Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Broad Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I love the teachers at this school, my girls have had a great 3 year experience here. They work hard with your child to be successful and communicate well with parents. The before and after school program is great and my kids enjoyed being there. Which is important to me because it is a long day for them. As for the office staff, there is only one lady in there that is so miserable and grouchy and unfriendly, but yet she has been there years!

Broad Avenue Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank all my girls teachers : Mrs Garcia, Mrs. Hong, Mr. Villareal, Mr. Mota, Mrs. Yanez and Mrs. Chavez, you all have impacted my childrens life in such a positive daily way and I couldn't be more great-full. Thank you for all you do everyday.


Broad Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
Teachers are great. They have a lot of programs involving parents. The principal is very much involved.

Broad Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a community member
Some of the teachers at this school have great work ethics and truly care about the success of the children. As for the principal, she's the most unpleasant and unsupportive principal in the history of LAUSD. She only cares about herself and the way the school is perceived. Everyone who works there are miserable and some have chosen early retirement due to her offensive management style. She has single-handedly ruined the morale of the entire school during her two-year tenure.

Broad Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted October 25, 2011
- a parent
Office staff dont know what they are doing and seem lost and annoid when you ask them a question. Office staff should be trained on how to treat people and have more knowledge of the programs this school offers instead of socializing.


Broad Avenue Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
Overall this school would need a major over hall with the exception of a few...yes few teachers. The principal is not helpful and the office staff is VERY RUDE! It has poor parent involvement. Most faculty are not aware of what is going on nor are they on the same page. i have witness children fighting physically and no one bother to stop these fight or no one was around due to the fact that they were busy standing around and socializing. It is very sad the way this school is especially because it was once upon a time....great!

Broad Avenue Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a teacher
It is a great school with wonderful teachers and staff, and very supportive parents and students.

Broad Avenue Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
the school needs alot more than to reach to a Non-Pi school. first they need to train well the office staff they are very rude they really need to get some child development training for in order to treat children with respect and show repect to parents. they need to show it is a very good environment to be and it is a safety place for children.


Broad Avenue Elementary School 3

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
PreK and Kinder and 1st grade are great. They say they are a no tolerance school, but found that there seems to be exceptions for students whose parents are teachers at this same school who get away with causing all sorts of trouble and don't get in trouble at all for hurint another child or disrupting class. I have to say that there are some very good teachers here. My child was very lucky to have some very great teachers. Unfortunatley my child did have a couple of teachers who seemed to really not care at all. Some teachers don't like parent involvement at all, guess it's because they know they don't care about the children in the 1st place and don't want parents to know. Bathrooms are constantly dirty and need to have it monitored more frequently per my child.

Broad Avenue Elementary School 2

Posted February 27, 2007
- a parent
I currently have two Children that attend this School. I have experienced some issues with a few Teachers. Also When you call and have concerns, sometimes you are ignored and don't receive a call back. I don't like the Lunch protocol that is in place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Broad Avenue Elementary School
24815 Broad Avenue, Wilmington, CA  90744-1036
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (310) 835-3118
Last modified Broad Avenue Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top