Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highline Community Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 619 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2012

To the individual who posted the negative review in regards to Mr. Langdon, I would like to say out of all the principles before him the students never seemed to have such a personal interaction as they do now with Mr. Langdon. The reason for the loss of teachers and faculty were because of those individuals personal reasons not because of his decision or judgement call. Last of all, to those who do not reside in the Highline district if you are unpleased or dissatisfied then you should seek to your corresponding school district or school. Don't blame Mr. Landgon on the low test scores, blame the parents who don't work with their children at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

Mr. Langdon is bringing this school down, check out the drop in test scores. He does not have the ability to run a school. He has lost so many good teachers and faculty from last year, it makes a person wonder. If the people he's hired are a reflection of his judgement - Highline does not stand a chance. There is no longer a feeling of being welcomed when you come in the front door and there is little to no expections for kids to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

we were homeless anbd they gave us so much of a hard time to enroll my son in that school and when they finally were forced to we were getting ready to move again so again they rejected him I guess this school in only for people that they want to help but don't go there if you are in a bad situation they will make it worse
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

I've been around this school for almost a year now and it has really taken off. Mr. Langdon the principal shows that he really cares for the success of our students by "getting out of his office" and walking around showing positive support to the kids and staff. Way to go Highline!


Posted March 26, 2011

My son is at Highline elementary and I could not be happier about the education he is receiving. It is an excellent school with excellent faculty and I am proud my child attends here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

this is a wonderful school. My girls went here and when it was time to look for a house to purchase, we told our realtor that we only wanted to look in the Highline area! I now have 3 boys in the school. I am proud that all 5 of my children are Highline kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Very happy with the education my child is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Highline is an exceptional school. The school is very focused on meeting the needs of all students. The teachers are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

Amazing place for kids. All kids. English classes for adults. Great parents working with teachers. Very high academic expectations. It is a real school for real kids. The teachers are the best. We love Ms. Henderson and Ms Bialey, and Ms. Odea, and Ms Frohardt. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

If you want a school where your child is valued only for their test score and a principal who has no idea who your child is , this school is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I have 3 kids who have attended more then 5 schools total. This school is the best we have ever gone to. The teachers are just great. The principal, Miss Peoples knows what each kid needs and she loves every child. We believe this school is how all schools in USA should be run. You can also look at their test scores and see how good they are for a school that has a ton of kids who don't speak English. Thank You Highline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2009

The best school ever. Look at the scores grow. The leadership is there for the kids and she makes sure the teachers are there for the kids too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

i love the attention and recpect given every child being taught at this school. the teachers are wonderful with the children. i know because my son went there..james marcus robinson. thanks to ms. gail and the entire staff for ajob well done. keep up the excellent ork. Sincerly, walr robinson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I love this school! It took me a while to loosen up and get comfortable with this school but after that I realized what a great school it is! There are no cliques everybody just hangs out with everybody! The teachers are great they let us learn in a very fun way,and they teach us our responsiblity for Middle School and life. This is one of the best schools out there in Colorado!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

The best school in the state of Colorado. The principal, Ms. Peoples, is focused on helping all kids learn. The staff is all about the kids. Their CSAP scores may not be the highest in the state, but remember they have tons of Spanish speaking kids. Their scores are darn good when we remember half of the kids taking the CSAP don't speak English. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I'am really gratefull with the staff and the principle with the excellent education that they have provided my children with. Sincerelly I recommend this school for having an excellent moral education and for personally getting involved with the students development. This is the kind of school that provides our children with the variety of programs too help our children get involved and stay focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Great School with great funding. 28/1 student/teacher ratio however they compensate this with having a fabulous abundance of support staff. The principal and assistant principal care about the school and offer many school programs. Music, art and PE included. Very bilingual but again has the support necessary to deal with whatever handicaps may arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

I went to this school and I still have memories of going here when I was young it was a great school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 30, 2003

Excellent leadership, outstanding teachers, a commitment to learning, and stellar outreach to the community, multicultural diversity . . . need one say more?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2003

This is an awesome school! The principal is wonderful and is involved in everything and everyone! The teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
21%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female76%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)45%
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students68%
Female75%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students41%
Female53%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)24%
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female60%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible51%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students48%
Female47%
Male49%
Black (not Hispanic)36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)45%
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Writing

All Students33%
Female40%
Male27%
Black (not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)26%
Proficient in English36%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female53%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)28%
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%

Reading

All Students54%
Female66%
Male45%
Black (not Hispanic)35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Science

All Students36%
Female37%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible31%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Writing

All Students37%
Female47%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)6%
Proficient in English36%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 32%
White 21% 56%
Black 20% 5%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Stacey Peoples

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11000 East Exposition
Aurora, CO 80012
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 747-2300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Challenge School
Denver, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT