Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, July 24, 2014

My son was in 1st grade last year with Mrs. Campbel. We saw a huge improvement in his reading and writing skills. She was great at working with him and he LOVED going to school here! Looking forward to another great year for 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2014

We love this school and could not be happier!!!! So thankful for Mountain View. Excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

I absolutely love this school. We have been with the school for 4 years now and I could not ask for a better environment for my children. It is a very close family at Mountain View and I am happy to say we are part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

My school has done a very good job in supporting my learning disabled sons. All three of my sons (now 8th, 7th and 4th grades) have gone through Mountain View. My 4th grader is still there. It has been challenging and sometimes over-whelming to have 3 LD kids. The school was quick to help me identify my boys' needs and then lay out a plan to help them. They were given IEPs. The learning specialist that they all were assigned to is out of this world amazing. She has worked hard to educate herself about dyslexia and how she can serve the students that have it. My boys have always known that she cares about them and wants them to be successful. When we have thought about moving out of town, I have always decided that we could not pull the boys from our school or her care. Generally, the whole school, including classroom teachers, are careful to provide the students with necessary help. Usually, they go above and beyond that by looking for new and personal ways to help each one. Great school...really great learning specialist!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Class sizes are larger then I would like 25+ and the new SBG system is definitely taking some getting used to but I get the reasoning behind it and the school seems to want parents to learn about it and has offered many opportunities to do so. I see behavioral issues this year in many kids but I don't know if that has anything to do with a change in administration (new principal) so maybe she needs to step up and put down an iron fist? Overall I like the school, the teachers and the way things are run. I have a 3rd grader and 1st grader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Our new principle has come into our community with ease. She has energized the teachers, staff and parents. The schools focused and well balanced, as well as cheerful and has created a great learning environment, My son started in kindergarten, now in 1st grade He has Mrs, Campbell, She has been amazing with the students. There reading is excellent. She has a unique way of making math and science fun, my son Loves school, and is eager to keep learning. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who wants a well rounded education for their children. Brandy Hutchison
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

Upon researching other schools, public and charter, I am finding that my children will be academically and socially behind moving elsewhere in the district and honestly the state. I agree with one of the previous raters who said that the staff gets too involved in home life and personal affairs of the kids. Take an interest so that you are a good teacher. The staff needs to mind their own business when it isn't detrimental to their classroom or stated laws. I am finding it very difficult to continue attending due to these issues and worse yet enroll my last one. I will be changing next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

my kids have went here for 3 years,this school has went downhill year by year.alot of the staff and teachers dont like like they want to be there,the class sizes are bigger not alot of help for kids who need special help.both the principal and vice principal dont seem like they care at all.school could be a lot better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

Teachers - Fantastic! Faculty- Excellent! We had moved out to Colorado from the UK and have been impressed with Mountain View in every way. The teachers really care and are fantastic at getting the kids excited about what they are learning. Our son has really adjusted to life out here and has excelled at Mountain View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I have to say I love this school. I have a special needs child, they've gone out of their way to keep me involved and informed. My daughter has absolutely thrived in this school. She's been attending for 2.5 years now and we're still amazed at how her learning and skills grow by leaps and bounds. All the teachers and staff we've come into contact with have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2009

The school does not promote parent involvement and promotes mediocrity. They do not provide programs for children that excel nor do they have the capacity to provide for children with special needs. The school culture has significantly degraded over the last 4 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

This school is going downhill fast with the new principal. All of the attention is spent on the new classroom addition, and not on the students. There has been a dramatic increase in the teacher turnover with the new principal. Parents of both below average students and above average students are both complaining that some of the teachers aren't spending enough time with the kids. Numerous parents with kids at the school are looking for new schools due to the new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

Not real happy with this school. Not real 'parent friendly'. I feel this shool is less than average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

I have enjoyed Mountain View Elementary. They do offer a lot of afterschool programs which my daughter enjoys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Mountain View is a very good school. The hard of hearing program there has been wonderful for our son and we credit the teachers and staff with much of his academic success. There is good access to music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities. The before and after schoo program, BASE, is also very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

Perhaps the countries most outstanding hard of hearing program, serving Adams and Broomfield counties, is housed here. Outstanding school for kids academically. Very high standards and test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

My son has attended this school for 3 years. The teachers take a true interest in the children and have a higher academic of learning so a child can achieve. This school also is outstanding for children with disabilities and I feel it gives the other children a sense that these children are the same and relate to them easier now and later in life. I feel this is an excellent school and would have had my child stay if I hadn't had to move out of state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

My daughter moved into this school halfway through the first grade year and she has been welcomed with open arms. She loves this school and has met so many new friends. Not only that, she has learned sign language by being in classes with hearing impaired students! This school truly feels like a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2003

I have a 7 year old son who recently completed the first grade at Mountain View Elementary. This is my oldest child, so this is my first interaction as a parent of an elementary student. I feel that the principals, teachers, librarians and the staff at Mountain View really do care about each child and helping them to suceed in all they do seems to be their general goal. Throughout the entire 2002-2003 school year I never had anything but positive interactions with each and every person there. I especially think that Mrs. Hammerly and her obvious gift as a teacher helped me have this positive feeling. I feel good about my son continuing his elementary education at Mountain View and will continue to support them in every way I can. This school has a program for the hearing impaired and even though I do not have a hearing impaired child, I feel that the program they provide and the encouraged interaction with other children could not be better!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students53%
Female59%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female85%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students75%
Female83%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students74%
Female87%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Reading

All Students74%
Female82%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Science

All Students61%
Female65%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Writing

All Students67%
Female78%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 56%
Hispanic 17% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12401 Perry St
Broomfield, CO 80020
Phone: (720) 972-5520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Life Christian Academy
Westminster, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT