Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High Point Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 800 students

HPA is best known for its respectful and responsible students.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

Do your homework on how Charter schools work- ESPECIALLY this school that has no control -no vision - no guidance. They run good teachers off for cheaper ones, hire a 3rd principal. Because of their horrific test scores in math and english they have cut science and social studies down to 2 hrs a week total- and the same time keep short days ending at 2:00 on Wednesdays- this is 1.5 hours that could actually be used to TEACH! Kids are supposed to get out at 3:30 every day the younger grades are always outside waiting for their parents by 3:15-yet another opportunity the school is pathetic. I am a VERY Supportive parent of our school normally and always of my childs education process. We volunteered over 100 hours last year, we read to our child, we ensure homework is done and understood. RUN FROM THIS SCHOOL FAST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I am the Librarian at High Point Academy and it is a full time position. I teach literature and research/library skills to grades K-6 and provide library services to all the students and faculty. I hope this clears up any confusion, Ms. Eastwood
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2013

The administration is absolutely on the right track with their plans to grow and establish this school as a quality learning environmnt. This school has a blend of young and tenured teachers, and there is a great energy and sincere interest in the future here. The tenured teachors are not grouchy and waiting out retirement and the younger teachers are all very bright and have fresh and relevant perspectives. All of the feedback from my children includes statements of being encouraged and valued which is critical to their success. We are a very happy HPA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Where do I start? The Executive Director who was also the Principal last year 2012/13 really made a mess of things. She needs to be replaced because she runs the school on personal feelings rather than what is right for the school. If she doesn't like you, she will target your kids. Beware, because she is in this position of power so she thinks she is untouchable and will mishandle your kids whatever way she likes. My kids wanted to be at the school to be with friends they had met over the last few years but because we speak up for our kids,she screwed us out of our school spots. Not right at all. Beware. Karma always prevail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I moved from the Douglas County School district last year and currently have a midddle school and elementary school student at HPA. I have been extremely please and impressed so far. Parents need to realize that the roots of education and the success of their children is planted at home. HPA has cultivated and encouraged my children and they have really grown. Diversity across America is challenging; yet I see HPA staff responding to the need for understanding and acceptance and it is admirable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2013

Hpa is not where you want to go! Administration is lazy and have very little skill at running a school. Hpa gets rid of good teachers so they don't have to pay them more than a right out of college student with zero experience. Hpa gets away with misadministrations on standardized tests because they fail to report it....this is coming from someone who worked at Hpa. I would choose any school over Hpa! No discipline, kids run the school and an all around terrible program. Notice that staff don't enroll their own students because they know the place is a joke!


Posted May 28, 2013

This school has been Awesome. I definitely see more parent interaction. Love it! The teachers are very accessible. First year attending and I more involved here than at the other previous school which, is down the street.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

Run as fast as you can. Poor Administration, over-worked teachers, unfriendly staff. Too many kids in classrooms and having children sit on the lunchroom floor. WHAT!!!! And I thought ODB was bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

I am a new parent, and I have been impressed so far. The teachers care for my children. Other teachers and staff know my kids by name and know me. For the school size that is important and comforting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

My grandson was at High Point Academy Preschool,morning session for two days and it was two days too long. We had the worst expereience. I was an employee of Aurora Public Schools for 28 years so I do know how to teach children. My first complaint, the schools sends home a list about what kind of snacks the children can bring to school and what kind of snacks they can't bring to school. We did make a mistake the first day and sent two fruits and got a nasty note,that was our fault, the second day we sent peanut butter in celery got another very nasty note about the peanut butter and peanut butter is on the approved snack list. The staff outside yelled at us that we are not walking in the proper areas to drop off the kids, what an example these adults are making for the children attending the school and the worst thing that happened to my grandson was they put his name tag upside down on the back of his shirt.The teacher had all morning to fix this mistake it is so disrespectful to the child and how do you teach a child to recognize letters when the word is upside down? The yelling, the snack mistakes and the disrespect in just two half days, what kind of education is this?


Posted June 4, 2012

My daughter has been at HPA for five years now, and she has done excellent. This school is first class, and know that the teachers and administrators care about their students. The issue is that many parents do not discipline their kids and they act out in class. The teachers and administrators spend 80 percent of their time on these 10 percent of students. Parents want to complain about how their school is educating their kids, but forget that education starts in the home and they don't take the time to help their kids with home work or discipline. Stop your complaining about how the prinicpal is not returning your calls, I have NEVER had that issue. Start teaching your kids about respect in the classroom, and discipline them if they are a problem. Your child's bad behavior is disrupting my daughter's classroom - and that is wrong. I am extremely happy with HPA, and know that this is the best place for my daughter to learn. Please, if you are not happy with HPA - it is probably a bad fit for you and take your kid to some other school! Thank you teachers and administration at HPA for doing a wonderful job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

Our family has been attending HPA for more than three years. All of our children are being challenged and love this school! The teachers and administration care about each students growth and push them to do their best. The Staff is friendly and always helpful. Way to go HPA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

The Principal and the office mangaer just do what they want to. They "hide" from parents that they don't want to speak to. The office manager "disciplines" students whenever and however she wants to. Discipline should never come from the office staff.......... period. That is the job of the Principal, who NEVER has time for students. I have seen them (students) and wait for her for more than an hour. The Dean of Students is the other person in charge of discipline, NOT and I repeat NOT the office manager!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

