Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Basil's

Private | K-8 | 276 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vallejo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

I am used to be a parent of St. Basil's School. The reason why I nominate this school is because I cannot find a school who treat you as a family. St. Basil's school in Vallejo Ca. has a good scholastic record base on the recent test that they gave to the students. The moment you step in their office you felt the welcome that both Pat and Lourdes who work at the front office gave you. For me St. Basil's school is the best and for now I am working my way to go back to this school.


Posted July 30, 2013

Horrible School! Kids are lacking in education so I transferred them to another Catholic School in Vallejo. When they went here their teacher was horrible and the principal had poor leadership. I recently heard that they changed the principal. But I will not send my kids back here anytime soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

My son is in fourth grade and has been at st. Basil since kindergarten. We couldn't be happier. The principal is amazing, the teachers are wonderful and the families are great. The academics are top notch, including computers, music, art, p.e, Spanish and library time. My son loves the extra fun such as mardi gras, talent show, field day, walk for the poor etc!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

We have attended this school since pre-school and my oldest is about to graduate from 8th grade. I cannot begin to tell you how wonderful this school is. They really have their priorities straight. They are strong on academics, they instill social responsibility, they prioritize 'acting right' and decision making. They are into making a whole, responsible, independent, educated individual. They nurture and protect your child until about 5th grade, then in 6th, they start expecting you to keep track of your own stuff, act independently, and pull your weight. I personally, love this approach, but I have heard from some parents that that was not their expectation. I have to say, it works for me and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

Our son switched to SBS when he started junior high because we were concerned about the quality of the education he'd get at a Vallejo middle school and high school. We were so happy about the switch that we decided to move our daughter there too even though we liked Wardlaw and she didn't hit jh yet. In the public schools the focus is on math and reading, but somehow SBS is able to do an amazing job teaching these subjects and also incorporate music, religion, social studies, pe and science! We also love how they teach the kids to give back to the community. Although it is a big sacrifice for our family for the tuition it is well worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

I love this school. My child is now more disciplined and has a better self-esteem since attending SBS. They instill basic catholic education in the students without making but at the same time not cramming it or brainwashing them. For example. My 1st grade child came home one day and said, " I believe in Jesus, Mom, but some people believe in Buddha." He is aware that there are lots of religions and is not judgmental. My child loves their after school program as well. I find that the faculty and staff at SBS are happy and really want what is best for their school community. This is important! Also, I like the diversity of the families who attend both the church and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

Fantastic staff and education program. My daughter is now 3rd grade but learning 4th grade public school math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

Vallejo has excellent private education. One of the best schools is St. Basil's. They have reasonable rates, they encourage parent participation. It is unfortunate that testing scores of private schools are not published, since for sure, St. Basil's educational standards are up to par, if not greater than area schools. They have a new, young and dynamic principal, who has shown concern, consistency and total involvement in all aspects of patient educational and spiritual learning. He instituted positive changes in the school. Use of funds are very transparent. The school just recently implemented summer advanced classes, where parents can choose what classes their kids can take- reading/writing, math, cooking, spanish etc. The school has great sports program option for students. Fr. Leon is very close to the school and guides the students spiritually. The school is newly painted and renovated. May the teachers and staff continue their great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

St. Basil's School is a great school. Their style of teaching is very creative. They encourage parent participation. They instill religious basics very well. The principal, staff, kids as well as the parents feel like a small intimate family. The rates are relatively inexpensive compared to area private schools. pre-school is great, too! The kids are very simple, down-to-earth. Humility is evident in the campus, as well as respect to one another. Kids are very very simple. This school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

My kids have always been happy here and love this school like a second home. They have flourished academically and the teachers are extremely attentive and nurturing. We have attended St. Basil's since the preschool and up to the fourth grade so far. You always feel welcome on the campus and invited to take part in all of the extra-curricular events as well as involvement in the classroom. I found it to be an excellent environment to raise my children. I highly recommend it as the best choice for elementary school in Vallejo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

St. Basil's is a wonderful school. Parent involvement is huge. All children at this school are very friendly and respectful towards each other as well as adults. Rude behavior, bullying or disrespect is not tolerated. My kids have been at this school for 5 years, and have never witnessed nor heard of any type of violent activity. The curriculum is according to the Diocese of Sacramento (this is a Catholic school), and is challenging and above-average compared to Vallejo public schools. Sports include volleyball, basketball and baseball. In Jr. High electives include music. The staff is great. Father Leon visits regularly and the kids love him. They attend mass regularly. Class size is 35-40 children/class, but the large class size doesn't compromise learning at all because all kids are well behaved and know not to disrupt instruction. I would recommend anyone send their child to St. Basil's.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 29% 3%
White 22% 26%
Hispanic 14% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Julia Boen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Sacramento
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1230 Nebraska Street
Vallejo, CA 94590
Phone: (707) 642-7629

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Son Valley Academy
Vallejo, CA



Reignierd School
Vallejo, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT