Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Madrona Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 570 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

Our child is in kindergarten and the teachers are great. Our child spends half of the day in a special ed classroom and the other portion in a mixed classroom. While we were excited about the integration and time for more individualized learning and attention, we have seen that even at the kindergarten age the kids see the special ed class as outsiders who sometimes come to "their class". I think this causes issues in both the present and the future and is not ideal. We love the teachers but the set up is not great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

We chose which home to purchase when we relocated to the area based on the wonderful reviews of this school. We were very disappointed for two reasons. 1) The teacher to student ratio for grades 4 and 5 is 35:1. The lower grades has a better ratio of 25:1. With those ratios, and one teacher in the classroom, students fall through the cracks. 2) The second reason is the moral fiber of the school is low. Things go missing out of desks and backpacks and there is no interest in addressing the problem. The reply is "get better at protecting your stuff". Bullying on the playground is also very prevalent. The yard duty does try to help, but lots of bullying goes unnoticed. The reason they got the Distinguished School award is because a nearby school was closed and the students were integrated into this school. The test scores were very low the first year of integration. To the school's credit, they managed to enable the integrated student's success and the test scores got back to normal. The drastic improvement in standardized test scores is why they got the award.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2012

We love this place! Our son is starting the 1st grade this year, and we have found the teachers, staff, and principal to be very involved, very caring, and very knowledgable about our child as an individual. Our son was there for Kindergarten in an integrated class with typical kids and special needs kids. Amazing teachers, amazing children (with and without special needs), amazing aids. This school is teaching kids more than just academics...they are teaching tolerance and understanding, and they are building character. We could not be more proud to say our son attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

This school is amazing. We have had such awesome teachers. Mrs Baird and Mrs Cole are simply incredible. We can't believe we used to pay for private school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

I love my school. I am in the 5th grade and have been here since kindergarten. I have learned so much.


Posted August 21, 2012

When we moved to our new house we were not sure what to expect from our neighborhood school. Madrona has been a great place for our family.


Posted August 20, 2012

I have three children at Madrona and have been thrilled with the programming they have received. The office staff is amazing too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Madrona has been a wonderful place for our family! We feel lucky to be a part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Great PTA. Great teachers. Great kids. Great office staff. Distinguished School in 2012. Madrona is awesome!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

As a grandparent of ne of the students in your care, I just wanted to say "thanks" for caring so much about your precious little ones. It must be quite a challenge today to serve all the needs of parents and students, but I wanted you to know we noticed! You are awesome: teachers, adminstrators, office staff, after school care. We really appreciate your hard work. It has not gone unnoticed! F.O.R. 1


Posted October 5, 2010

Quite frankly, I have been disappointed and wish I would have sent my son somewhere else. The school seems so big and impersonal, and has lost the character that it used to have a reputation for. I know other parents last year that wished they would have done the same, but we will stick out the next few years to see if anything changes. I had hoped our neighborhood school would have been less snobby, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I love Everything! Its a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

I have 4 kids, 2 that have moved on to middle school, 1 at Madrona, and 1 starting next year. The teachers and staff are fantastic and parent volunteers are wonderful. My kids have been very well prepared for middle school, private and public. What a shame that it had to shut down their great 6th grade. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I have been so impressed by this school, the teachers, office staff, and the principal. It is hard to believe it is a public school. The PTA is amazing. The level of involvement of the parents is astounding. You just get a warm fuzzy feeling whenever you are at the school. Everybody cares. I moved here for this school, and I'll stay here for it as long as I can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

I have had 2 children educated at Madrona grade K-6. I couldn't be happier with all of the teachers my children have had, the caring and responsive nature of the staff, as well as the leadership of the principal. I thank all those individuals that have guided my children through their elementary years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I believe Madronia is one of the best schools available to Parents/children in Thousand Oaks. The most important, in our opinion are programs that help students with reading, math, oral presentations, and Spanish. I am disappointed that more of the money allocated is not toward to these important areas. In the near future, Spanish will be the prodomient language. It is imperative elementary kids are fluent in Spanish and English. Tutors in reading and math were previously non existent. The are getting better, however. It is a shame parents are asked to vote on what $ to divert to: volleyball nets, or educational programs. The teachers are top notch and great with students. The only drawback is availability of educational tutoring, and more focus on todays challenges, not those that are antiquated (computer literacy and Spanish are just two), as well as important tools in todays business world, such as public speaking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Madrona continues to improve every year. My children graduated from this school and have been very successful in college. Parent involvement is high and so are student expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

To add to my previous post... The staff in the office are a great bunch to work with! I have never had a bad experience with them even though my son (attending the past 3 years) has been in trouble a few times. No judgement or resentment towards my child or me. Madrona is not our neighborhood school so I had to fight like heck to get my son in there. And we are all so happy he did! My little one will be starting Kindergarten there (hopefully) in the fall. Thanks Madrona!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Excellent School in all guidelines.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2004

My husband and I love Madrona Elementary! My daughter currently attends and my son will be starting Kindergarten in the fall. This school has high standards for its students and it shows in the test scores. It also have many afterschool activities that our daughter has taken part in like tennis, art, mad science and spanish. It is a very well rounded school with a wonderful staff! I give it 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

893

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

893

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females74%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females76%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females58%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females81%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females80%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females89%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)94%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females84%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females85%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian88%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females80%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 27%
Hispanic 21% 51%
Asian 15% 11%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

612 Camino Manzanas
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360
Phone: (805) 498-6102

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bethany Christian School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Aspen Elementary School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Acacia Elementary School
Thousand Oaks, CA


Wildwood Elementary School
Thousand Oaks, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT