Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian

Private | K-12 | 256 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Wildomar

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $196,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Seems the school is unable to retain good teachers. Another year of shuffle and change. In addition, the number of International students is on the rise and American students on decline. How anyone teaches students let alone passes them in classes where teachers are not bi-lingual in Korean or Chinese is beyond me. These students cannot read nor write in English, yet are graduating this school. Seems to be a school based on buying a degree; a high school diploma mill. Scary, all in the name of God such dishonesty and lust for money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

All the middle school teachers have been amazing. Thank you for a great year! I hope you all have a wonderful summer. See you next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Disappointed in lack of honesty and integrity. Community Care Licensing wrote us this school for operating without a license. Jr Kindergareten was shut down! Children were brought in with the false pretense that they were operating above board and with a license. It is a CHRISTIAN school afterall. This is all verifiable/public record. Mrs. Privett stated she thought she was exempt, due to integrated Kindergarten. Yet, that did not go into effect until this year. What about the past five years, Mrs Privett? 3 year old children mingled into the mix, the dollar is mightier then God at this school. Just count the imigrant visa's located here! Yikes! Not safe, not honest, not ethical, if this is what leadership exhibits, that explains teachers moral conduct reports. Parents had to find new school. Seems that the same old regime is running things" below the line", and behind locked doors. Do you not wonder why only office staff is kept safe and locked up and anyone could gain access to the children? Strange place and moving on out.. Public Record on all stated above,contact CCS ( Community Care Licensing) to verify, located in Riverside Ca.Substatiated closures for lack of license.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

We have been at CCS for 8 years, and we just have to go on the record in saying that there have been so many positive improvements made to this school since the current principal has joined the staff. Many programs have been added that support student learning, like AR Reading, more Advanced Placement classes, the AWESOME performing arts program, technology classes, computer lab, new library, the AMAZING Washington/New York trip, and many more. When we started at the school we got a good school.....now we think we are at a GREAT school, and the principal and teachers have made it that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

My daughter's first year at Cornerstone Christian School was such a success I'm sending her there all summer long! They have a great summer daycare program that continues their education and includes fun activities! My daughter loves the staff and all the new friends she has made. She is having so much fun she doesn't realize that she is learning. The school is under construction to enhance security features for the upcoming year....this is exciting news for anyone with children in school. If you have CONSTRUCTIVE comments or concerns you should join the parent, teacher, fellowship group they have each year! It's a great way to be heard and make positive changes for our kids. -one happy parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Seems like we have an angry parent who will continue with her harassment. Don't let her angry mislead you! Come and see the school and what it has to offer for yourself! My kid's will continue here for as long as I can afford private education. You cannot find a nicer staff and the small class sizes are worth the financial price of private education. Speak to your child's teacher and make your own decision. I also love the fact that the school has no tolerance for bullying. Maybe this unhappy parent should stop bullying the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

Parents do your homework before enrolling children in any school. Check teachers out on the California state website to see if they are a good fit teacher. Be alarmed if there are poor reviews and then positive reviews right after.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2013

I found this school when I needed it the most. Public schools were not working for my daughter. I did a visit to Cornerstone and fell in love with the staff. They are all so friendly and attentive to what I have to say. The teachers have a smile on their face when you greet them and the class ratio is perfect for what I needed. My daughter needed more attention from the teacher in a smaller classroom. I also love that the kids move together to each grade so they stay with their friends and grow up together. I have built friendships with the teachers, staff and some parents. It was just what we needed. I also love chapel every Thursday and my daughter comes home singing worship songs. Love it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Cornerstone is a school with great potential BUT it must first weed out the teachers that tarnish the school reputation. Before you commit to a contract, research the classroom teacher and do not be afraid to complain if something is wrong! There are some fantastic teachers at Cornerstone that work hard to make a difference in the students lives and they make tuition worth it! However, there are other teachers that should not be allowed in the classroom--some even deemed unfit by the California State Board of Education. Also, when complaints are brought to the attention of pastoral staff or administration, results are never produced and parent feedback is greeted with arrogance and tactics that serve to bully parents into silence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2013

My son has been at Cornerstone for 8 years and he LOVES it! I LOVE it! Small class sizes and I feel comfortable with him at the school since everyone knows him. There are a lot of activities offered but if your in to sports not so much. It is a private school so yes you are going to pay more but its average for the private schools in the area. My son wants to stay here for the remainder of his school years with the friends he has made. They do testing every year so you know where your child is at compared to other schools. The principle has done a good job of advancing the school during her time here. I love the middle school teachers this year!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

A Huge Disappointment. A lack of leadership is evident. Pastoral leadership is non-existent. Parents are disregarded when concerns about bullying and student safety is brought to the table. Tuition is high, yet little of that money appears to be recycled back through the program. The classrooms are dirty and dated. Technology is outdated. Teachers are in need of supervision and some need to find their way back to church. The good people are leaving and neither the Head of School/Principal nor Pastoral Staff seem to care. The school is being filled with International Students who bring large sums of money to the program and the school has become a revolving door. There is a lack of community but more importantly a lack of faith.


Posted March 8, 2013

There is obviously a lack of leadership by evidence of the inconsistent way the school is governed. From the sports car driving Pastor who is at best an absentee land lord to the principal who sacrifices the integrity of the schools pledges and her moral responsibility to ensure all students receive a good Christian based education in trade for student enrollment and tuition. In the end the leadership of this school can hide from its own accountability but will have to answer to the higher power that gave them the privilege to be in such a position to influence and shape the lives of so many of God's children.


Posted March 6, 2013

Most of the teachers are amazing, but they need a new principal not to mention office staff is pretty difficult to deal with:-( When brought to the Pastor's attention how the principal is running the school ,he just arrogantly made excuses and told us to take our issues up with her:-(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Wonderful school. We have been at Cornerstone for over six years. We are blessed to be a part of such a loving and academically challenging atmosphere. Our children have flourished due in part to the wonderful staff. We don't have perfect kids, but their teachers and their principal have modeled Christ-like character when dealing with them. Our kids love CCS, and so do we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Love, love, LOVE this school! My son has been here for 5 years and doesn't like to miss school........ever. The teachers are amazing! They are patient, loving and a blessing to us. When the principal walks by all the kids scream her name and run up and hug her. When I was a kid we only talked to the prinipal if we had to. My son is learning so much and has had mostly A's. He wants to learn and always tries his best for his teacher. Everyone is very nice and the office staff is absolutely amazing! I highly recommend Cornerstone Christian School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Great school, nice staff, beautiful campus. They balance academics with character. Go see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2011

Both of my kids have attended this school since 1st grade and have done great there. My daughter graduated and was accepted to a high quality university with an academic scholarship!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

This is a christian school, but I think this is not a christian school at all and am regretting my son with 9th grade enrolled in this school. They do not care a harassment between students and not fair in dealing with a problem between them. I plan to transfer my son to other school. If you want your child admitted to any 4 year college, you seriously need to think about transfer. They treat a student as a cash cow. so they accept a below standard student even with a bully. It is obvious that the quality of education is below standard not enought to to be entered to a college level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

great school but my child did not like the religous part
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I moved my son to this school in the middle of his school year and I have to say, I'm finding myself pleasantly surprised at what a great school this is! The lessons in religion are just right for my young son and are well blended into his day-to-day curriculum which is far more advanced than I had expected. The tuition I pay is well-worth the loving, nurturing, encouraging environment my son is now in. I would highly recommend anyone looking into private school options to consider Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 26%
Hispanic 31% 52%
Two or more races 7% 3%
Black 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Sharon Privett
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

34570 Monte Vista Drive
Wildomar, CA 92595
Phone: (951) 674-9381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT