Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

American Academy

Charter | K-8 | 820 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

76 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2010

we are very pleased with the high quality of the academics my children are receving. The teachers and the staff are very professional and knowledgeable. The STEM program is one of the best in the nation. This is the kind of education our children need in order to compete with the rest of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

The school year has been wonderful in every aspect. The front office does an amazing job. I am very pleased with the staff and administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

The academic curriculum and the teachers are good, but the administration and the front office is extremely rude and does not address the issues and concerns of the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

This is our first year at American Academy and we have nothing but positive things to say. To me, the highlights are definitely the the Core Knowledge curriculum, the ability grouping and the uniforms. In my opinion, these three components set the stage for a successful education. Our son has enjoyed the entire year, from Math, Science, Social Studies, and Reading down to PE, Music and Art. We're thrilled with what he is learning, how he's being taught and the environment in which this is all happening. We've also enjoyed the opportunity to attend a special after-school Spanish class. As with most things, you get out of it what you put into it. We couldn't be more happy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I am so thrilled with this school! Our kids do athletics in the surrounding community, so I'm mostly concerned that the school my children attend has a focus on, heaven forbid, academics. Whatever else they deal with on a daily basis, the first priority of AA's administration is obviously the academic success of their students. Kids are tested regularly and the teachers are held to those results. And they use those results to tweak the curriculum and staff. What a concept! My they are average students at AA. Sometimes there's a lot of homework. But they are thriving and happy and learning amazing things every single day at this school. I wish I could go back and attend this school! I couldn't be more enthusiastic in my recommendation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

Amerian Academy has been an exceptional school for my two kids. We started at AA 3 years ago. We are so impressed with the curriculum, the teachers and the staff. We particulary like the fact that character education is emphasized. I have never seen a group of kids act with such respect towards others and property. This is a school that is on the cutting edge and so needed in today's world. I would recommend this school very highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

First and foremost, the charter school option is a self selecting option. If you do not like the option, seek a better option. If you like the option, congratulations you've found it. We sought and found a school that is Core Knowledge and STEM focused. What we got was more as this administration, faculty and student body is fully ENGAGED in all aspects. Wonderful school. If I have to raise funds to keep it running then so be it. I sought it out. If I did not want that for my child then I would've put them in the regular mill. Remember: Options, Choices and Consequences. Good, bad and ugly, its all relevant to your perception.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

We are a brand new family at American Academy and we are thrilled with the success our daughter has had. The ability grouping is such a great system and we can't say enough about the teachers. The STEM weeks are incredible, the information the kids come home with is so encouraging. Her class size is small - 23 kids compared to 28 or 29 at some of the other schools in the district. The new building is beautiful and the teachers and front office staff have been so helpful, friendly and supportive to our family. We are so happy with the education our daughter is receiving and have absolutely no regrets about choosing American Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

This is not the school we signed up for four years ago. Small class sizes are no more with the building of the new facility. The highly qualified principal was let go for no reason, and the founding parent of the school is now in charge! This leader is not qualified and has never taught a day in the classroom and stands to get the $90K job for next year. Teachers make some of the lowest salaries going and everyone is told how we need to raise funds, but they need to pay attention to where the money is really going. Children are nothing more than revenue to AA. If you aren't outraged...you aren't paying attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

We just moved to American Academy this year (2009). We previously attended a charter school and so we understood the volunteer requirements, uniforms, board situations, etc. Charter Schools do not follow the same game plan as a public district run school. Some are run using a business type structure, some mimic private schools, and others follow your average public school setup. Research and know the difference then determine what is best for your family. My oldest son is advanced in most subjects but really needs help with Math. American Academy definitely can and is providing that structure for him through their ability grouping. My other son is advancing far beyond what I could have. Teachers are responsive and want their students to thrive. With the new building the extra cirricular activities are there. Overall this has been a great experience for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

This is the perfect school for US, my kids and my family. As with any school the right fit is the key to success. It may not be for everyone especially busy parents without time to be 'hands on' with their childs' education. A ton of parental involvement is expected and I grow weary of all the complainers, seriously are you more interested in what is going on with staff kids than your own? I am not a staff person, just a parent that feels this is the best place for my kids. The scores don't lie and watching my kids excel and remain challenged keeps me thrilled! It's not for everyone or for every kid, parents partner with your kids and decide if it's right for you and your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

This is a schoool that is either loved or hated by the kids and parents. There are some really wonderful teachers at this school that my kids dearly loved and learned a lot from. Unfortunately the bad apples ruin the bunch. The principle does as little as possible, in the hopes of avoiding confrontation, to address numerous parental concerns. Nor does she have a grasp on what is happening in the classrooms and the extreme variences of expectations between grades and teachers within the same grade. Again, despite numerous complaints from concerned parents. On top of a very academically rigorous day the kids are sent home with large amounts of homework (far beyond district standards) leaving little time for downtime and after school activities. The kids and teachers are beyond burnt out by the end of the school year. I don't feel that this school supports a well rounded student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

This is an amazing school! The kids are held to high standards of behavior & accountability. The teachers obviously love these kids and are enthusiastic. It's also amazing to me how flexible they are in meeting the needs of each child academically. They are continuously re-assessing these kids. We have attended several private and public schools and there is nothing better than American Academy. There are some things that are lacking, like foreign language, but you can only fit so much work into a day without stressing young children out. The specials teachers take very seriously their music, art and PE, which is outstanding. They're not 'soft' classess by no means. I'm thrilled that my children will be there through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

American Academy simply stated, raises the bar. Expectations of students have deteriorated - which is evident in how the US ranks among other countries when it comes to education. American Academy has set out to remedy that for students and parents who are willing to give what it takes to uphold rigorous academic and behavioral standards. American Academy will not meet the needs of coddling parents, however, it is a school that will produce tremendous leaders of the future. Wait and see.... - Proud, Pleased Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

This is a wonderful school. The education my kids are getting is far superior to the public schools in our area. Expectations are so high. Would not have my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

This is an amazing school! The curriculum is challenging, the teachers fantastic. My daughter has been there for 2 years and we're transferring our other grade school child there next year! I spend quite some time at the school volunteering and the children are respectful and kind. AA expects high standards and I admire that. Sure, it's a new school, but there are always growing pains with something new. Considering there are 500+ kids in a temporary strip mall it's fantastic! We love the school! It's not the building that counts, but what's inside. We are thrilled that the school goes through 8th grade and we couldn't be happier to be there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

We love the school, the CK curriculum and the structured environment. Our three girls love their teachers and the school. It is amazing at what they learn. The staff is wonderful. What more could we say? It works for us. Simply the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

I am amazed at what my kids are learning at American Academy. The education they are receiving is far above where they were before coming to this school. This is an academically challenging school and I couldn't be happier with the curriculam, the teachers or the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

We are thrilled with the school. I will admit that it was an adjustment coming from a school where my children were never challenged. Now they are thriving and loving everything about it. Of course they can't wait for the new facility with a 'real' playground but they are still having fun and staying active. I am certain that my children will be prepared for highschool and beyond now. They are learning to take notes and tests and they are actually learning to write! I never saw an effort to teach writing in thier old school. In addition the Core knowledge curriculum allows a deeper exposure to science and history before Jr. High. The 4th graders are about to dissect a animals heart while they are learning about cardiology! There are high expectations of the children in this school and they really rise to meet the challenges set in front of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

You couldn't pay us to take our kids out of AACP. Yes, the Admin could use some work, but so could any organization in the world - academic or not. Yes, there are issues with the playground, but we all went in knowing that the current campus was temporary. Wait till the new school is built in Fall 2008! The academics are very challenging; The parent community is very passionate about the lives of their kids - which is part of why this school is so great. The school is new and always evolving. CSAPs don't lie, nor does the 700+ person waiting list.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students71%
Female82%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female86%
Male98%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Writing

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female96%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students92%
Female96%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students88%
Female94%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%

Writing

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female82%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)99%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant99%

Writing

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students94%
Female100%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Science

All Students84%
Female89%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students90%
Female97%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 56%
Hispanic 8% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A41%
Male 48%N/A51%
Female 52%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Erin Kane
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (720) 733-2641

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6971 Mira Vista Lane
Castle Pines, CO 80108
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 292-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hope Online School
Englewood, CO


SkyView Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


Fox Creek Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT