Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Justice Street Elementary

Charter | K-5 | 400 students

School for Advanced Studies Program

 
 

Living in West Hills

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $325,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

86 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

I am in my fifth year at this school and have seen a lot of the changes and been an active participant in our community. I'm not sure what the crazy ups and downs are that are being reported and I have volunteered on the yard and do not think that there is an unusual amount of bullying. Happy kids having a full childhood is what I have seen and experienced. Parents that go to PTA events and volunteer in the class know that this is a great school and I am thrilled to have got in on the lottery five years ago. Even though we moved we are still attended Justice and we fully support this excellent public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

Our school Is Justice Street Academy Charter and in our opinion is is the best elementary school in the area. The principal is compassionate to the students needs and always tries to communicate with the parents in a positive way. The teachers are simply the best ever, teaching, smiling and giving the children exactley what they need and want. The campus is really safe and controlled. I highly recommend this school.


Posted August 14, 2013

I have had both my kids enrolled at Justice since the past 4yrs, and have come to a conclusion that it is a good school, but needs some improvements. They definitely need to get someone to clear up the dropping/picking up section. There are so many inconsiderate parents whom think they can just park at that zone just because. It not only put their children in a danger spot, but also put other children and drivers in a danger spot. The office staff is always cheerful and polite, and lets not forget our janitor's. This guys are great, and humble men-always smiling no matter rain, or sunshine. I have not met the Principle and don't care to either, because as I've heard she is not the best person to have a conversation with. I have not seen much of her neither have seen her do much either, and that shows what kind of Principle we have. That being said I think I gave my review of my kids school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

This school was absolutely horrible. The principle doesn't know what she is doing. Both of my kids were mistreated and when I had to bring it up to the principle I was told that their school was really good with really great students. If that was so true, then why was my son being bullied? He was made fun of every day and we are still dealing with the repercussions of the things that were said to me. We also had problems with both teachers, they were unsupportive and unwilling to help much. My son also came home saying his teacher would yell at him and others in the class. He literally became afraid to go to school. This was such a horrible experience I made my family move just so I could be able to put my kids in a new school. This school showed me exactly why LAUSD has such a horrible reputation! So disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

My child goes to this school and has been a witness the continued verbal browbeating of her teacher by the new principal. She explained that the teacher is unable to get the principal to back them when it comes to the misbehavior of certain problem children, and for this, they are repeatedly spoken down to in front of the children. One instance was heard from across the schoolyard. I agree that this new principal has no idea what she is doing, or for that matter what her behavior is teaching our children. If she doesn't respect the teachers, why should the children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

My children have gone to this school for several years. Initially I chose this school because I thought it would be better than the norm; quiet area, smaller school, etc. Although the teachers here ARE amazing, I agree that the new principal is clueless & unexperienced. After this last year under her supervision this is no longer an admirable school. Not only is there a huge bullying problem, (which includes their aggressive parents/older siblings who are allowed on campus unsupervised to add to the bullying)....yes there's bullying by adults too!!, there is also a big theft problem, anything and everything gets taken. The principal has shown to have an ostrich syndrome when it comes confronting any issues other than the school budget & fundraising. She literally hides from anything else. This has become a place I don't feal comfortable leaving my child, and seeing that my daughter is ASKING to change schools I think I will be doing so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Be careful when reading on this website. Anyone can post anything and its not necessarily the truth. Our school is moving in a very positive direction. Our primary goal is what's in the best interest of kids and we are striving toward common goals
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 1, 2013

As the school year draws to a close, I wanted to take an opportunity to thank you and your team for continuing to make Justice a School to be proud of. We have found Justice a school that allows the students to grow, learn and have fun, and it is that mixture which defines a childhood experience that the students will recall for a lifetime. I recognize that the administration of a school is no easy task as you navigate state test requirements, budget restraints and rising class sizes, yet I recognize your jobs as one of the most critical responsibilities, as each and every team member establishes the very foundation for 100 s of precious students. While your team focuses on education it is clear that the school recognizes the important balance of academics, technology, and play, all of which giving children a journey which is rewarding, exciting and memorable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

We all take time to communicate when an issue arises, yet few take the time to acknowledge the incredible success stories against multiple challenges. My son has had an wonderful journey at Justice, and from Kindergarten through his current 4th grade the experience has been outstanding. Ms. Benedict, Mr. Wright, Ms. Budd, Ms. Jeager, and Ms. Richards, have all built an outstanding foundation for our son and for this we are grateful. Each educator has taken the time and made the sacrifices to mentor my son, share with us valued and appreciated feedback, and provide a positive and fun learning environment which we and our son cherish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

I have expressed over the years our appreciation to the individual educators, yet wanted to share with you our appreciation of the Justice team, and the valued and appreciated experience your team has created for our son. As a graduate of Justice in 1972, I am proud of the commitment and dedication your team has made to the children of Justice and for creating a learning environment that has benefited the children in our community. I believe that our very future rests with the ideas, values, and experiences gained in the critical elementary school years, and it is the outstanding commitments made day in and day out in the classrooms of Justice that plant the seeds of success for the children in our community. The greatest reward in life is to make a positive difference in the life s of others, and the Justice team makes a difference every day. They make the children of our community their priority, and their efforts are cherished and appreciated! Sincerest Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

I have expressed over the years our appreciation to the individual educators, yet wanted to share with you our appreciation of the Justice team, and the valued and appreciated experience your team has created for our son. As a graduate of Justice in 1972, I am proud of the commitment and dedication your team has made to the children of Justice and for creating a learning environment that has benefited the children in our community. I believe that our very future rests with the ideas, values, and experiences gained in the critical elementary school years, and it is the outstanding commitments made day in and day out in the classrooms of Justice that plant the seeds of success for the children in our community. The greatest reward in life is to make a positive difference in the life s of others, and the Justice team makes a difference every day. They make the children of our community their priority, and their efforts are cherished and appreciated! Sincerest Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Raising my kids here has been a pleasure. Really excellent public school for our family and we appreciate all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2013

This school has gone downhill,we feel sorry for the children that continue going to Justice. With all the other choices of schools nearby, we have chosen to use them for our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

This school has brought many wonderful memories to my family. I am grateful that the teachers, principal, and PTA believe in collaboration. We are problem solvers and work hard to do what's in the best interest of children. Justice is a small school community where people know who my child is and where I feel he is getting a stellar education. Thank you to all of the positive people that belong to our school community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2013

If your interested in this school for your children,let us advise you somethings.This school has become a charter school for and its for the worse.Do some research and compair this school to Pommelo School,compair the websites first.Just like the school its NIGHT and DAY.Infact compair this school to any in Simi Valley first.Some teachers are great and then you have the other ones.The leader of this school is dizzy,first year as Principal and we all hope the last one!Droping your kids off for school in the mornngs and picking them up is a nightmare alone.No safety areas.Parents drop kids off across the street and shove them across the street,others block the streets with NO respect of others. Our tip is dont use this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2012

Justice was a good school and since we got a new principal it is AWESOME! Yes finally this principal put a stop to those overcontrolling moms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I couldn't be happier for having my two children attending this school. Mrs. Villela (kindergarten), Mrs. Ianiro (2nd.grade) and Mrs. Plodinec (1st. grade) are awesome!!!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

Justice Street School is a wonderful school and I have always been pleased with the teachers, staff, and administrators, however, the new leadership seems to really have changed the feel of the school. Every year I have been blessed with hard working teachers striving to provide lessons which are interesting and they have always been there to address any concerns I've had. I believe they are not bothered by change and most are excited to find new ways to improve the school, yet, this year the "family" feeling just isn't there and it's a direct reflection coming from the leadership or lack of. I hope the teachers will continue to make this school the best they can, even without the support of their new principal. It takes a"village" and I don't think the "chief" realizes this yet,,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

Unfortunately I have to give this school an unsatisfactory. It was a great school, however with the new administration there has been many changes that are not in the best interest for our children. Most of the teachers are ready for retirement and are not capable of giving our children the education they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

This was an excellent school. I do believe that change is good and it takes time to adjust. The principal seems overwhelmed and not ready to take on the challenge of being a great principal and giving the children what they deserve.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

899

Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

899

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females66%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females53%
Males67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Females71%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate65%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females88%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)87%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females79%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females79%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females77%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females81%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students76%
Females77%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 33%
Asian 11%
Black 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
English language learners 3%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Spanish
Korean
Hebrew
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 900+ API Honor School (2013)
  • Affiliated Charter (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drill team

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 379 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
67%
 

Students

This school

 
77%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
89%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
84%
 

Employees

This school

 
93%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
84%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
90%
 

Students

This school

 
71%
 

Employees

This school

 
90%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
65%
 

Employees

This school

 
84%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
79%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
79%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents15746%
Students20598%
Employees1740%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Cynthia Hernandez Morrison
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (818) 346-4649

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Hebrew
  • Korean
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Kickball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drill team
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23350 Justice Street
West Hills, CA 91304
Phone: (818) 346-4388

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Faith Baptist School
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT