Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
Castle Rock, CO

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodlands Academy 5

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
This has got to be one of the best schools I have ever seen. My students have developed a love of learning since they started here. The teachers are phenomenal and the class sizes are small and very conducive to learning.

Woodlands Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
A hidden gem! We moved to Castle Pines in January (from out of state) & only recently found Woodlands Academy. My daughter comes home excited about debate class, learning a foreign language (they offer Spanish, French, German & Latin) and building a battery powered car (the middle schoolers designed solar powered) in technology class. They go on lots of field trips to the opera, ballet, & symphony as well as hiking local spots and doing school productions (operetta/musicals/plays). A great find for the discerning parent of an exceptional 1st-8th grader. If you are looking for an alternative school choice for an exceptional 1st-8th grader, I highly recommend Woodlands Academy.


Woodlands Academy 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a teacher
Woodlands Academy is the place for the self-motivated learner. Each class is challenging and the curriculum is tailored for each child's academic needs. Combine that with the emphasis on experiential learning and you get an explosively fun environment. Kids beg to stay!

Woodlands Academy 5

Posted January 18, 2014
- a parent
I highly recommend Woodlands Academy to any parent seeking a quality private school in Castle Rock. Excellent teachers who encourage their students to be thinkers and leaders. Teachers who support students social, emotional and academic growth. Teachers who have high expectations of their students while giving them the tools necessary to exceed and thrive and therefore building self confident learners. Don't judge the school by it's lack of new and shiny classrooms or a big new building; rather judge them by what they can offer your child; a quality education where your child will be equipped with what they need to excel in high school and college. Where they will receive a lot of one on one attention from the teachers because of small classroom size. Expect a well thought out assessment of your child and tailored program around your child to best meet his or her needs. My son has developed a love for learning from Woodlands and loves going to school. If you are looking for a quality private school, give Woodlands a try. You'll be glad you did!

Woodlands Academy 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
This school is outstanding , the classes are small and my son is accelerating leaps and bounds in comparison to the public schools. A huge benefit is that the school does not teach to the state standardized testing (CSAP) which helps the student excel up and beyond the normal. He looks forward to going to school, and for a nine year old that is unheard of. The teachers really do care. thanks Woodlands!


Woodlands Academy 1

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Woodlands Academy was a disappointment. The principal said that she did not oversee or approve the curriculum. Elementary children having 9 different classes, by 8 different teachers is over whelming. There was little to no organization. We had been assured that the children would be given placement tests upon enrollment. This did not happen. No report cards, but even in the on-line grading tool, grades and some classes are missing. There were few textbooks and resources necessary for learning. We volunteered a tremendous amount and tried to make this work for our children. There was no resolution possible.

Woodlands Academy 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
Woodlands Academy is an academically rigorous school with a curriculum that combines traditional academics with hands on learning. The school is full of master teachers whose passion for the subjects that they teach is infectious. The extremely small classes allow for the curriculum to be customized for each child so that they get exactly what they need. My son has seven kids in his class and they go to five different math classes. This is not a one size fits all approach to education. The small size of the school creates a family like environment where everyone works together. The end result is kids that are motivated, smart, well-rounded, grounded, ethical people who are well on their way to becoming the kind of adults who make a positive impact in the world.

Woodlands Academy 5

Posted November 16, 2011
- a parent
Cannot RAVE enough about this school. After moving here from out of state, we were frustrated with our inability to "get in" to a quality magnet school in our area due to ridiculously long waitlists. After two years of driving our children 50 miles a day (round trip) so that they could attend a school with a good track record, we finally found Woodlands. This school is focused on providing a rich, hands-on STEM curriculum. The teachers are extremely well qualified, and the students enjoy class sizes of no more than 8! My children now adore school, no longer complain every morning, and I now have to drag them out of the school every afternoon. They are involved in Journalism, Chess, Karate, Scrapbooking, Lego League.... I'm not kidding... the list goes on and on. Bottom line: YOU MUST (at least) VISIT THIS SCHOOL. The parental and teacher involvement is stunning... and it's Castle Rock's best secret. Can't say enough wonderful things about it.


Woodlands Academy 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is succeeding - FINALLY! We love the personal touch that this school offers - with an individual to small group learning style for tailoring of curriculum, caring teachers, challenging programs, and SMALL Classes! Our daughter needs the small classes and personal attention that this school can offer. We went through two public schools (both are great schools) but the classes overwhelmed and overstimulated our daughter. We've never seen a report card with an "A" on it and she got multiple. If you need that extra help with your child's learning whether it be for kids with learning difficulties (like ours) or those that need that extra academic challenge, this is definitely the place to go. Our family couldn't be happier! Thank You!

Woodlands Academy 5

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
Through a 2 year process we tried 3 different Charter Schools within the Douglas County School District...None of them were a good fit for our son or had the education excellence that we were hoping for in a school. We found all that we could hope for and more in Woodlands Academy...Our Son is thriving and the curriculum is challenging him in ways that we had not seen at the other schools. As a family, we have decided to now send our next child to this amazing school in the fall. - Kathy K. (Parent of a 3rd grader at Woodlands Academy)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodlands Academy
1057 Park Street, Castle Rock, CO  80109
(303) 814-8582
Last modified Woodlands Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Woodlands Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top