Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Boulder, CO
Students enrolled: 378
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bear Creek Elementary School 2

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
The best thing about Bear Creek is the gym teacher who along with at least 5 other teachers are truly talented. The worst thing is the principle. Bear Creek thinks of itself as a neighborhood school when really what is going on is affluent people from all over the Nation buy their way into this school. In our time there we knew of people renting houses they did not live in just so their multiple children could attend, they actually lived in Thornton. Saying it was cheaper than private school. The science fair was shut down because it became too competitive, one mum was actually a rocket scientist and basically did her kids project for her. Also be warned the PTO is very aggressive and if you are unable to make a sizable contribution your families name will be know by others. The principle has a very special and close relationship with the PTO leadership, and it is a very cliquy group. In summery this school is elite.
1 person found this helpful

Bear Creek Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
This is an exclusive school, where you have to be wealthy to be living in the neighborhood and attend. The principle is driven by test scores, and having the "best" school in the area. We found the teachers to be remarkable for one of our children who is a academic achiever, but appalling for our other child who was not academically driven. The treatment was worlds apart. The professionals at this school seemed to know nothing about Learning Differences, which is shocking. Interestingly our child was also carefully coached around the test scores (see other reviewer). The PTO is extremely active, and raises huge amounts of money but not once in six years did I ever hear about the school donating some of it's surplus funds to a less fortunate school. The community at Bear Creek is all about Bear Creek, those are not the values of our family.
4 people found this helpful


Bear Creek Elementary School 2

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
This was our neighborhood school. At this school, our child was given answers for CSAP tests by staff, was told by the principal he would be suspended for tearing a paper ("destroying school property"), was told by a teacher that he could never learn math, was pegged by the school psychologist with a diagnosis he didn't have, and was reduced to tears on "graduation" day by the music teacher, who ruled with an iron fist. This is not a school for kids with any learning differences. The psychologist also told us our child "could never make it in middle school" (he did, and did great). It required legal action to keep our child's placement here which we did because he had friends and some truly loving, great teachers. Avoid this school unless you are a wealthy white family with athletic kids who have zero learning issues. The principal is a Ken doll bent on cooking the school's math scores for the sake of his own career. Check out Mesa, a friendlier school in same neighborhood. Parents are very involved at Bear Creek - the good part is this generates money and amenities other schools don't get. The bad part is the alpha moms are competitive and intense.
4 people found this helpful

Bear Creek Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
Our family has been at Bear Creek for 6 years and we have been happy to see our children grow and flourish at this exceptional school. It is a neighborhood school, and with home prices sky-rocketing here, the community is not as diverse as other sections of Boulder. But as I watch my oldest preparing to enter middle school, I can do so with relief, knowing that she has the knowledge, study skills and maturity to handle the next stage of her education. Thank you Bear Creek!

Bear Creek Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Bear Creek Elementary is a wonderful school. The teachers, principal, administrative staff, and parent volunteers are truly outstanding. It is clear that they all love what they do.


Bear Creek Elementary School 1

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Our child was going to BC for 2 years and her math and reading comprehension have been consistently low. She was assigned the ESL program, even though English is her only language. She has trouble with paying attention in class so at times she would be disruptive. Last month her behavior was very bad so we disciplined her. She went to school crying and the principal called *** on us. A couple weeks after the *** visit, and them finding nothing wrong at the home front, they actually had the nerve to call us to set up a conference. By then we have already been looking at alternatives, and have decided to pull her out and home school her to try to undo all the bad habits she has been picking up at this school. Perhaps their call was their way of trying to bully her out of their school since they are more concerned about the overall test scores than they are the individual children. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone, especially if you have children with darker colored skin.
2 people found this helpful

Bear Creek Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
My child was there for 5 years and he couldn't read. The principal told me it was my fault and he caused a horrible fight in my family. After I finally had enough I took my son and sent him to another BVSD school and with in 2 months he was reading. Run away from this school unless you want fake people, spoiled children, and a principle who should have been a politician.
3 people found this helpful

Bear Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2009
- a parent
Bear Creek is a remarkable community of educators who support the whole child. I have two kids at Bear Creek. From in-class learning to supporting exploration beyond the classroom, Bear Creek creates an environment where every child can succeed and flourish.


Bear Creek Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Bear Creek can boast about every teacher and its most loved principal.. it was voted a Blue Ribbon School, and has been a Green Star School for several years.. with daily student involvment in a zero waste goal for the school. The kids compost recycle and precycle and get their parents involved.... The school has implemented You ROCK slips to reward all noticed positive behavior such as respect, compassion, diligence, and responsibility.

Bear Creek Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
Bear Creek is an amazing community of academic, social, and extracurricular interests. The Principal, who is in his fifth year, is fantastic, and the commitment and passion of the teachers is unparalleled. Put simply, this is a terrific elementary school supporting the holistic development of all the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bear Creek Elementary School
2500 Table Mesa Dr, Boulder, CO  80305
(720) 561-3500
Last modified Bear Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bear Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top