Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mesa Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
We came to Mesa from out of state and the bar was set extremely high. My kid's previous school was in a small town setting with involved parents, dedicated teachers, through the roof test scores, and all the funding it needed. Fast forward to the future! I am SO grateful my kids are at Mesa! This school has the same small town community feel. The principal and teachers give their heart and soul to the school and I couldn't be more grateful. Truly, it feels like a great big family. My kids are thriving and learning so much every day. The principal has high expectations for his teachers and that trickles down to the students. The staff is dedicated and enthusiastic. As an AP English teacher that sends students off to Ivy League schools yearly, I can say with confidence that your kids will be off to an excellent start at Mesa. I am among the pickiest of parents, and I am glad I picked Mesa. : )

Mesa Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
Mesa is a great school the teachers and staff are very friendly and easy to approach. I have been a part of this school for 16 years now and I still love it. I have had a great parent-teacher- student relationship every year. The teachers are very caring and always available for help. The teachers all work together to give students the best learning experience possible. Some of the best memories I have are of my kids performing in different school plays, variety shows, field trips or just coming home excited about what they learned that day. I can't say enough great things about this school. The 2015//2016 school year was great I can't wait to see what next year brings!


Mesa Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
My son began Mesa Elementary three years ago and I can't begin to tell you how happy we are with this school. I feel Mesa offers many programs and activities for their students. Most importantly they offer a safe and extremely comfortable school environment. My son has been very fortunate to have such wonderful and amazing teachers. The staff is very helpful, inviting and knowledgeable. The principal, Dr. Hert has been a great addition to Mesa Elementary. Mesa has been a blessing to our family and we are so glad to be part of this wonderful school!

Mesa Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Johnson is an amazing, dedicated and caring person who adores her students! Her love for teaching is inspiring!

Mesa Elementary School 3

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
Bullying is an overlooked issue at this school no matter the severity of the bullying. Students are fighting or tormenting others and the new principal sweeps it under the rug in hopes it will fade away. The Pta tries but the parent involvement is low. It picked up this year but there were some people who would make first timers uncomfortable. I witnessed a mom yelling at the office staff. There is very little to no teacher spiritin school activities. 2015/16 school year will be interesting especially with the new not quite nice PTA president. The new principal has A LOT of work to do to make everyone feel welcome, parents and students.


Mesa Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
Kindergarten and 5th grade are amazing!! The first grade teachers do a good job of teaching the kids tobe responsible.

Mesa Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
It is all about test scores. Be an involved parent or your student will be ignored. Getting to know the names of the students makes them feel important. Very few teachers take the time to do this. The 5th grade and TK teachers are exempt. They are amazing!!

Mesa Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
They do not encourage the students to support each other. There are no consequences for those students that violate the rights of their fellow classmates.


Mesa Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Great School all around, great teachers who care. Please keep up the good work Mesa!

Mesa Elementary School 2

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
This school was satisfactory for the first year my child was enrolled. However, the second year, during the second year the experience was less than adequate. The school has a fundraiser every two weeks that you absolutely must participate in or your child is not treated equally. This is an average of $50-100 monthly just on "donations" and fundraisers. This school does not respect the church and state separation. I was very disappointed with religious symbols in the year book, the Halloween festivities masked as a "Book Parade", and the numerous religious songs in the school recitals, demanding my child to state "under god" in the pledge, and telling him he was drawing devils on his folder. Granted the API is high but the ethics an how they treat their students and the right of those students needs to be taken into consideration.

Nearby schools

Mesa Elementary School
409 South Barranca Street, West Covina, CA  91791-2209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (626) 974-4600
Last modified Mesa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top