Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Melville S. Jacobson Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 643 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

This school has a lot of issues due to the student body not the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2013

They should allow all students to use the side gates, especially when it's cold and their classrooms are near the gates. The main entrance is always packed, making it so hard for some students to arrive on time! It's not fair!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

look some were else don't recommend this school go in and ask to see the test results and you would agree .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

My daughter is in Mrs. Hallen's Kindergarten class and loves it !!! If she could go 7 days a week she would. Mrs. Hallen is a very active and organized teacher. She has control over her classroom and students but has fun with them as well. She takes time to individually know her kids, strengths and weaknesses. I have no complaints and am thankful that she was out first teacher here at Jacobson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2010

This is my son's first year at Jacobson and at first I was'nt too happy that we belonged to this school just because the ratings are so low, And my son attended a good school in the bay area for kindergarten so I was really afraid he was going to be held back at this school with the low rating it has, I was going to have my son transfer schools, until I got to know what a great teacher my son has. But I have to say I'm still not sure about the school because my son has'nt been there that long this is his first year but so far what I've seen is that staff there are triying the best they can to make the school a much better one. But what I defenetly do have to say is that my son's teacher is amazing she teaches them so much, I notice my son learnes so much and many times he even teaches me things I did'nt know and he is only in 1st grade so defenetly my worries about him being held back is not a worry anymore Mrs.Mello is a GREAT TEACHER she has a special way of teaching, that kids really enjoy and understand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

It has been a great experience for both of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The teachers, principal, staff and parents make Jacobson an exceptional school. My son excels there because of the excellent foundation that is being laid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This is a wonderful school.They have alot of talented teachers. My son is in 2nd grade a has a fantastic teacher, Mrs. Bower. She is great with her students, and takes great pride in going above and beyond with the kids. She has a fun and joyful personality which makes her students learning fun. I am so impressed with her. My son loves her!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great School!!! Thank you Mrs. Gowan. In your class 'learning is fun'...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

My son loved Mrs. Gowan's class also! There were very creative projects daily. She encouraged wonderful things of her students. You can tell she really loves those kids and does great with them. I hope 1st grade proves to have great teachers as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

Great School. My daughter was in Kindergarten and in the AM Class. Mrs. Gowan is very talented and great teacher. She encouraged my daughter on her area of interests, she carefully choose good books for the kids and let us borrow them home and read, also encouraged her completing majority of 1000 side words within kindergarten. She silently observe each and every student how they are progressing and let parents know where they need extra attention. I hope to get the same kind of care and teaching skills in her 1st grade. thanks Gowan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

It's a great school. They have wonderful team of teachers. I have deep respect on principal ledership as well. I just wish that we could see more involvement from other parents. I know the school is trying hard on extracurriuclar activities and I am looking forward to see more improvement. Recently I was attending Parents Learning Night wiht other 1st grade parents. I felt moved by how school were trying to reach out to parents with extra efforts. I am very hopeful for future of Jacobson. They may be not number one but I know they will make a dfference in my childern life. And that is important to me. I am very proud to be Jacobson family.... :):) ... Sould off Jacobson!! ... Sould off Jaguars!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

they are best school ever my child whent to being an F student to being straight A's. And the school she went to was an privet school befo Jacob school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Miss.Carlson kinder teacher is great. She is all about the children. my daughter was in her pm class last year. Thank you Ms.Carlson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

MIss. Carlson kinder teacher is great. She is all about the children. My daughter was in her pm class last year. Thank you Miss. Carlson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Great school, they have really improved the teacher to student ratio and my child is excelling in all aspects of this program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

I think there SDC program is great.. My son had improved 100% just by being in that class. Thanx's :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

The school was a great disappointment to us after moving from the Bay area. My daughter was ahead of grade level in all areas when she started here and became so bored due to the lack of the teachers ability to differentiate instruction (teach many levels at the the same time to keep all students challenged. The office staff is wonderful and the Principal was a great listener.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

Good special day class. They really care about the individual student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2005

I found that moving into a new area that have year round school, was not very beneficial for my child. With the school being year round, I found that my child always struggled to stay up with the class. I strongly recommend a tutor for anyone starting school in this area to allow your child the opportunity to be on the same level as existing students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

764

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

764

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
30%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Females59%
Males31%
African Americann/a
Asian40%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner32%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate39%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%

Math

All Students47%
Females46%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asian40%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate39%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Females38%
Males38%
African Americann/a
Asian80%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate19%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)41%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state31%

Math

All Students50%
Females46%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females59%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state43%

Math

All Students57%
Females55%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females51%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asian55%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate56%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students57%
Females56%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asian64%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner41%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students33%
Females24%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asian9%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability33%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only42%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)34%
Parent education - college graduate33%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 52%
White 18%
Asian 13%
Black 6%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/AN/A
English language learners 43%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cindy Sasser
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (209) 830-3316

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1750 West Kavanagh Avenue
Tracy, CA 95376
Website: Click here
Phone: (209) 830-3315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT