Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Tollhouse, CA
Students enrolled: 587

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sierra High School 1

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
First of all alot has changed since the 90's, those were the days that teachers actually cared about your child's education. If your child was failing or behind they would use their own time to help get you back on track. It seems now all they really care about is the same thing the kids care about, that bell to ring. These days your child can't even ask for help because these teachers at Sierra Unified run your child off. They don't want to be bothered. Child assessment was a joke, sat around a table with all my childs teachers and listened to them sigh and roll their eyes and watched them stare at clock waiting for the first bell to ring. Communication between teacher/parent is horrible. If your looking to move here and sending your child/children to Sierra please know it maybe be small but their are many problems. Another complaint at this school by many parents are the drugs. Maybe Sierra should pay more attention to all the drugs being brought onto campus and less time on the dress code!!!!!

Sierra High School 4

Posted April 24, 2013
- a community member
I went to Sierra in the 90's. The school decline is based on the closing of the logging industry and other forestry jobs in the early 90's. Total school population in 93, maybe 950. The area became a bedroom community. I'm sure gas has hurt that too. Anyways, I had good teachers. The school offered college prep as well as many trades courses. I did feel the sports programs favored the kids that went to K-8 schools in Auberry and Tollhouse. But if you play a sport besides football, basketball or baseball, you will have no problem being chosen for your skill. Students come from 30 + miles in every direction to get to school. I had a 1 hr. bus ride from North Fork. This can add a challenge to game day transportation if your a parent. My parents came to a lot of my games. But you're child might be 70 miles away in a town that has a school relative in size to Sierra's. You as a parent might be 100 miles from the event. So you can expect late returns if you're going to pick them up at school. But for whatever the reason, I have fond memories of the place(Chieftain Head, Senior Rock, School Year Rock, dances in the small gym, and etc...)


Sierra High School 2

Posted January 06, 2013
- a parent
One poster said Sierra has a great drama dept .. they do, it's called "Sports". Another poster summed it up well .. "Sports at this run down school= POLITICS POLITICS POLITICS" This is what happens when you get parents that want to be heavily involved hoping to make their mediocre kid a star. I have to admit that at times it has been amusing and occasionally downright comical watching the antics of some of them.

Sierra High School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
Our family loves SUSD! this is our fourth year of our children attending SIerra Unified. We have been involved with a lot of firsts for our district. My son was in the first graduating class of Sierra Junior High. This was a necessary step to try to get our district towards healthy economics. Nervous at first glance, however it went very well and the students really enjoyed the new school. 7th and 8th graders were kept separate from high school students and activities. Foothill Elementary runs very smooth with great teachers and happy students k-6 with a caring awesome leader Mr Brad Barcus. Regardless of negative publicity you may hear, bad news travels fast and unhappy folks like to run their mouth. Sierra remains strong in academics API scores are high, SHS, SJHS and Foothill all well above the 800 state guidelines. Our High School Ag dept is second to none winning many awards. Athletics at Sierra are winning Valley Championships. Students who attend this small mountain community school district are more likely to go on and get a degree than many other districts you maybe considering. Our community has great families with hard working students. Raise your family with us!

Sierra High School 1

Posted August 28, 2012
- a parent
For being such a small community you would expect it to be a friendly enviroment for you & your family to live. But if you weren't born here or your children didn't start Kindergarden here they will always be treated as if they dont belong. Sports at this run down school= POLITICS POLITICS POLITICS. The parents choose who makes the school sports team not the coaches...dont waste your time on having your child tryout for sports because players are already chosen long before tryouts even start! Sad but true. The elementary, junior high & high school are all the same here, ran by the parents. Sierra Unified is a huge disappointment, not only for me but for my children also.


Sierra High School 4

Posted August 06, 2012
- a parent
I think when you give a review you need to take it very seriously. A student posting is NOT going to give a completely thought out, honest review. This school, Sierra High School was indeed rated very high based on their scores, just like all the other schools. It looks like the student had problems but you can't tell exactly what went wrong. The teachers here are teaching so well that the kids are getting very high grades in all subjects. So, it's NOT the teachers. People look to these ratings to find out where they want to move and where they want to avoid. People could very well be put off by this upset student and not ever find out that the school IS doing well. I'm one of those people looking around the area for good schools and a house we can afford. If you have complaints be more specific in what went wrong for you, don't just condem the whole school. I'm sorry you had a bad experience.

Sierra High School 2

Posted June 22, 2011
- a student
One of the poorest schools in the state, in fact so poor that there will only be two schools in the district one (K-6) and the high school (7-12) The quality of the school has to bve one of the worst in the state. Most of the teachers are all the rejects from down in Fresno and they just hand you a bunch of work and say "Do it" without really teaching you. Doesn't even have a buisness class. atletics are mediocre. Majority of the kids have little to no friends, and everyone classifies you as a loser. If you for some reason have to move to the fresno area, trust me, do not move so your kid can go to school here. The declining enrollment will agree with me.

Sierra High School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a teacher
I love SHS because it is a small mountain community filled with a variety of teachers, students and ways of life. The scenery around is great and it is over all a fantastic school.


Sierra High School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a student
This school is best school that you can go to the teachers there are the best that you can have!

Sierra High School 0
no rating

Posted June 07, 2009
- a parent
I am unimpressed. If you have any kid of child with a problem, they really don't know what to do. They lack training and their special educaiton program director is awful and gets paid for doing nothing

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sierra High School
33326 Lodge Road, Tollhouse, CA  93667
(559) 855-8311
Last modified Sierra High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sierra High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top