Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gaspar De Portola Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1966 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

145 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Great, AMAZING SCHOOL! I love the teachers and it may be hard to find friends, but eventually you find some. I learn a lot and have been coming to this school since 6th grade (in 7th now) I'm currently in honors and I think it's great. Come here if you love nice teachers, cool electives, and a great campus!


Posted March 5, 2014

Portola is good if you're in the Highly Gifted Magnet, and the magnet kids are all friends with each other because the magnet has only about 240 kids. As for my experience? Excruciating. I'm in honors, and most kids in the honors program here are very stuck up and cliquish. It's so hard to make friends here because it's such a huge school for a middle school. I had a friend but she moved to Agoura and is now at Lindero Canyon Middle School. Unless you know kids at Portola from your elementary school, you won't make friends from day one. The math and science honors teachers are so lazy. The school, unlike Millikan, S.O.C.E.S and many other middle schools, has a very mediocre drama program. The instructor does not put on any real plays or musicals because he lets the kids make re-enditions of them, thinking that 12-13 year olds can write plays! I have been in so much agony these past 3 years. I got bullied twice in 6th grade. The homework amount is ridiculous for pre-teens. This was good when my mom attended it, but now it's for the birds. I can't wait to graduate in 3 months and have a better experience in high school, at Calabasas or El Camino, which have amazing programs. :)


Posted January 31, 2014

This school is the BEST! The adults all know my name, yet it is my first year at Portola. I am a sixth grader in the Magnet program. The new principal knows my name, both ladies in the main office, and most of the yard aids. This school has a strict no bullying policy, so the school is bully-free. There is the occasional bullying, but that can usually end up in detention, paper-pickup, or suspension. We have a 30 minute drive every day, but it is worth it. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone and everyone who asks, "What school do you think I should go to?" BEST SCHOOL EVER!


Posted October 30, 2013

GPMS is a good school, our child has been in this school for 1 year , from mid 7th-8th, and has no complains so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

I would give this school zero star if I could. The worst middle school honors program in the valley. Unless you are in the HG magnet, stay away from this school !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school does not prepare students adequately for high school. Even in the honors program, my straight A son could not pass a take home test my neighbor's son had from his school. Over the years, we have been disappointed overall with the quality of the teachers and the principal, and now there is a fair comparison of how prepared my son REALLY is. The new principal seems to have a strong impact on the teachers as there is a definite change in atmosphere (for the better ! ) but I fear it is too late for my son to feel any change in the teaching levels. Overall, the academics here is not very challenging - I'd like to believe my boy is very smart - he gets great grades, but it seems that this is due to the teaching and/or material not being challenging enough. He'd get crushed at a different middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This school may have a great magnet program . My child is an honor student. She is a straight A's student. But the honor class for 7th grader is just poorly taught by bad teachers with silly homework. The work the kids learn in class is below the honor level of other schools. My kid is bored out her mind, student in honor asking silly questions in class and the teachers does not stay with the subject. I am considering changing school or home school my kid. Public school are not teaching her the education she need to prepare for high school. I drive 35 min everyday to this school and feel like its a waste of time and gas. I would not take my kid here if I knew better . The last 5 weeks is just a waste of time. The teacher has not taught anything valuable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

Mr marsh is flat out amazing you could go to him with any problem and its solved in no time flat
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

The athletic coaches were amazing and they train there players to always win and not to lose
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Portala has been wonderful for my daughter. She is in honors. I was worried about her attending such a large school, but I could not be happier with my decision. Socially and academically, she has grown beyond my expectations. I had always considered private school for her high school years, but because of my experience at portola, I may reconsider that decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I am very happy so far with the school. The school seems well organized and focused on high achievement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

My children attend the HGM at this school. The teachers are keyed into the different way the children in the program think and learn. They are talented, thought provoking and encourage discussion. The Music program is incredible. Mrs. Calkins is a gift to this school. Mrs. Toborowski and Mr. Okimura clearly have an impact on the students. They challenge the students to think outside their comfort zone. Ms. Garcia, the Dean for the HGM students helps guide both the students and the parents as they navigate through this pivotal time in the students' academic careers. The parent group is aggressive (in a positive way) and truly have a voice in how this school operates. Love it here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

I have had multiple children attend this school over the past six years and have always been extremely pleased. I am concerned about the pending change in Principal's as Ms. Shaha was wonderful. She was incredibly responsive and worked closely with my child and her special Ed needs. I find the majority of teachers and other staff to be personable and caring. It is clear there is a lack of funding which would help with more electives and extra curricular activities. My kids have stated they like the campus and the layout, especially my youngest liking the separation of the sixth graders from the older kids. Although there have been problems with some teachers it appears the issues were handled appropriately and in a timely manner. I would (and have) recommend this school to many family members and friends. If every school in LAUSD were operated like Portola the District's image would be greatly enhanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2013

I am a parent and contacted the Principal's office after my child told me about the amount of movies being shown in class. I get that movies related to subject matter are appropriate - this is not the case. During last week's CST tests my child watched over 3.5 hours of movies during the school day. That is more than they watch at home in a week! I asked my child about movies in other classes and they made a list of 16 movies they have seen in band, math, science, english and homeroom. Seeing Toy Story, Back to the Future 1, 2 and 3, Thomas the Tank Engine, Mega Mind, Men in Black and several others which had nothing to do with classes is absurd. I never received a call back from the Principal. After repeated calls, I spoke to the assistant Principal who stated that the 3+ hours of movies shown in homeroom was due to the CST tests and he cannot ask homeroom teachers to prepare a plan to entertain the kids during that time. Why not? They are teachers accustomed to preparing lesson plans. I also reminded him that they are not there to entertain the kids, but to teach them. I am sure this fell on deaf ears. There is absolutely no commitment to learning here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

Portola has been an excellent school for my daughter. She has been very happy in the highly gifted magnet - the teachers are imaginative and challenging and her fellow students are great. Her electives and more recent PE courses have been taken with the regular school teachers and students and, though less academically challenging than the magnet courses, she has learned a lot from them and certainly enjoyed the students and teachers. The administration is wonderful. We had issues with some obnoxious boys the first year, but the administration handled that well. I could imagine that some students/parents might have a bad experience at Portola. It is a pretty urban school with a lot of diversity. Parents and students, and teachers for that matter come here with a range of life experiences. That has been a good thing for my daughter, but not without some rough patches - life is all about learning to navigate through those rough patches. This is a good school to learn, not just to navigate through life, but to be challenged and to excel! Portola is an incredible school and my daughter has been well prepared to enter North Hollywood Highly Gifted in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

The API scores are puzzling as I wonder if the highly gifted magnet scores are over inflating these. I agree with the reviewer that the school is overall a big minus sign with no apparent leadership. School messages are either same day or next day so there seems to be a lot of "calendar surprise" indicating lack of planning. Messages to the principal and teachers often go unanswered and unacknowledged. Very apathetic. School staff is generally anti-social.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Great school, great teachers and staff. My child is very happy here and feels very at home. She is in the Honors Program and loves it. It is a big school and there are a lot of choices for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

This is the worst school ever! The staff are very rude and teachers don't care about students. There is no communication between teacher-parent. If you want your kid to success then don't enroll him/her here : /
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

This school gets 840 API scores! How bad can the teaching be to have that as the api schoolwide average! The campus is landscaped beautifully. All teachers and the school info can be found on the website for homework assigned and emailing a teacher. The only problem I see is that there needs to be more openings for 7th grade HG magnet students as those that complete the eagle rock HG magnet thru 6th grade have a slim chance getting in to 7th HG magnet. 0ver 25 never got off the waiting list! They are suppose to choose to leave the eagle rock HG magnet early after 5th grade or complete that HG magnet to 6th grade and hope you are one of the top 3 grade wise to get in to the HG magnet at 7th. Disgraceful to have to make that choice and what, the wannabe 7th grade HG magnet kids of eagle rock HG magnet without being the top 3 grade wise should just digress from a HG magnet continuation?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2012

We just finished the second week of school and my child is already off to a bad start with one of his teachers, most likely due to my questioning the teacher. Assignments aren't credited, documetns which I sign for my child to return aren't documented that I signed, so I resign duplicate documents and "points" are lost. They expect your child to be an adult. It was the second week of school, give a child a break.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

866

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

866

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

578 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

577 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

586 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
64%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

591 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

592 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

592 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females63%
Males69%
African American51%
Asian92%
Filipino65%
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability19%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner4%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state56%

Math

All Students62%
Females58%
Males66%
African American51%
Asian89%
Filipino76%
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to state46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state100%

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Females70%
Males73%
African American64%
Asian90%
Filipino79%
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate37%
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state63%

Math

All Students63%
Females63%
Males63%
African American60%
Asian73%
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students74%
Females75%
Males73%
African American59%
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state68%

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females72%
Males68%
African American42%
Asian85%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability11%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state59%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students34%
Females28%
Males38%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disability34%
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only37%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate17%
Parent education - high school graduate28%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state32%

Geometry

All Students97%
Females98%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state100%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students68%
Females64%
Males71%
African American47%
Asian87%
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disability39%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only71%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate51%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Science

All Students73%
Females71%
Males74%
African American51%
Asian93%
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate56%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to state62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 27%
Hispanic 35% 51%
Asian 12% 11%
Black 7% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 2039 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
61%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
63%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
58%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
75%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
62%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
88%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
76%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
82%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
53%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
68%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
54%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
82%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
66%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
66%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents44436%
Students155987%
Employees3630%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Adrienne Shaha
Fax number
  • (818) 996-0292

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Parent center
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18720 Linnet St.
Tarzana, CA 91356
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 654-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Faucher Academy
Tarzana, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT