Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cohasset Street Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten and his teacher is so wonderful, patient and caring. He looks forward to going to school and is excited every morning, so we are happy parents! His excitement every morning says a lot about the quality of his teacher and his school as a whole. I have gone to several parent/school meetings and the Principal, Ms. Yahudian, is doing a fine job in trying to encourage the parents to support their children's education and become more involved, so that is very appreciated by parents that understand how important a nurturing environment is to young children. So far, we are very happy with our son's experience.

Cohasset Street Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a community member
What a positive place to be!!! The administrators and staff work diligently to provide a warm and academically stimulating environment for the children. The school focuses on the whole child and provides many creative opportunity through art and dance programs. If your child needs special related services all the assessments and related services are provided in a caring manner. This is a great school!


Cohasset Street Elementary School 1

Posted July 04, 2014
- a community member
Read the post dated 5/7/2013 from a TEACHER who extolls the "principle"...it's correctly spelled principal....just sayin' And then the post dated 5/23/2014...yes there is intrigue....

Cohasset Street Elementary School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Due to the fact that this school is 90% Hispanics the school takes advantage of that by harassing the parents as well as the students. Most of the teachers need better management skills for their students, that for every little thing they want to throw either social services on the parent or claim your child has behavioral problems. Once you deny the services to get your child evaluated, the harassing begins!!!! Don't enroll your child in this school! BEWARE OF THE PRINCIPLE, THEY ALL COVER UP FOR EACH OTHER

Cohasset Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2013
- a teacher
Great teachers. Very involved principle. Extremely active parent center. School makes you feel welcomed. Strives to provide the best for every student.


Cohasset Street Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
Our experience at Cohasset El. was wonderful. My son was in the collaborative kindergarten class with Mr. corkill and Mrs. Garity and couldn't have been in better hands. They were so caring, compassionate and involved. The learning environment was well structured, balanced and exciting. The teachers were teamed so perfectly to have great command of the students while providing a nurturing and safe classroom setting. The faculty and office staff, for the most part, were warm and well organized. The parent center regularly organized helpful workshops and supported and welcomed parents on a daily basis. Although parent involvement was perhaps not as high as it could be, Cohasset definitely reaches out and invites it. They were all very welcoming and provided a feeling of school pride and community.

Cohasset Street Elementary School 4

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
I say 'above average' specifically for the kids with IEPs. I agree with the previous post, the Pre-K SRLDP/PCC with Mrs. Cruz and Mrs. Cantu is amazing. My son has a mild form of autism and he spent more than 2 years in that class. They got him more than ready for Kindergarten. (with Mr. Corkill and Mrs. Garity) We never had a problem getting related services like Speech Therapy and Occupational Therapy. Their staffers and admin are first rate. What brings this school down is lack of parent involvement. There is practically no sense of community. I value deeply all of the work Cohasset does for its students. Unfortunately, it seems a majority of parents don't stress to their children the importance of an education. It's saddens me that Open House and Back to School Nights are never crowded, because only a handful of parents show up.

Cohasset Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 31, 2008
- a parent
My son is in the preschool class with Ms. Cantu and MS. Cruz. They are fabulous teachers. He has blossomed in their class so much. He comes home excited about school and can't wait to tell us what he did that day. They are patient and teach in an engaging way so the students are excited about learning. I have met the A.P. and she seems very nice and willing to work with parents.


Cohasset Street Elementary School 4

Posted August 23, 2005
- a parent
Highly skilled teaching staff. All staff are very commited to all aspects of the curriculum, including 'beyond the basics' such as fine arts, dance and drama. The Principal is extremely commited to maintaining a beautiful, clean campus. There are many newly planted trees and flower beds, and the walls of many outdoor corridors are richly painted with theme-based murals. All staff are very devoted to the students, and enthusiastic about educating them.

Cohasset Street Elementary School 5

Posted March 18, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cohasset Street Elementary School
15810 Saticoy Street, Van Nuys, CA  91406
(818) 787-2113
Last modified Cohasset Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cohasset Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top