children discover the special talents that they possess.

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Excellent preschool program. Caring teachers and wonderful supportive staff. Highly recommend the Pre-K extra curricular activities.

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 1

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 5

Posted March 16, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is currently at Preschool at SPHDS and we love it. But most importantly she loves it. Great teachers, great education and wonderful kids.

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School 0
no rating

Posted December 06, 2005
- a parent
I am a preschool parent and have been very happy with SPHDS. I am concerned that in the upper grades it becomes more religious than I am comfortable with, but it provides a thorough exposure to Jewish religion and culture in preschool along with all the other things preschool should have like good toys and fun activities. There are many Israeli families and a lot of exposure to Hebrew via songs and prayers in the classroom.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Peninsula Hebrew Day School
1030 Astoria Drive, Sunnyvale, CA  94087
(408) 738-3060
Last modified South Peninsula Hebrew Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
South Peninsula Hebrew Day School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top