For the location the school is above average. The teachers are committed to providing a true quality education and is evident through by simply observing the general student population. Unfortunately, the office manager has free reign to apply and enforce the schools policies on a per parent basis as she sees fit "and/or" as to who she so favors. Truely unfortunate and dissapointing. While I may be just one family, I will continue to voice this dissatisfaction. Just as I had once praised them in areas deserved. Adios HPA. Shame on you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

High Point is a strong change from the other schools my children have attended. their core curriculum, emphasis on health and nutrition, parent involvement, teacher communication. Our kids are "founding" students since the school opened and I wouldn't change it any other way. The programs, such as wellness, anti-bullying, colorguard, etc are all wonderful. I believe that the school needs to leave some of the what my student can/can not eat at lunch up to the parents, with basic guidelines however. The location is great, the school is clean, teachers are respectful of students/parents and the Director is just as nice to communicate with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2011

The teachers take education seriously at High Point Academy. This is the first year that our children have been enrolled at High Point Academy. When entering the facility for the first time I noticed that the entrance of every classroom has a plaque in scripted with the name of the teacher and the College or University they received their education from. I was amazed at how many of the educators at High Point Academy had post-secondary educations or greater. After very little time at the welcome back-to-school open house and our family was exposed to the numerous programs High Point Academy emphasizes such as nutrition, wellness, and anti-bullying. After only a week in school my 5 year old is already asking for fruits and vegetables for his afternoon snack. It s only been a week and my child is already reaping the rewards of the excellent curriculum and staff. What s one the bill for next week?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

I have two kids new to High Point Academy this year. This school impressed me so much, I have volunteered every way I can. They are in PreK and Kindergarten and I adore their teachers ... they have already set them on a great path. High Point is a quality school with strong wellness and anti-bullying policies. I look forward to seeing my children grow at HPA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

This is a great school with great teachers! I am so happy that I found a place for my child that provides a safe and challenging learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

My 5 year old son is attending this school and I am beyond impressed! He has improved dramatically in reading and math. His handwriting has excelled. He is writing complete sentences! I love the schools focus on wellness-encouraging him to eat healthy snacks and no sugar is allowed in his classroom!! He has technology classes, Spanish, and PE three times a week. I find it adorable that a bunch of 5 year olds are also learning beginners yoga. His teacher is so kind, but very fair with all of her students. She encourages parental communication via email and is always willing to listen to concerns. I am very pleased with our experience with High Point Academy and am looking forward to many years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

My daughters r attending this year, & 1 of them attended last year. After reading reviews, I see that they r old, & outdated. My 1st daughter is just barely 5 & doing some reading. She loves school, has been able to work in groups, problem solve, & follow directions for a while now. My 2nd daughter who is 4 & also harder to teach has shown great improvement in drawing, writing, & spelling her name, which is incredible. The school has not only welcomed my desire to be very involved, but has capitalized on it by allowing me to channel my energies into helping out in the PTO & fundraising. If I ever go back to work, I will certainly attempt to work within this school because I believe that once they r settled in the new building in a few short weeks they will be stellar! Frustrations: lack of volunteer training. Communication has also been troublesome, but 4 year olds lose papers. Maybe email would be better? This being said, they r literally weeks from moving so things can fall through the cracks. All in all, this school is awesome, particularly for this area. I will continue to send my children to this school and recommend this school for the foreseeable future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
16%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
19%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female79%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible78%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students77%
Female77%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students56%
Female63%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female58%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Reading

All Students59%
Female66%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Writing

All Students46%
Female60%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant63%

Reading

All Students80%
Female86%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Science

All Students49%
Female58%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students54%
Female65%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female27%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible28%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Reading

All Students59%
Female53%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligible67%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Writing

All Students37%
Female43%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible44%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female35%
Male42%
Black (not Hispanic)26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%

Reading

All Students65%
Female74%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%

Writing

All Students57%
Female71%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female31%
Male15%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch25%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%

Reading

All Students43%
Female48%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Science

All Students20%
Female21%
Male20%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible5%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities22%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant21%

Writing

All Students31%
Female38%
Male20%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English29%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 32% 5%
White 29% 56%
Hispanic 27% 32%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A41%
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Thai, Hungarian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title 1 Model Data Teams School (2010)
  • Commissioner's Choice Award (2009)
  • CBS4 "Fit 4 Colorado" School Challenge Award (2009)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Thai, Hungarian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Keri Melmed
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (303) 217-5153

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Amharic
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Thai, Hungarian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Color Guard
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • High Point Academy is an award-winning wellness school. We ensure that our students spend their school hours in a healthy learning environment. We do this not only because healthy kids are better learners, but also because we want to promote healthy habits at a young age, thereby making it easier for our students to make healthy choices as adults. Our wellness program has been recognized locally by the Colorado Legacy Foundation and Channel 4 News, and nationally by the USDA.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
813
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
1158

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Denver School of Science and Technology
Vista Peak
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6750 North Dunkirk Street
Aurora, CO 80019
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 217-5152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT